In the Heat of the Night (1988 - 1995)

In the Heat of the Night

Not enough ratings to
calculate a score.

Avg Tomatometer

Coming Soon

Release Date: 1988

Avg Audience Score

Series Info

A white Southern police chief and a black detective put aside racial animosity to solve crimes in a Mississippi hamlet. This tense drama was inspired by the Oscar-winning 1967 film, which was based on John Ball's 1965 novel. Despite the occasional health-related absences of star Carroll O'Connor (Joe Don Baker and Carl Weathers each briefly filled the chief's chair), the series had a hearty run, premiering on NBC in 1988 before moving to CBS in 1992 for its last two seasons.

In the Heat of the Night Photos


Cast & Crew

Carroll O'Connor
William Gillespie
Anne-Marie Johnson
Althea Tibbs
Alan Autry
Bubba Skinner
Denise Nicholas
Harriet DeLong
David Hart
Parker Williams
Hugh O'Connor
Lonnie Jamison
Christian J. LeBlanc
Junior Abernathy
Lois Nettleton
Joanne St. John
Show all Cast & Crew

Series Details

TV Network: CBS
Premiere Date: Mar 15, 1988
Genre: Drama
Full Cast
Related News & Interviews