Gia - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gia Reviews

Page 16 of 127
August 16, 2009
A truly sad story that was remarkably acted by Angelina Jolie. By far my favorite movie of hers and possibly the best.
August 16, 2009
mildly interesting and grossly overrated. angelina jolie does crazy really well.
August 14, 2009
Favorite scene is when at one point she's speeding recklessly in her car and a cop begins to follow. She finally pulls over but once he approaches her she just yells at him to leave her alone and that she has to go and then proceeds to speed off. So absurd but have to admire her determined vigor
August 13, 2009
jolie tore my heart out with this performance, striking...left me heart broken.
August 11, 2009
must see this guys.. a very go0d movie, nkakaiyak..
A.jolie is perfect for the charater of carangi..

'loving gia marie carangi - so awesome!!
August 9, 2009
Great biopic of a great model.
August 6, 2009
Very sad film, could almost believe Angelina was Gia! Not so fond of the scenes with the mum.
August 5, 2009
totally love it!!! great movie...good actors and a great story
½ August 5, 2009
Not bad, but not super either.
August 4, 2009
This film verges on soft core porn. Angelina Jolie is near enough in the nip in every scene. But it is still a good movie. Some good dramatic scenes. Which makes the cheesy sex scenes really out of place. I think Jolie is great when she plays these of their heid characters.
August 4, 2009
One star for each of Angelina's tits.
July 31, 2009
Jus Loed Angelina jolie... the story was great
July 30, 2009
This movie is what convinced me that Angelina was one of the best, if not the best actress today.
July 30, 2009
Beautiful movie but quite depressing
½ July 29, 2009
Essentially the plot is strung together with cliched materials but the actresses put on the most raw, mesmerising, unforgettable performances.
July 28, 2009
very sad, very good, very well made and very 'yes, i can act' angelina. loved it. but it is yet another tragic tv drama with all the possible stereotypes... joy!
July 26, 2009
'This is life... not heaven... you don't have to be perfect.'

and this telemovie is not. (perfect, that is.) in fact, as a movie, it was kinda 'choppy'.
but the performance from Angelina Jolie, the great chemistry she shared with the very charismatic Elizabeth Mitchell.. it was nothing short of riveting.
sweet, heartbreakingly tragic... that was Gia and Linda. (makes one wonder, if a love so true and beautiful like theirs couldn't overcome the odds, then, what chance do the rest of us mortals stand? but i digress. )
sadly, the character of Linda is fictitious. 'Linda' was based on two women that Gia wooed and dated, Sandy (who was a makeup artist), and Alyssa.
Super Reviewer
July 25, 2009
this sounds mildly interesting... but theres some... unseen power... keeping me from.... seeing it... ANNNNGGELIINNAA!!!!
July 25, 2009
liFe n' deAth......eNrgY aNd peAcE
iF I stOp todaY
It waZ stiLL wRoTh iT.....
eVen d teRRiblE miStaKezz thAt i HavE maDe aNd woULd haVE UNmaDe iF I cOulD...
d paInzz thaT burNed mE N' sCarEd mE sOUl.....
iT waZ woRtH iT
foR haViN' bEEn AllOweD to WalK wHeRe i wAlKeD....
whIcH waZ tO hEll oN EaRth....hEVeN on eArth bACk aGaIn iNto, UndEr....
fAr In bEtwEEn tHrOuGh iT, iN It & aBoVe.......
................[ :| ]....
Super Reviewer
½ July 24, 2009
Quite simply put, it's one of the best films I have ever seen. Putting aside the facts that some of it is not quite accurate, it is still brilliant.

I'd heard of this film some years ago but never had the opportunity to see it. But recently, I decided to give it a shot, not knowing I was about to be put through one hell of a ride.

It's probably Angelina Jolie's best acting to date - I've always liked her anyway, but in this she really shines, vividly showing us the wild and tragic life of Gia in a way that I doubt very, very few actresses of today could carry out. She flies from mood to mood with an honesty so passionate that it is hard to believe Jolie herself isn't truly Gia.

Elizabeth Mitchell plays her off-and-on lover, Linda with such care and understanding that you want to fall in love with Linda as well as Gia. The chemistry between the two of them is incredible. Mitchell is, very unfortunately, one of the most underrated actresses around. Critics and fans alike are right to wonder why on earth this woman hasn't won some kind of award for her pure talent.

Put these two together and you get a recipe for one of the most well-acted films of the last fifteen years. And adding Faye Dunaway to the mix... well, what can I say.

The film follows the tragic life of Gia Carangi, America's first supermodel. From beginning to end you are assaulted with anger, sadness, happiness, and a growing sense of falling and dread so intense that after it finished I let out a breath as if I had been holding it the entire way through the film. For days afterwards the film kept itself firmly in my mind until I just had to watch it again and put myself through the almost harrowing experience that it is.

Harrowing, yes. It is a film that can be hard to watch. But it is worth it.
Page 16 of 127