Once Upon a Deadpool - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Once Upon a Deadpool Reviews

Page 1 of 8
March 30, 2019
Hilarious! Watched it with my 11 yr old who has been dying to see Deadpool. This was perfect. Now he can't wait to see the real thing. And we loved the Dan Savage cameo.
Malan
Super Reviewer
½ March 28, 2019
It's still Deadpool, it's still funny, it's still good enough, but it's not different enough to be worth it. As a novelty, it's notable enough, and the additional footage with Fred Savage is funny. I do like how Savage even comments on some of the criticisms of the movie, like the fridging of Vanessa or Cable's lack of complexity compared to the comics. However I'm not really sure who this movie's supposed to be for. It comments on the original take on Deadpool 2 in some funny ways, but it doesn't have the bite of Deadpool 2 which makes it a charming novelty but ultimately pointless. It could be for families I guess, but then they're going to miss the references to the original version, and then it takes away some of the elements of the original that it doesn't need to. There are some great scenes that get shortened or cut out entirely that didn't need to. Sometimes there's a dramatic moment that's undercut by an insert from Fred Savage, which is funny if you've seen the original, but kind of ruins the moment. This is really a weird idea overall. I mean, it's still Deadpool, there's stuff in it that still works because the original worked, but ultimately this take on it is kind of a failed experiment.
½ March 28, 2019
It's still Deadpool, it's still funny, it's still good enough, but it's not different enough to be worth it. As a novelty, it's notable enough, and the additional footage with Fred Savage is funny. I do like how Savage even comments on some of the criticisms of the movie, like the fridging of Vanessa or Cable's lack of complexity compared to the comics. However I'm not really sure who this movie's supposed to be for. It comments on the original take on Deadpool 2 in some funny ways, but it doesn't have the bite of Deadpool 2 which makes it a charming novelty but ultimately pointless. It could be for families I guess, but then they're going to miss the references to the original version, and then it takes away some of the elements of the original that it doesn't need to. There are some great scenes that get shortened or cut out entirely that didn't need to. Sometimes there's a dramatic moment that's undercut by an insert from Fred Savage, which is funny if you've seen the original, but kind of ruins the moment. This is really a weird idea overall. I mean, it's still Deadpool, there's stuff in it that still works because the original worked, but ultimately this take on it is kind of a failed experiment.
½ March 28, 2019
jumped the shark....
½ March 20, 2019
Shitty editing cant have deadpool without violence
½ March 20, 2019
Not sure why they released this. It's a bit limp. Waiting for a proper Deadpool with more effort
March 9, 2019
This was a neat little re-release of Deadpool 2 that's ultimately unnecessary. The scenes with Fred Savage are funny but don't really add to the story much. I also don't see how it's PG-13... in any case it's not worth seeing if you haven't already seen Deadpool 2.
½ March 9, 2019
Deadpool just did not do it for me.
March 9, 2019
Nice








































THANOS........
March 8, 2019
d watching them try to fir DP into a PG-13 rating. I viewed this movie as extra content and loved it.
March 8, 2019
I found it amusing. I'm not into the blood and guts gun porn, so I liked this version.
February 28, 2019
few funny bits but ultimately crap
February 20, 2019
just a cash grab, i liked it rated R
½ February 12, 2019
Vaya, admito que me gusto, aunque no es igual que Deadpool 2 con su toque de groserias y sangriento, cumple sus expectativas y me parecio entretenida, y cuenta la historia poco a poco y entendible y bien desarrollada, y te la pasaras riendo cada rato...
February 6, 2019
Waste of film and time.
February 3, 2019
It's a PG-13 version"Deadpool 2"and it's good.Through it's only 53 scores but children must see!
February 2, 2019
To those who have already seen Deadpool 2, this is a waste of time. Nothing of any importance is added, just filler to extend the runtime with the same repetitive joke over and over. However, Once Upon a Deadpool achieves everything it attempts to do; and for that reason, it will be a success. The one big thing that changed was the rating. It is PG-13 instead of R. The whole movie was just an attempt to get kids with over-controlling parents to see the movie. This is how it will make money. By appealing to a completely new audience. Yes, a much smaller audience, but a new audience nonetheless. Deadpool 2 was a great movie - people who weren't allowed to see it heard this. Once Upon a Deadpool gives those people a chance to experience the movie. Overall, it's still a good movie, but not as good as Deadpool 2, it was just a quick and cheap cash grab at a new audience.
½ January 28, 2019
The princess bride jokes were funny. Overall though the editing of the movie to make it pg-13 just does not flow well. It is just a movie that should have been straight to digital not cinemas. Still enjoyed myself with it and laughed. Just a worst version of the original.
January 27, 2019
Enjoyed the PG-13 rating version with the pre-teens.
Page 1 of 8