The Black Dahlia - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Black Dahlia Reviews

Page 1 of 340
½ August 14, 2016
Got bored right from the beginning so i didn't finish it. When you don't care about the characters (and their boxing) it's pretty much over. Trying so hard to be an interesting film noir without success. Also inaccuracies about the murder case.
August 14, 2016
Poorly done, with weird line readings that are kind of compelling but don't amount to much.
Super Reviewer
½ July 30, 2016
The cinematography is undeniably beautiful, but there are about three different incoherent movies stuffed into this mess.
½ July 27, 2016
Unfocused delivery results in uncertain intentions and profound perplexities as dismembered as the film's tragic center piece.
June 29, 2016
Fictionalizing real life crimes is always fun. Especially when you do really melodramatically. And this is so overly noir it could almost be justified being called a Sin City sequel.
½ June 16, 2016
A movie entitled "The Black Dahlia" should be less of a buddy cop/love triangle Chinatown wannabe with a twist ending and more about the Black Dahlia case. The Black Dahlia murder just seems to a tacked-on background for a fictionalized investigation. There are a couple interesting scenes, which I won't spoil here, but for the most part, this is a fairly insipid noir film.
½ April 23, 2016
Wanted to see this when it first came out, but heard many bad reviews on it. Picked it up on DVD for $4 and decided to give it a viewing.
The clothing, sets, and most of the cinematography looked good. However, the screenplay, and the acting fall way short. De Plama attempts to make this into a Neo-Noir work, but just doesn't quite pull it off.
Is the movie worth a watch? Sure; but don't expect a lot from this film.
February 5, 2016
Pretty awful, but very pretty.
½ January 29, 2016
The plot had nothing to do with the story of the actual Black Dhalia. The hype around this movie was the most fraudulent I have ever seen. This movie bounced around in so many directions it was difficult to understand why a dime was spent making it and why any of the cast agreed to sign on. The close-ups of Johansson were ridiculous and distracting. What did this cast think? That they could turn this movie into a classic? Impossible. The script was complete and utter crap.
½ January 6, 2016
Trama troppo pasticciata e un film che, nonostante morti ammazzati e intrighi a non finire, vi farÓ venire un sacco di sbadigli.
½ January 2, 2016
Although highly fictionalized, this film could be seen as the modern version of The Big Sleep.
½ November 1, 2015
Moments of brilliance from the director of Scarface and The Untouchables, but this film doesn't hold it all together and outstays its welcome.
November 1, 2015
Overly complex and full of muttering dialogue that makes it a pain to follow at times. I enjoyed it, when I could tell what was going on.
½ October 31, 2015
Confusing ending, unclear corruption, and a main character whose voice overs are not very convincing, no matter how interesting the actual case is.
½ October 12, 2015
Maybe if I knew more about the true crime & suspects I would've appreciated this movie a little. It seemed stupid. Psycho mother & her Psycho husband's friend kill the Dahlia. Cop is sleeping with Psycho families' daughter who is also a Psycho. So many Psychos I almost went Psycho. Too convoluted.
½ September 17, 2015
Looks the part but subpar all around after that.
September 6, 2015
The beautiful cinematography and star cast couldn't save this dull crime drama. There's a lot to dislike about the poor script and boring elongated sequences throughout.
August 22, 2015
A could wait to see this film because i thought i was a love story -movie , so was glad it wasn't ...good performeces but the action in 1947 i don't realy like . Not much suspence ...SOMDVD
½ July 9, 2015
very disappointing adaptation
May 16, 2015
The biggest dissappointment of 2006. You would expect De Palma directing an all-star cast to be one of the greatest movies of the year right? WRONG! This movie had no real direction and barely even focused on the Black Dahlia murder. Despite good performances from Hartnett and Johannsen and a very good visual style, this movie is one of the worst films of the year. Shame on you De Palma.
Page 1 of 340