Captive State Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 19, 2019
It meets expectations with the help of a compelling cast, who elevate the material with their performances as the world falls apart around them.
August 17, 2019
Captive State offers some unique and thoughtful concepts but lacks any sense of character or story to back it all up.
July 10, 2019
I did not enjoy the process of watching this film.
June 18, 2019
Featuring a truly great alien character design and at least 45 truly quality minutes, Captive State is a modestly entertaining affair with an aftertaste so delicious, you'll be frustrated the meal you ate didn't taste as good as your belch afterwards.
May 8, 2019
There are some good ideas at the heart of Captive State and sometimes they work well. But too often, the good gets tangled and twisted up in unnecessary B-story and plotting that ruminates when it should be on the move.
April 30, 2019
A small budget movie trying to tell a large scale post-apocalyptic story that's beyond the filmmakers budget and capabilities.
April 10, 2019
While entertaining, the film suffers most from a lack of introspection.
April 8, 2019
The film finds a credible way to tell the story of a global conquest. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 4, 2019
Captive State is a frustrating movie: it could have been one of the great sci fi surprises of the year, unfortunately it didn't live up to its own ambition. [Full review in Spanish]
April 3, 2019
An original proposal among a sea of sequels, adaptations and spin-offs, however, it is lost among the ambition to achieve a sci-fi political thriller. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 3, 2019
... too much story to tell with no affordable way to tell it... what we ended up with was a low-budget Battlefield Earth.
April 2, 2019
Captive State skims the surface on the issues of resistance and systemic oppression, and due to scattered plotting, we never get to dive too deeply into any of it.
March 28, 2019
Whether our streets are under assault by alien insects or craven speculators, if a filmmaker shows the places we know and love, we will care about the story's fate, no matter how far-fetched.
March 28, 2019
A somewhat intricate, tangled plot. [Full review in Spanish]
March 28, 2019
Captive State is a high-speed rollercoaster ride that's more political thriller than science fiction fantasy and worth seeing.
March 27, 2019
I felt like I came in at the middle of the movie. The aliens had taken over and the revolution had begun. And it all went downhill from there. BUT it is always good to see John Goodman and Vera Farmiga in a film.
March 27, 2019
A complete and total misfire...
March 27, 2019
With a premise filled with potential and talent both in front of and behind the screen, Captive State is an unfortunate disappointment.
March 24, 2019
Captive State feels labored in murkiness and confusion...another derivative disaster movie basically flexing a basic bicep of puff-piece paranoia.
March 22, 2019
Squanders a concept, a setting, and a cast on some inexplicably incoherent storytelling, kissed by flagrantly ugly, illegible cinematography.
Page 1 of 4