How I Live Now - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

How I Live Now Reviews

Page 1 of 18
October 1, 2016
A really unnerving and tender film. I think it's wrongly described as merely a story of young love, it is sincerely jarring considering the current state of the world. There is a sensitivity to this film, it's beautifully directed, hats of to the DOP.
October 1, 2016
More hard hitting and intense than I thought it would be. Some moments were cliché and some questions were left unanswered. In the end it's a romance, but one that is deeply felt.
September 25, 2016
Next Level YA. Seriously, a decent film.
½ September 11, 2016
Saoirse Ronan no decepciona
½ August 17, 2016
How I Live Now is unsettling and gritty, and manages to be original by allowing the romance to take a backseat to the rest of the story for long stretches. Well acted yet a little limp in a number of scenes, HILN is unique.
August 5, 2016
It's certainly not without its flaws but mature direction coupled with Saiorse Ronan's strong performance help elevate what could have been a much sappier YA romance.
August 1, 2016
Beautiful cinematography and direction. One of the best book to film adaptations I've ever seen, as well as an exquisitely unique coming of age story. The acting is surprising genuine and heart-wrenching for such young actresses and actors.
July 31, 2016
Great acting, but the story is lacking. It's easy to fall asleep on this one.
½ May 3, 2016
An interesting, yet boring movie at the same time. An end of the world film that turns into a love story, so there were plenty of yawns during the slow parts. I'm just curious as to what started this 'World War 3' and why it ended so quickly. They just mention 'terrorists' but they're never really shown except for a small scene. Maybe it's what happens if Drumpf becomes President and starts wars on countries that insult him or don't agree with him, that's my guess anyways.
½ April 24, 2016
This is without a doubt the worst movie I have ever seen.
People often say that as a hyperbole.
But I honestly mean it, no other movie has made me so angry.
Simply put: it is a movie about an awful human being avoiding all chances to be a good person so she can have sex with her cousin (who she has no reason to be attracted to for any reason)
The movie is well shot, well acted and well made, which makes it a shame that the plot is so horrendous that I still get sick to my stomach thinking about to this day.
F**k this movie and it's creepy wish fulfillment plot and total waste of an interesting setting.
I have personally never seen a more irritating movie.
March 25, 2016
Great performances all around. Compelling story. Much grittier than expected
Super Reviewer
March 19, 2016
Limp young romance in the English countryside as some international tensions develop into actual firefights on the homefront. I spent the whole film waiting for something to happen, anything. I should better have made popcorn.
½ February 8, 2016
At moments, it feels like the director wishes he was shooting an experimental film, instead of a drama...I guess that's why this film is considered "arthouse". Overall, for something that takes itself so seriously, it's SO hard to believe and INCREDIBLY unrealistic...and not in a "fantasy" sort of way. And the ending? You have to be kidding me.
½ January 25, 2016
This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I don't see any merit in it. It's the post apocalyptic incestuous love story of two cousins, who have sex within the first quarter of the film. The protagonist is hard to stand and she's surrounded by characters that she's meant to be influencing positively but either abuses, is apathetic toward, or falls in melodramatic love with. I just don't see how anyone can rally around the story of two cousins depthlessly falling in love surrounded by nuclear murder porn.
January 23, 2016
Teen love set against a relentlessly bleak backdrop is a bit like looking for comedy in "threads".
January 13, 2016
Good, but not great. I felt like they could have fleshed it out more, there wasn't much of a story being told.
½ December 15, 2015
Apocalyptic survival balanced with a love interest story. It by no means a bad movie, but does get stuck betwixt and between both genres in places.
December 10, 2015
not a film I would ever choose to watch as i'm not in to the romantic genre of film but I have to admit this is one of the best films I have seen this year. I think that the characters blend very well together and each have their own role in the story without it all necessary being shown to us. I feel that this is done on purpose and leaves us to decide what's going on in the war.
best actor: Tom Holland
October 16, 2015
Very well directed and acted. Had me hooked from start to finish.
½ October 16, 2015
How I Live Now sticks with you whether you like it or not. I thought it was bloody brilliant.
Page 1 of 18