Lars and the Real Girl - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lars and the Real Girl Reviews

Page 1 of 694
½ December 8, 2016
Surprisingly sentimental. Goslin looks absolutely terrible, which makes me feel better, and delivers an good performance as Lars. The supporting cast is all completely believable. Nice change of pace.
November 25, 2016
The end result is oddly emotional.
October 22, 2016
I feel such a grand indifference to this material. While I understand that its underlying message is trying to tackle with delusional qualities of the character Lars, the material really has nothing to say, other than this little town has a big heart. Blah.
October 5, 2016
Lars and the Real girl is a well-executed flick with a unique premise, but there is something lacking in its totality, causing me to say " good but not great.
September 29, 2016
4/5

Making all the correct decisions, Lars and the Real Girl avoids turns its very strange and almost laughable subject matter into a very moving drama that manages to be very personal and heart warming even when the "real girl" represents pretty much the opossite.
½ September 10, 2016
Ryan Gosling's never looked worse, can still act though.
½ September 6, 2016
Moustache never looked bad as it did on normally lovely ryan gosling.
probably it does not go well with boyish hair or character.
he was rather boring to watch when trying to control his anger, frustrations.

the movie was stupid looking up untill when bianca appeared. but with the hospital scene it worked much better. (un)fortunately it was almost the end anyway.

not a good watch. but not a terrible movie either.

r. gosling looked horrible, but Paul Schneider was beautiful.
Emily Mortimer is always lovely too.
August 19, 2016
This was a very interesting movie. I liked the way it treats mental illness and doesn't make fun of it, but tells a good story and has its fun with the awkwardness of the situation. I would have liked to see more of what was going on in his mind when he reacted to the doll and more segments with the psychologist would have been better as well. Also the setting of a small town in winter was a perfect place to tell the story. it makes sense as to why the community would go with him having the doll because it was probably the most interesting things to happen there in sometime any way. the way he came out of his delusion happened a lil to quick but the end was done ok. chill movie altogether.... â­?â­?â­?
½ August 11, 2016
In the extra materials you see a very fine cast trying to justify this waste of time as being something "special." It's a film that telegraphed its ending in the first 15-minutes. Slow beyond tolerating & the first time to forward through a film in chapter-scene chunks. Bad & bizzaro - one of the worst of a lot of films seen. Glad it was borrowed from the public library.
July 27, 2016
Wonderful film. Great performances. Deeply moving. Don' miss it.
Super Reviewer
½ July 18, 2016
This wonderful film could have been easily made into a silly comedy but was fortunately instead made into a bittersweet drama that relies mostly on a captivating performance by the always talented Ryan Gosling, who gives shape to a sensitive character that never seems less than real.
July 15, 2016
Loved this. Charming and sweet, a quietly surprising performance by Gosling.
½ July 10, 2016
The absurd idea of the film will make you laugh, but then cry on a sex doll. Ryan Gosling gives a great performance who represents that even if you feel lonely or less caring to yourself, there are others who support and love you no matter what
May 27, 2016
Even though its indulgent atmosphere may feel too unrealistic, it has a wonderful and moving script that honors its themes and delivers yet another showcase for Ryan Gosling's talent - whose full-commitment allows the audience to undergo an intense character study.
May 27, 2016
Like the good people of Lars' town, I was at first dubious about all of this and afraid where it might lead, but once you just sort of go with it, it becomes rather touching and you find yourself surprisingly attached. This movie could easily have gone wrong, but amazingly it doesn't. It's refreshing in several ways, but particularly in how the people in it are just good people who come together to support one another.
May 14, 2016
One of the most moving films I've ever seen. It's honestly perfect, no criticisms.
½ May 4, 2016
i would recommend everyone to watch it... the story was really touchy... and as usual Gosling did a great job... and Emily Mortimer was great too... the whole cast was good...
½ May 1, 2016
Lars and the Real Girl is not for everyone, and there will always be cynical people who can't accept its outlandish premise. I found the movie incredibly engaging and moving. It is whimsical, sweet, funny, charming, and Gosling gives one of his best and most understated performances of his career. The writing is strong, Gillespie's tender direction works really well, and it just has this nice, heartwarming vibe throughout. It's terrific.
March 6, 2016
Was a beautiful movie & more driven than I would have thought.
½ March 5, 2016
Great and sweet and funny and kind
Page 1 of 694