The Strain: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 24, 2019
It's this deft switch in tone... that inspires my confidence that interest in The Strain will spread.
January 24, 2019
Some of the most intense and disturbing scenes ever on television.
January 24, 2019
Fans of gore will love what the special effects crew has come up with. These aren't sexy, True Blood-style vampires.
February 17, 2016
The Strain is a runway model of a show: it's beautiful and sleek and seriously dumb.
August 4, 2014
It's all in keeping with what The Strain fans (and I am one) love about the show. Everything about it can be retroactively explained by a feat of exposition the writers didn't bother to include in the narrative.
July 14, 2014
Del Toro's love of special effects and genuine scares, and his delight in mixing humor and horror, run throughout The Strain.
July 14, 2014
We're in the hands of professionals who know exactly how to scare us, and make it look easy.
July 14, 2014
Look: I am going to give The Strain a chance, if only because it's refreshing to see vampires as disgusting, infected creatures instead of sparkly, pouting little bitches.
July 14, 2014
As much as I rolled my eyes at the first few hours, I never quite managed to tear them away. And by the time I got to the end of the third episode, I couldn't help but wonder if I too had been infected.
July 14, 2014
Is there something like, say, an existential undercurrent to The Strain? Uh, not really. It's a horror series that gets gooey with blood and biting and gore.
July 14, 2014
The Strain is an old-fashioned, marks-hitting horror quest in which a band of unlikely warriors attempts to defeat a thing of unspeakable evil Before It's Too Late.
July 11, 2014
Any saga about the spread of a disease necessarily involves multitudes; I've seen worse and better attempts to launch a TV series with this many people caught up in so many tangents.
July 11, 2014
The payoff is a work powered by imaginative energy, intelligence and a skilled cast, all of it adding up to smashing entertainment.
July 11, 2014
The Strain has made it from page to screen with amazing and (one hopes) crowd-pleasing success, and that's enough. Turn those TV's on, and prepare to be very happy -- and very scared.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 11, 2014
An oozy, disgusting vampire drama that is just as ridiculous as it should be.
July 11, 2014
I liked watching it on a muggy summer night with somebody who didn't take it especially seriously, but was willing to admit that at certain points it was, in fact, quite scary, so much so that you should probably not start watching an episode too late.
July 11, 2014
The scripts seem incapable of building tension, instead simply offering tense sequences at random intervals in a way that fails to generate the slow-burning suspense a series like this desperately needs to survive.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 11, 2014
If viewers fast-forward through the dull parts - and if they have strong stomachs - they'll have a good time.
July 11, 2014
This is actually the calm before a terrifying storm in The Strain, which promises to reinvent our idea of vampires and make them scary again. Scary as opposed to sexy, as in "True Blood," and chillingly gruesome.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 11, 2014
We do get "more" in one regard - more plot strings than anyone needs - but not enough precision, quality of writing and performances, and, mostly, inspired directorial vision.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 2