The Andromeda Strain - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Andromeda Strain Reviews

Page 1 of 29
September 18, 2017
A tense techno ride with some uptight scientists into a claustrophobic, stark-dead small town that is soon to be incinerated, with or without the scientists - the tension is palpable at times, and this was my favorite tv suspense movies as a kid in the 70s, and still has plenty of grit to fascinate and carry any Sci-fi nerd into geek-heaven.
Michael Crichton and a young Steven Spielberg are all over this nonsense, and it shows.
Spectacularly.
The script lets you understand the starchy experts as strong yet frail and understanding humans, and unknowingly you slowly begin to care about them and their plight. A creeping anxiety rises as you try to figure out what is going on here, right along with the scientists.
Great nuanced characters, tight intelligent script, taut direction, this one is still a winner if you are willing to hop on the rollercoaster, follow its lead to the nail-biter finale, and forgive some kitschy 70s bits.

...In comparison, I was appalled by a cheesy, tension-free, careless mess that was supposedly a 2008 update.
That one SUCKS.
Out-of-Work actors phoning it in while on vacation. It aggravate s me just thinking about how stupid it was when the original was so well done...

Back To the original -its dated, yes, but Brilliant, all the way thru. In fact, I've just talked myself into watching it again - the adult one this time...
-its not THAT adult, btw..lol
4 pairs of moon boots out of 5
September 17, 2017
cool sci fi movie about a virus or something
September 3, 2017
Even if it's immensely flawed and the script isn't always perfect, what matters here is how masterfully constructed this film is. Not one shot is wasted, not one shot should be taken out. It isn't quite a masterpiece, but certainly the piece of a master (Robert Wise), and still a great film that deserves some damn high praise.
August 17, 2017
pure scienceporn with amazing art design
August 7, 2017
This is a classic sci-fi flick -- intriguing, fun to watch, and ahead of its time. Years ago, I watched an edited version that left me scratching my head due to graphic scenes that were removed near the beginning - and unfortunately those scenes included some helpful dialog for understanding the plot. Recently I watched the full version on Apple TV, and it's a significant improvement.
August 5, 2017
Riveting sci-fi for the first two acts, with unexpectedly jolting and dramatic camera work coming from Wise; but as the mystery of the alien element comes under ever greater magnification and scrutiny, the story unravels and the thinness of the characters becomes more and more obvious.
½ March 2, 2017
The Andromeda Strain is such a shamefully underrated, terrific movie. It is the kind of hard science fiction that I love so much as it relies on strong, scientific approach with clever dialogue instead of being over-reliant on action. It is so well written with a consistently involving story, its effects are quite good and the film is very intense throughout most of its running time and propelled by superb, spooky score.
January 14, 2017
One of the best Sci-fi moves of all time.
½ January 6, 2017
Hat seine Momente, aber nicht wirklich gut!
½ November 8, 2016
Not as good as the book
August 31, 2016
I enjoyed the book so I decided to give the movie a try. It was okay, but I felt it was long and drawn out. I've watched two Robert Wise movies now (Star Trek: The Motion Picture) and they were extremely long. I'd recommend this movie to people who are into science and can handle some of the scientific jargon, otherwise most of the movie is just babble. Love all that outdated scientific equipment too.
½ August 28, 2016
I saw this as a kid probably when I was around 10 in the era before special effects, and it had a lasting impression on me. Which, of course, is one of the main criteria I use in rating a movie - it STAYS with you long after you've seen it and makes you think. Me likey.
½ July 20, 2016
I have read every single novel that Michael Crichton wrote, he definitely wrote stories in a style that I enjoy. However I have not watched every movie that was based on one of his novels, because I count a grand total of 1 that was any good. I was still intrigued to see The Andromeda Strain because I'm always anxious to see if someone else got it right. Sadly, this movie falls in the long line of failures based on Crichton's work. The story is about a town where everyone dies horribly after a satellite crash-lands nearby. Then a team of experts is called in to analyze the situation and see if there is some type of alien virus that has killed people. I love these kind of films ordinarily, because it's enjoyable for me to watch scientists piece together clues and try to solve a problem. Sadly, it seems that the filmmakers were more fascinated with the early chapters of Crichton's book where he has a lot of the theoretical technical jargon (a staple of Crichton's work.) We are forced to sit through the long, drawn out process that is used to sanitize the scientists. Then there are large chunks where we just see the scientists studying without making any progress or saying much of anything important. In fact, there is so much time wasted on the more mundane aspects that they have to rush through the climax, and this makes it kind of lame. I like some of the science geek stuff, and those exciting moments when they finally figure out an important piece of the puzzle. But, in general, the movie was kind of dull. Even the acting performances were mostly flat and uninteresting. I have a slight bias towards sci-fi movies that focus in more on the science (like this one) but because of the way they structured The Andromeda Strain it's definitely not one I can recommend.
½ June 21, 2016
89%
Wateched this on 21/6/16
One of the most overlooked sci-fi films of all time and it is such a joy and astonishment at equal parts to think that a film of such intelligence was made in the 70s. This is truly remarkable, because this big budget film is academic, genuine sci-fi that fans of the genre would so much love to watch. Moreover, the film has stood the test of time and it is frequently engaging to keep up the tension throughout.
June 3, 2016
An oscillating sci-fi set firmly in the realms of reality, The Andromeda Strain is a meandering must-see for genre aficionados.
Michael Critchon's novel is brought to the screen with an air of stifling paranoia set against colour-coordinated costumes and backgrounds. The film's set design is stunning and endlessly influential, but it's director Robert Wise's subdued storytelling and serene, slow-burning clarity which turn Critchon's chaotic mystery into a beguiling clinical fantasy.
Think old-school sci-fi paired up with a nonsense-extraction machine.
May 15, 2016
Basically, it's a two-hour long fictional scientific experiment.
½ February 26, 2016
An epic of terrible editing.
Super Reviewer
½ February 4, 2016
The first alien invasion could be of a virus. Could be. That's writer Michael Crichton's conjectural basis for this interesting foray into sci-fi. Luckily we here in the good ol' U.S. of A. probably have a super secret underground facility somewhere out in the desert ready to tackle just such a eventuality. Not only is it super secret, it's underground. And in the desert. It's probably run by a super secret computer, too. One that talks. And they can do just about anything there. Betcha. It's this kid-in-the-backyard-gee-whiz kind of wonder that starts this baby up, but too much of a good thing cuts into plot development, don't it ... maybe they can remake it.
November 22, 2015
2015-11-22 very geeky for its time
November 1, 2015
Älykäs mutta hidastempoinen kerronta.
Page 1 of 29