Patriot: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Patriot: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 2, 2018
Pledge allegiance to Patriot. You'll be glad you did.
December 20, 2017
Roy Price, we beg of you - more of this, please!
September 26, 2017
What could be a straight-up thriller is sabotaged on an industrial scale, threatening to collapse under layers of quirkiness, mechanical bulls and bizarre urine tests.
March 1, 2017
It's these weird but human moments that propel Patriot, ...even as it keeps the spy-thriller plot simmering.
March 1, 2017
It's a wonder that Patriot ever made it to the screen. Happily, it did.
March 1, 2017
What sets Patrio" apart - and makes it a bit easier to digest in binge-able quantities - is its peculiar sense of humor.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 1, 2017
I found myself getting more and more invested in its loopy rhythms with each passing episode.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 1, 2017
As absurd black comedy, a lot of this works very well.
February 28, 2017
Spy drama's dark humor and violence don't blend well.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 24, 2017
It's not like other television and the better for it.
February 24, 2017
It's also not completely successful at what it's trying to do, but I dig it, anyway, and if you give it some grace, I think you will, too.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 24, 2017
Like TV's Fargo, it blends odd character and near-miss tension in what quickly becomes an absorbing tale.
February 24, 2017
Each episode contains visual elements and stylistic choices worth discussion and debate.
February 24, 2017
Cleverly shot and very well-written, Patriot is both a cringe-inducing festival of gallows-humor and a genuine contemplation of a man on the brink.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.3/10
February 23, 2017
The series is wholly original in its pursuit of telling a dramatic espionage story while leavening it with inspired doses of quirk and a refreshing, even lovely look at existential crises.
February 23, 2017
Patriot is quirky dark comedy that would likely only exist on a platform willing to take risks on its programming, making it a perfect fit for Amazon as the streaming service raises its sling at the Goliath that is Netflix.
February 23, 2017
Patriot is a savvy send-up of power establishments, both the corporate mid-level and the intelligence bureaucracy. Anyway, by all means, give Patriot a chance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 23, 2017
You may not find a single line or frame of this show funny, but I smiled the whole time I wrote about it. Which of course means the audience for this is me.
February 23, 2017
Patriot is a trip-wired, surprisingly clever series. It's the perfect example of a show that should go on your list of shows to finally watch someday.
February 22, 2017
Patriot is a show for viewers who enjoy tonal risk-taking, who are prepared to accept that you can't hit a home run unless you take a swing. The plain, generic title of the series does no justice to the creativity on display.
Page 1 of 2