Split Reviews

Page 1 of 16
April 28, 2021
I do think the tension really builds in a very horrific way where it feels very conversational and then, yeah, the horror creeps.
February 28, 2021
Wild and wooly, uniting, for the first time in a long time, Shyamalan's talent for keeping the audience on the edge of their seats and his ability to change the game in the final act.
January 2, 2021
Split departs from anything writer/director M. Night Shyamalan has done before, bringing an honestly thrilling story to life, with one of his best twists since The Sixth Sense.
December 5, 2020
There's a slowness to the story, coupled with aggravating mistakes by supporting roles, which inspire the opposite of chills: exasperation.
September 24, 2020
A B-movie masquerading as a Hollywood production.
July 17, 2020
McAvoy is deliberately unnerving for such a challenging and difficult role. He sends your emotions into a chaotic disarray...There are no boundaries and that's terrifying to even contemplate.
July 14, 2020
It's a slow burn, intelligent thriller that properly amps up its tension in the final act, and contains a standout performance from McAvoy.
July 2, 2020
This is old-school Shyamalan: great suspense, disturbing plot and fabulous protagonists. [Full review in Spanish]
July 2, 2020
James McAvoy's phenomenal performance almost saves "Split."
May 8, 2020
I had mixed feelings about this movie. I actually kind of really liked this movie for the first 80 percent of it and then the ending just really ruined it for me.
May 8, 2020
It was like a really cool, interesting study about psychology and then it became a Grimm's fairytale.
May 1, 2020
Split has a lot of issues, but they are manageable and are easily outweighed by a pair of sublime performances. I have mixed feelings about the work, but I'm leaning toward recommending it.
February 19, 2020
While Split isn't exactly a thoughtful look at the struggle of a man plagued by mental illness, it's not really trying to be that. It sets out to be an entertaining genre exercise and a fun time at the movies, and it succeeds.
January 24, 2020
James McAvoy helps save M. Night Shyamalan from himself in Split...I'm disappointed by some of Shyamalan's choices in this film, but Split is still worth seeing in the theater for McAvoy's brilliance.
January 15, 2020
Shyamalan's greatest strength has always been building individual scenes; sprung from the puzzle movie trap, he is free to riff away.
October 9, 2019
In trying to make an intelligent and unique thriller, M. Night Shyamalan has instead created a film which is worth your time, but one which feels like it squanders an infinitely interesting premise.
September 18, 2019
M. Night Shyamalan's 2016 film Split takes abuse-as-character to a logical and absurd extreme.
August 16, 2019
One of the highlights in the promotion of the movie was the promise to see James McAvoy playing some of Kevin's 23 personalities, which never happens. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 14, 2019
McAvoy is masterful in his role as he takes on nine different characters all rolled into one heaping mess of a human being.
August 7, 2019
Up until the last 20 or so minutes, Split is a tense, tightly directed thriller that would probably have ended up among my favorite movies at the end of the year.
Page 1 of 16