Heavy Traffic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Heavy Traffic Reviews

Page 1 of 6
August 13, 2016
I Only Watch Movies That Are Unrated, Not Rated, G, PG, PG-13 And R, Not NC-17 Or X, I Watch TV Shows That Are TV-G, TV-PG, TV-14 And TV-MA, Not TV-Y Or TV-Y7.
March 25, 2016
The commercial and critical peak of Bakshi's career, and while I don't personally think it's his best film, it's a strong indicator of the kinds of films he would have made if the furor over "Coonskin" hadn't derailed his career. This is a ferociously adult film. Bakshi takes advantage of the credit he earned from the commercial success of "Fritz the Cat" to make a far more personal film. It's really the animated equivalent of the street realism on display in many films coming out of New York in the early 70's. I consider it a minor masterpiece.
March 19, 2016
Heavy Traffic has a sense of confidence you don't see often. Wacky characters, surreal environments, and a unique blend of animation and live action shots. This movie almost feels real in just how exaggerated it is.
October 17, 2015
This movie might be the best of Ralph Bakshi's films, not my personal favorite, but it's probably his best.
January 20, 2015
I own this movie for blu ray I just love this film like his two best films are fritz the cat and heavy traffic I love the background I love this film ralph bakshi is like walt Disney for adult cartoons
½ July 9, 2014
Heavy Traffic broke the rules of conventional cinema, standing out as an artistic masterpiece of the 70's. The characters were brilliantly drawn-out, and the animation style really helps in creating a world of shady characters and surreal pictures. The story paints an amazing picture, with moments that serve as genuine twists, as opposed to the kind of plot twists you might expect. This is not the kind of film you could easily predict, and it's certainly not for the closed-minded. For me, this film is a real work of art, playing with all sorts of images to create some kind of collage representing inner-city life. I highly doubt that we'll ever see this kind of film ever again, simply because it's too original for today's producers to take a chance on. If you want a film that thinks outside the box, you need to see this movie.
½ June 30, 2014
This film, much like Bashki's other work, is a feast for the eyes. I love the irreverence, the grit and the utter strangeness of this movie. The Maybellene scene is brilliant.
June 25, 2014
Heavy Traffic is another one of those nasty 1970s films - it a pointless and stupid look at absolutely nothing with awful characters, vulgar to the point of pornographic approach, pointless live-action sequences and lack of any characterization, substance or purpose whatsoever making Bakshi probably the most overrated animation director of all time.
½ May 12, 2014
Riveting in its attempts to make audiences completely uncomfortable. Heavy Traffic is brutally, unapologetically gritty. But beside all of that, you have a deep, emotional personal project by Ralph Bakshi. It's animation in its most socially poignant form. It's a work of art.
May 8, 2014
It's chaotic, it's loud, and it's absolutely over-indulgent, but damn does Bakshi have an impressive sense of style and an even stronger sense of place.
½ March 22, 2014
Ralph Bakshi, you are legend!
½ December 27, 2013
...just why....OH YEAH because its adult animation it doesn't need to have a story instead do things just for the sake to be fully adult as possible and all of it seems unnecessary *aside for making completely sure they got that NC-17 or X rating
August 14, 2013
i didn't really like it that much, watch fire and ice
August 13, 2013
Heh, heh, heh.... Nice movie for a rainy day....
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
August 11, 2013
The life of an unemployed underground cartoonist who lives with his shrewish mother and mobbed-up dad and lusts after a saucy Nubian bartender, told in a mixture of animation and live action (sometimes in the same frame). It's successful as a series of visual experiments, but there's not much of a story and what there is gets needlessly nasty (the only likable character turns into a pimp who pulverizes johns with a steel pipe).
August 6, 2013
Legitimate proof that animation should never be referred to as "kid-safe", "inoffensive", or "something-that-pleases-children-but-bores-adults", because this is unashamedly violent, profane, crass, and perverted, coupled with the fact that it's brilliantly animated and well-crafted by Ralph Bakshi.
June 10, 2013
Proof that you can trick people into an artsy film by filling it with bare breasts and crude humor.
June 5, 2013
Bakshi's most personal work is a completely outlandish, crude, overtly abstract New York satire--A creative animated masterpiece with human drama!!
½ April 29, 2013
A fascinating look at the counterculture of the early 70's, a social commentary of issues many would prefer to sweep under the carpet. The slapdash style of the animation will put many off, but it actually adds to the sleaze and seediness of the urban environment it portrays, one brimming with rot and moral corruption. The real life backgrounds add a gritty degree of realism to the film.
The pinball machine represents life as a game every phase of it using a new credit.
The violence in the film takes on a comical quality through the loose lunacy of the animated motion. Not a film for all tastes, sure, but looked upon in the timeframe of the society it's depicting makes for fascinating viewing.
October 13, 2012
This is my favorite of Ralph Bakshi's films and I also think it is his most insane creation since this film goes off on such a wild tangent dealing with a wide variety of issues like racism, crime, stereotypes, and more. This is definitely a very expressive and strange film unlike anything I've ever seen, and will be offensive to many people, but that's what I love about it. I love it in all of its insane glory.
Page 1 of 6