The Beguiled - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Beguiled Reviews

Page 1 of 11
September 10, 2016
Eastwood stars as a wounded Union soldier taken in by the mistress of a girls's school (Geraldine Page) in the South. At first she hides him just to let him recover from his injuries before turning him over to Confederate soldiers, but eventually she decides to keep hiding him due to a growing sexual attraction. The problem is that Eastwood has also been cozying up to one of the teachers and a couple of the students ... and things get seriously out of hand. Sexual tension, a creepy Southern Gothic atmosphere and unnecessary surgery all rear their ugly heads in this fantastic psycho-sexual thriller directed by Don Siegel. Out of Eastwood & Siegel's many amazing collaborations, this is the most atypical and most interesting.
July 10, 2016
Memorable, but twisted and sad. Odd that Eastwood wood be part of this one.
January 6, 2016
Pretty tepid melodrama. Typical study of what happens when you let a lone rooster loose in the henhouse and the drama that ensues. Only the dark ending and Eastwood saves it from being standard Movie-of-the-week fare.
November 17, 2015
Strange, occasionally interesting but ultimately dull, although Eastwood shines in possibly his most morally corrupt role. Far from the success in execution of the same director and lead actor collaboration in "Dirty Harry", "The Beguiled" feels like a 1970's politicisation of gender roles during the US civil war instead of a period film about desperation, sexual greed, entitlement and revenge. Not a complete failure but far from compelling.
November 1, 2015
Interesting but very dark.
October 7, 2015
Well done period suspense film. One could view it as an accurate commentary on how people treat each other. Only one question remains for me though: Who are we supposed to hate more in this story?
September 11, 2015
Unique casting of Eastwood. We know this story is on an unconventional path when he asks his young savior how old she is - 13 - and he responds with "Old enough for kissin".
September 5, 2015
Eastwood greasing it!
½ August 22, 2015
A tense, lurid, sexually charged psychological thriller unlike any film that Clint Eastwood has been in before; and all the better because of the unique opportunity it gives him.
Super Reviewer
July 26, 2015
Simply a wonderful take on the man-alone-in-a-harem theme, Clint plays a wounded Union soldier incapacitated in a Confederate seminary for young ladies. He's outstanding as the silver tongued cad who will say anything to bed a woman, woman who are desperate for the company of men in any case. Especially good is the decision to highlight the different approaches the ladies take to reach the same goal. Just a fun time at the movies.
June 10, 2015
The 1st 3 min. Clint Eastwood kisses a 12 yr old and then the only way to find out if Eastwood is a yankee is to take off his pants! Very interesting movie
½ May 19, 2015
A very unlikely Clint Eastwood vehicle is a southern gothic involving Clint as a wounded Civil War soldier finding refuge in an all girls school. The story that unfolds involves sex, jealousy, torture, incest and murder. Clint is the main character, but the story more revolves around the women and girls at the school, to which Clint serves as a catalyst for a number of issues simmering below the surface. Geraldine Page plays the headmistress, Elizabeth Hartman plays an impressionable young woman, and Jo Ann Harris plays a more advanced and seductive girl at the school. Directed by Don Siegel, the film has a dreamlike quality that I don't recall in any other Siegel film. This film actually reminded me quite a lot of Peter Weir's "Picnic at Hanging Rock," which was make four years later. There is a find score by Lalo Schifrin and nice photography by Bruce Surtees. I consider this film an Siegel and Eastwood classic that isn't properly recognized.
March 8, 2015
Eastwood as a wounded Union soldier taken in to heal in the South at a girls school. Seems like a great situation as he becomes the top choice on several of the girls' dance cards. However, his choice to make out with several of the girls leads to jealousy and indirectly results in an amputated leg and a dinner of poisonous mushrooms. A good situation gone bad. Like all Eastwood films, well made and a decent plot.
½ February 24, 2015
A very clever scenario and a movie full of a strange atmosphere...
January 5, 2015
People just do not like Eastwood the cad.Nice departure although painfully slow at times.Religion found a tad to late for Corp. McBurney was a nice touch.
½ November 19, 2014
Great movie about human temptation.
September 21, 2014
I own this on DVD and Blu-Ray
September 17, 2014
Wounded Union soldier is sheltered in girls' school during the waning days of the Civil War. Veers in a different than anticipated direction, with Eastwood emerging in a rarity as a heel. Amputation scene seemed like drastic karma.
½ September 11, 2014
In my top-five southern gothic favourites! Impressive performances from Eastwood and Page top this twisted story of rampant carnality in a young girls academy during the civil war.
July 29, 2014
I liked this film, it was weird and quirky and unique. I, as a matter of fact, just ordered a copy of it and plan on watching it when i receive it. Too bad no cable channels show these old odd movies, they are way more entertaining than the usual crap they show.
Page 1 of 11