Pet Sematary - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pet Sematary Reviews

Page 1 of 179
½ July 20, 2017
Terrific re-telling of the book.
July 7, 2017
Pretty preposterous, at times dull but overall effectively chilling Stephen King adapted horror flick with decent acting, especially from the veteran Fred Gwynn of The Munsters as brooding neighbor Jud who may have one or two skeletons in the closet.. he serves as the story's real emotional core. His backstory I felt while necessary was a little overinclusive and when it started to drag for me and the stuff with Paqscow seemed as if it was tacked on by King for comedic effect and just to stretch the story out for a novel/feature length movie (I always thought it could've made for a great short story, or even better Tales From The Crypt episode!) However, it all works out in the end because the eerily intense, foreboding atmosphere is what pulls you through for the most part and there are indeed some truly frightening, deeply disturbing moments that will stay with you such as the (SPOILER ALERT!).........death of poor little Gage played wonderfully by Miko Hughes, and the flashback/hallucination scenes of mother Rachel's very, VERY sick sister Zelda who scared immensely this 10 year old boy..and still haunts me to this day. As far as pure horror goes, that has to be worth something! 3 stars
½ July 5, 2017
Maybe i just like this movie because i remember being 6 or 7 and watching it with my dad but this is one of my favorite horror movies and deff the best king movie, for all the people who say how its a silly idea or nothing new, how many horror movies arnt rediculious in one way or another and i buy this "zombie premis" over any bs outbreak of so and so virus that turns people into the walking brain dead who just stumble around with no other purpose then trying to bite or eat the brains of the living. I hate zombie movies with a passion and will not watch any of them period. this is not that at least pet semetary hax a back story as to why things happen and you cant tell me the sister in this movie didnt freak you out a bit or at least give you a sence of dread because you cant be sure there arnt people who look like that from some disease hidden away somewhere in a back room just waiting to die, when i saw this as a kid i had nightmares of her for a week and still get a chill to this day when i think of her. Great movie, great atmosphere, ok acting, 80s effects but all in all a classically creepy stephen king flick
March 13, 2017
One of the worst lead performances I have ever seen. Sister sequence was actually unsettling.
½ February 10, 2017
Turns a terrific book into a hokey comedy.
½ February 5, 2017
Entertaining Steven king movie with the dad from the Munsters
½ January 21, 2017
Good 80s horror vibe, had its tense moments, some scary parts with kid, watched over multiple settings. Ends with him resurrection of wife and she kills him, great ending song by Ramones
½ October 29, 2016
Very disturbing horror movie, with unsettling themes and atmosphere. Acting is pretty low level, but is forgivable since the main advantage of the movie is its horrific ambience.
½ October 24, 2016
Solid King flick, bits of creepy wrapped in a tragic story. Church and Jud lead the way in this one.
½ October 21, 2016
A tedious film with a phenomenal climax
October 18, 2016
A very scary horror film, justifiably ranked with the best Stephen King film adaptations. One of the few commercially successful horror films directed by a woman (Mary Lambert, who previously served as the helmer of Madonna's earliest music videos) and a wonderful late-career performance by Fred Gwynne (TV's Herman Munster!)
October 17, 2016
A decent Stephen King flick and a good addition to any Stephen King film marathon!
September 2, 2016
Although it does have a somewhat unsettling atmosphere, Pet Sematary is ultimately a boring, tedious film without any real scares.
August 30, 2016
The late 80's and early 90's saw many adaptations of Stephen King novels. Since then, King has publicly denounced all but a few. I've seen many of these movies and agree with King on his dislike. While most of them employ characters and plot that resemble the story they are based upon, few are able to capture the true horror of the novel. When I stumbled upon the 1989 adaptation of King's Pet Sematary on Netflix, I was ready to write it off as another cheesy King movie. A quick glance at the credits revealed King as the screenwriter, so I decided to give the movie a shot. Surely the master of horror Stephen King would do justice to a film adaptation of his own novel.

