Benny & Joon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Benny & Joon Reviews

Page 1 of 332
July 15, 2016
Johnny Depp was nominated for a Golden Globe for his astonishing performance in Benny & Joon, though the entire cast is equally impressive.
July 1, 2016
Sweet and charming romantic comedy.
May 26, 2016
A man must care for his mentally impaired sister in this lighthearted comedy.
½ May 26, 2016
Not terrible, but primarily boring.
May 13, 2016
Good acting but nothing memorable.
½ January 31, 2016
A Brilliant performance By Depp in a two-way romantic comedy that is different then most. The unfortunate thing is that I never bought Mary Stuart Masterson is her "mentally ill" performance. She was uneven and mental health should never be treated as such. Depp's performance is so powerful he takes over the screen and has you believe he's a modern day Buster Keaton.
January 31, 2016
Although a bit melodramatic and completely transparent, "Benny & Joon" is a quirky, funny, heartfelt and satisfying rom-com; and an early Johnny Depp shines as Joon's kooky and mysterious partner in crazy.
December 5, 2015
It's been a while since I've seen this. Forgotten some of the details, actually, but I remember really liking this love story.

Performances are good all around, and this is my all-time favorite Johnny Depp character. He started out slightly annoying and grew on me, until I really wanted things to work out between Sam and Joon.

The ending is not as happy as I would have liked and yet, it works and is beautiful, because Sam demonstrates a love toward Joon that is hopeful, non judgmental, and perservering, the kind of love spoken of in First Corinthians 13.
October 11, 2015
Imitation is practically what makes a performance believable. In fact, that's what acting is almost like. A good example of this are the silent comedians of the past. People like Buster Keaton and Charlie Chaplin are prime examples of how early comedy can be imitated into today's modern society. Then we have 1993's "Benny & Joon", a unique comedy that also gives way to an interesting drama. Although, that may be the film's downfall, it certainly does not mean the movie itself is bad, far from it. "Benny & Joon" offers a nice blend of both comedy and drama and honors silent comedy through the actions through one character.

The story focuses on a brother named Benny (Aidan Quinn) and a sister named Joon (Mary Stuart Masterson) living together after their parents died in a car crash. Joon is a mentally challenged individual that Benny must maintain constant control unless something terrible happens. One night, during a poker game, Joon looses and as part of a deal, she and Benny must take care of a quirky individual named Sam (Johnny Depp) Sam is an interesting person who soon takes interest in Joon, and has a passion for cinema; more specifically, silent cinema. Together, the three must face reality while also having a little laugh along the way.

"Benny & Joon" is a nice little fable to watch. The story itself is unique and original as it offers new ways that the audience For instance, the relationship between Benny and Joon creates good conflict in a way that a brother and sister would react to. The introduction of Sam gives the story an uplifting tone, and creates good humor to go along with it. Jeremiah Chechick did a great job at directing the movie as well as the motion for Depp's slapstick. Rachel Portman did the score for the film, and she made a nice balance between comedy and drama. The acting is great as every performer, including ones in supporting roles like Oliver Platt and William H. Macy, deliver fine performances with the roles they are given. Even Johnny Depp, who, at the time, was relatively unknown before becoming a huge celebrity. Here, he mimics the silent stars of the past very well, and hopes to inspire others to check out their work. This contributes to the rest of the production as the setting looks and sounds nice. In total, the film looks and sounds great.

However, there is one major problem with the movie that cannot be overlooked. And that is that the film takes itself very seriously. While it is nice to mix comedy and drama together, here, it mostly focuses on the more dramatic elements, which is okay, but it kind of drags the movie along it's hour and a half run time. If there had been a bit more comedy, then the movie would have had a nice balance between the two genre's.

In conclusion, "Benny & Joon" is definitely no masterpiece, but it is entertaining and fun enough to have one of its characters imitate comedic geniuses.
August 15, 2015
awesome movie I love it!!!
August 13, 2015
This is one of my favorite chick flicks. It is unique, peculiar but absolutely delightful! Depp has always been a step above and he really makes this movie.
August 13, 2015
An emotional little comedy with a lot of heart, charm, and charisma.
August 9, 2015
A good view that does not however reaches the depths which it aspires for.
August 7, 2015
A cute and charming film that speak volumes!! Love Johnny Deep in this film! he is so great and wonderful! great film for sure! a classic from the 90s
April 12, 2015
Johnny Depp shines in this beautifully artistic dramedy
½ April 8, 2015
Quirky romance that works because of it's leads Depp and Masterson.
½ March 1, 2015
A little unrealistic but really adorable
½ January 29, 2015
It's quirky and strange, much like its lead, but it occasionally forgets to add a story to all that strangeness. Full review later.
½ January 22, 2015
this movie was so good i cant even find the words to describe it... a must see and i cant wait to buy it.... once again a masterpiece from johnny depp
Page 1 of 332