High School Musical - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

High School Musical Reviews

Page 1 of 2184
October 21, 2016
If you are a die hard fan of Disney Channel movies, this movie is for you! Otherwise, steer clear! D+
September 13, 2016
Best thing I have ever seen in my entire life
September 8, 2016
I saw this and I just couldn't watch any more of this I found it boring
½ September 8, 2016
this movie was made well for it's audience the characters are exaggerated but not completely fake, and the story line works well for a disney movie.
½ August 29, 2016
I didn't really like it at all. I was surprised to see such high ratings from the critics...it has an elementary vocabulary, the stars don't even lip sync their songs correctly, and the evil Sharpay doesn't even learn her lesson.
August 11, 2016
High School Musical is fun and full of charisma, it may be just my nostalgia talking, but from its solid fanbase and popularity, I'm not alone when it comes to singing its catchy songs.
June 13, 2016
I wish it was more of high school musical
June 12, 2016
It would have been better if it had gone for a more classic feel. The pop music and dancing is mediocre at best, and occasionally annoying. None of the songs have stuck with me. The story was simple and recycled, but I liked it. It is a sweet and watchable television movie, but not much of a musical. (First and only full viewing - 9/27/2010)
March 27, 2016
I what to see free movies
March 23, 2016
Enjoyed watching this with the kids. It's like 'Grease' all over again however cleaned with a Disney brush. Songs are catchy and characters over the top like all good musicals. I Love High School Musical. I can't wait for the second
March 5, 2016
This was my first time seeing HSM. It was entertaining, but the characters were such caricatures. Some of the songs were good. I liked the one where people couldn't deal with other people having interests outside of what they were known for. It was also interesting to see how old Alyson Reed has gotten since she played Cassie in A Chorus Line 21 years prior to this movie coming out. (She was the drama teacher.) And yes, Gabriella, I would also read at a NYE party. :)
January 21, 2016
It may be truly painful at the beginning, and follows all the cliches , in all honesty its entertaining. for the laughably bad 1st half and the decent 2nd half
January 20, 2016
for 2006:

this review is coming up a decade after the pop cultural musical phenomenon hit with audiences;
for a long while musicals went out of style and everyone had to get with the times, that is until director Kenny Ortega brought the excitement back with a Disney Channel Original Movie about standing out, not sticking to the status quo, and reminding everyone that we are all in this together
sure it's corny and unrealistic, not to mention that the plot has been done before but the movie does its job well of speaking to younger generation that breaking free from your social constraints isn't a bad thing
trying something new and being two things at the same time against the judgment of others is a big risk even when you're a teenager
a collection of yet-to-be-known actors came into the mix as well from Zac Efron to Vanessa Hudgens to Ashley Tisdale
yes they are stereotypes from the star athlete to the nerdy, shy girl to the queen bee of the student body and maybe they are playing one-dimensional parts but that doesn't mean that they are bad actors
it's still a big rainbow of people that belong to their own cliques yet learn to merge together
the songs are very memorable and you'll be humming and tapping your toes to several of them
it's a squeaky-clean representation of the high school experience without the bad stuff involved
like the filmmakers and the actors involved we didn't know it would be a surprise-hit but it definitely struck a chord with tweens as well as musical-fans
HSM would later re-define the musical genre inspiring theater productions, concerts, sequels, and other film incarnations
I'll admit I am still a devoted fan and at first I was reluctant to give it a try but after checking it out back in May 2006 I saw what the excitement was about
it's just a fuzzy, positive, feel-good natured movie that makes you want to break out in song
if only all of our high schools were this enthusiastic about music
January 14, 2016
This movie was a large part of my childhood. It isn't intended for adults obviously. It is intended for pre-teens and people who are fans of Zac Efron's abs. So get over yourselves about the movie.
½ November 1, 2015
It's not actively bad, but aside from characters that are only notable for how bland they are, it really just has nothing to offer. The music is mediocre, the staging of the musical numbers is merely passable, and it seems to think it's telling a story that hasn't been told thousands of times before, or at least putting a fresh spin on it.
October 22, 2015
I love this movie. There are some great songs in this movie.
½ October 16, 2015
Good Musical Nothing Like Grease Though
½ October 4, 2015
A cute musical movie that is sometimes corny but all around fun. Kids will love and some of the songs are honestly pretty catchy. There are definitely elements that could be improved but it is an enjoyable movie through and through. Musical fans and kids will love it this movie.
½ September 25, 2015
I actually puked after the movie.
September 19, 2015
Heard a lot about this, but never seen it.
Page 1 of 2184