Unlike many of the truly awful adaptations that I've already mentioned, Pet Sematary, does not solely rely on King's story to scare the audience. As an author, King creates an atmosphere that allows for the horrors of his novels to occur. Thankfully, all of the filmmakers involved in this production bring that same spooky atmosphere to the screen. Accompanied by the hauntingly beautiful score by Elliot Goldenthal, director Mary Lambert opens the film with sweeping shots of the creepy Pet Sematary. As images of the graveyard flash across the screen the audience is immediately filled with dread. There's nothing inherently terrifying about what we see. The sun is shining. Birds are chirping. Still, for some reason, the audience immediately knows that something about this place is not right. It is this opening credit sequence that creates the atmosphere and sets the stage for the horrors to come.

The Creed family, mom, dad, daughter and baby boy, have relocated from the city to a rural home in Maine. A busy and dangerous road separates the Creed's home from their neighbor Jud's property. A path on their property leads to a cemetery that is labeled "Pet Sematary". Jud explains that this is where the local children have buried their deceased pets, most of which died on the busy road. When the Creed's family's cat is inevitably killed on the road, Jud takes the dad, Louis, to a secret location beyond the confines of the Pet Sematary. They arrive to an old Indian burial ground where they bury the deceased cat. The burial ground has the power to bring the dead animal back to life, but it does not return as its original self. Rather, the cat stinks of death and has lost its sweet demeanor.

Louis works as a doctor where he encounters a man who was involved in a severe car accident. Despite his best efforts, Louis is unable to revive the crash victim. But before the man dies, he warns Louis to stay away from the Pet Sematary. Later, Louis sees the victim in a dream where he is again warned of the dangers of the Sematary. When tragedy strikes the Creed family, Louis is willing to do anything to get his old life that, even if it means ignoring the warnings of the crash victim. Desperate to recover a lost life, Louis returns to the burial grounds and unleashes a horror that threatens to destroy his family and all those who come in contact with them.

Atmosphere aside, Pet Semetary offers many terrifying twists and turns that excite and thrill. It is a movie clearly created in the tradition of 1980's horror films. As such, the film contains special effects and overacting by the cast that come off as relics of that era. There is a side plot about the mother's sister that is particularly cheesy in its execution. Still, King's story is unique and imaginative, allowing the film to overcome most of the genre cliches that are present. I found myself terrified in some moments and laughing in others. In the end, Pet Semetary is far from perfect, but is one of the best Stephen King adaptations to come from that time period.
August 20, 2016
Lame. Just super incredibly amazingly lame. A burial ground that brings people back from the dead is a pretty silly idea, but nobody's better than Stephen King at showing how close silliness is to horror. And yet at every step the film spectacularly fails to even try and hide the stupid. The entire dead coming back to life plot point is revealed by their next door neighbor who insists on burying their dead cat there so vehemently and with such absence of motivation that I was 100% certain he had an ulterior motive. But apparently he was genuinely trying to help despite the fact that he knew the dead came back evil. Jeez. What follows from there is a series of spectacularly bad decisions where the lead guy decides to resurrect his dead son despite having seen and heard what a bad idea that is. And then when that leads to his wife's death he does the same for her. It's dark and stupid, a bad combination. And the payoff from all this are the worst monsters of all time: a cat and a baby. Hardly believable threats. It doesn't help that the lead guy is the worst actor I've ever seen. Or that Tasha Yar herself is just playing a grouchy shrew. A film as bleak as this with no real hope needs something at its core to lift it out of the muck. This one has nothing.
August 5, 2016
This was the one book Stephen King has repeatedly said he believed was too scary to be published. In my opinion, this is perhaps the darkest of all the immensely expansive library King has to offer his avid (and rabid) readers. So it's really no surprise that it translates into one of the most simply terrifying movies ever made.
There really aren't any particular things that could be pointed out as to why this movie is scary, because that's exactly why it is scary: you don't know what's going on or what's going to happen and a deliciously eerie environment is set up right from the get-go. The frights may take a little while to come but once they get to you, they are relentless.
½ July 13, 2016
One of the better adaptions from a Stephen King novel.
July 2, 2016
If this dull little creeper is good for anything, it's to reinforce the horror movie trope that you should not bring dead things back to life, feline or otherwise.
June 22, 2016
Stephen King at his best!
June 7, 2016
Horrible. Turned it off.
Page 1 of 179