True Detective : Season 3 Episode 3 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

True Detective : Season 3 Episode 3 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Roxana Hadadi
Pajiba
February 12, 2019

Stephen Dorff steps up in third episode "The Big Never," demonstrating the kind of man Roland West is and filling in his edges a bit more than the preceding two episodes allowed.

Kevin Lever
Tell-Tale TV
January 22, 2019

True Detective can be a slow burn, and for the most part this episode was an example of this. But in doing so, it manages to allow rewarding characters with a deep and solid foundation for what's ahead.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Andrea Reiher
Refinery29
January 22, 2019

We've established the case and the characters, and now it's time to really dig into whatever is going on here.

Miles Surrey
The Ringer
January 22, 2019

This is Mahershala Ali's award to win every week unless someone else does something extraordinary-and while Dorff was solid, this episode really does belong to Ali.

Derek Lawrence
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

A step up in quality from the second half of last week's premiere.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Tony Sokol
Den of Geek
January 22, 2019

The first two episodes of True Detective season three felt like pincers were closing on an elusive target. The Big Never ends leaving us with the feeling like scissors are opening up for another bite.

Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

This hour is so straightforward that it's damn close to a tony network procedural.

Rick Porter
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

For now, though, the show is using its structure to build the mystery pretty effectively.

Lanre Bakare
Guardian
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

Hats off for the literary chirpsing.

Scott Tobias
New York Times
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

"True Detective" wouldn't be "True Detective" without a case ruining its hero's life, but it's fair to hope that Pizzolatto will ruin Hays's life in less expected ways.

Brian Grubb
Uproxx
January 22, 2019

We're at a fun point in the arc of the show, though. Every answer we get leads to about a dozen more questions. It's great for now because it deepens the mystery and really ramps up the intrigue.

Amy Glynn
Paste Magazine
January 22, 2019

I'd just like to note at the outset that this show is officially giving me panic attacks about aging.

Ben Travers
indieWire
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

For those just tracking the case, that may be OK. They can go study the timeline and theorize all the same. But those looking for a compelling human narrative may feel a little cheated.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Emily L. Stephens
AV Club
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

Three episodes in, True Detective's nominal mystery is dragging. The Purcell children are ciphers, not characters. Their disappearance is a prop to hold up a greater mystery, a mystery of the human heart and head.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 1