Computer Chess - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Computer Chess Reviews

Page 1 of 6
½ October 17, 2016
Andrew Bujalski's techno-satire/period-piece has the most miniscule of budgets, yet the largest of ideas. The film examines the roots of contemporary technology through the template of chess, only mankind's oldest and most in-depth game, and uses a colorful cast of characters and sense of humor to portray this. While beginning as a quasi-mockumentary, the film becomes more surreal as it goes on, and really uses its security-camera-esque visual style to rather surprising effect. Easily the best mind teaser so far this year, and it might just be the mumble-core film that critics have been waiting for.
½ April 25, 2016
Yawn. "Computer Chess" has been praised for being delightfully retro and very intelligent, which it is, but it's also a bore to watch. Rather than pull us into this geeky, black-and-white world, Bujalski repels us with long shots and uninteresting conversations. Darren Aronofsky's "Pi" was very similar to "Computer Chess" and was far more interesting. I suggest you watch it instead.
½ March 24, 2016
I'm not really sure why the critics liked this so much - it really dragged. Linear but not quite linear. Mysterious yet boring. Maybe too niche of an interest - apparently very accurate as a period piece. I found myself wondering if any of the actors were also on the autistic spectrum Really just too meandering, I think.
February 3, 2016
Weird and brilliantly inventive. Skirts the boundaries between comedy and fantasy.
September 23, 2015
Heady, quirky, enigmatic "comedy" about the uneasiness of humanity's relationship to machines. Some moments work, some don't.
September 16, 2015
I thought that this was a documentary at first. It was interesting and funny.
½ September 10, 2015
Never found this funny at all, and without any humor that worked for me, it was a real chore to get through.
August 31, 2015
If Eraserhead was shot like a 70s porn movie...
March 15, 2015
I just watched this on dvd and i don't usually do reviews. I'm not a programmer but i am a chess master who played in tournaments in the 80s and 90's. This film to me was disappointing. I hate it when i feel i could have done better. This felt like a student film with hints of Lynch, and maybe Altman's Nashville 'cept with chess nerds. It's as polyester as it feels or computer beige. The Papageorge story line is just dropped at the end. There's a throwaway bit of freakishness with the nerd and the hooker. Just a hodgepodge, not ready for prime time. .... the game is throwing bones.... and the bones weren't here.
January 27, 2015
Slyly funny, discreetly thematic, vibrantly unique, and mostly boring in spite of itself -- a quintessential Bujalksi film.
January 24, 2015
Nice idea and making.
January 19, 2015
With nothing special to say and an underwhelming "I want to be like Lynch" approach, this film meanders until it finds and end.
December 8, 2014
I could see where the director was trying to go with this, and at times the movie is interesting. However it's so slowly paced and I found very few relatable characters. There are moments that boarder on genius but most scenes are just a slog to get through. In the end I can't really recommend it, but there are certainly worst things you could be stuck watching.
September 13, 2014
Set in an 80s tournament for chess software, several teams battle against each other to find the winning program that will attempt to beat a human grand master.
Filmed in retrograde black & white, this period black comedy is very nostalgic for a geek generation, but the comedy is rather niche, lightweight and rather dries up towards the end.
I'm sure the film has something clever to say, but it was lost on me. The Guest and Altman influences are in format alone. Swing and a miss.
September 1, 2014
A great premise wasted by affected writing. The movie should have had a more moderate aim and lighter tone.
½ August 21, 2014
Fascinating low-budget period piece - the period being the 80s - that fascinates as much as it obfuscates. Not entirely sure what to make of this genre-defying oddball. Highly original to say the least.
½ August 5, 2014
really weird and interesting.
½ July 16, 2014
Not nearly as funny as it thinks it is. In fact not funny at all. 20 mins binned
May 29, 2014
What starts out looking like one of the dullest films you will ever see soon gets your head spinning as it turns out to be one of the most original and weirdest. The characters could have been dreamt up by Vic Reeves himself, and may well have been as one is surely a young "Kinky John". Imagine attending an early 80's chess tournament, or any other geeky convention, on acid.
May 27, 2014
Admirably idiosyncratic in a way so few indie movies are. I like the performances and the sorta mockumentary feel. But the movie is just lost up its own ass philosophically, and imo not really worth the contemplation it expects out of you.
Page 1 of 6