American Splendor - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Splendor Reviews

Page 1 of 10
June 4, 2014
Like Ghost World before it, Pulcini and Berman have taken an unconventional comic and given it a cinematic make-over.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 12, 2013
I can't imagine how the filmmakers went about it, let alone pulled the whole thing off, but their film comes together in unpredictable and remarkably pleasurable ways.
May 10, 2012
Channels Pekar's vision of art and life as twinned struggles. One of cinema's great first-date sequences is here. We're splendidly shown how a lower-class nine-to-fiver has his own creative selves and richly expressive life.
December 21, 2010
Earthy, gritty and real; for older kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 25, 2010
Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini's biopic about Harvey Pekar - who injected schadenfreude into the superhero-comics world - wonderfully etches one man's exploration of using misery as a creative outlet and, eventually, a critical coping mechanism.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 14, 2010
The rare artist biopic that goes beyond the dull march of events and actually illuminates the creative process.
April 29, 2009
The film gives a charming, funny, and many times engrossing account of Pekar which will surely please fans and garner some new ones and I liked it a lot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 18, 2008
American Splendor is certainly one of the most complete, satisfying and entertaining hybrid of documentary and dramatisation, as well as of live action and 2D animation/comic stills.
August 20, 2008
Un film assez lent, mais au récit tout de même fort bien construit
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
August 18, 2008
A glorious rebuke to all this summer's recycled, effects-ridden, laboriously "fun" Hollywood disappointments piled along the wayside like so many crashed cars.
December 7, 2007
A life affirming experience, perhaps even a life changing one.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 23, 2007
The movie is as unclassifiable as the comic -- neither documentary nor biopic, or maybe both.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 14, 2007
Mr. Giamatti and Ms. Davis seem to feed off each other, bringing out the best performances we've seen from these actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 17, 2007
We're constantly kept on our toes regarding issues of representation while Pekar's sour but indefatigible working-class skepticism carries us along.
December 30, 2006
If you can get through the confusing goings-on of the first reel, then this is a satisfying experience -- funny, touching and tragic by turns. And Giamatti deserves every award going.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 9, 2006
Hugely enjoyable and very clever portrait of Harvey Pekar.
November 1, 2005
The blend of styles results in an edgy, touching, original story about a working-class man who channels his gloom, grime and longing into comic art
Read More | Original Score: A
March 9, 2005
I expected more from a movie that took home gold in Cannes and wowed 'em at Sundance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5
March 5, 2005
Giamatti is excellent as Pekar and Hope Davis delivers another wonderful performance as Pekar's third wife Joyce.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 28, 2005
American Splendor, despite being interesting and likeable, is a film that could be truly enjoyed only by the fans of Harvey Pekar's work
Full Review| Original Score: 6/10
Page 1 of 10