The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It Reviews

Jan 21, 2023
The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It offers a deeper look at the relationship between the Warrens but falls short due to overusing jump scares, diverging into multiple stories rather than its main plot, and some questionable effects.
Nov 17, 2022
In this cinematic universe, the threat isn't only from within.
Sep 1, 2022
The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It can’t recapture the spooky spark that made the series so special after a five-year break between sequels, despite the best efforts of Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson.
Aug 18, 2022
The most solidly crafted and engagingly told, it is hard to see any Conjuring film getting better than The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It.
Aug 17, 2022
The procedural focus draws viewers in and carries them along with some momentum between the jump scares and the quasi-religious horror...
Aug 17, 2022
Its differences from the previous two movies are obvious, but that’s part of what makes it such a nice addition to the series.
Jul 27, 2022
The film entirely lacks mood and atmosphere (most establishing shots are so digital they're scary), and neglects us at an alarming rate... This is the kind of movie that dishonors the genre. [Full review in Spanish]
Feb 28, 2022
Wilson and Farmiga are as engaging as ever, there are a few well-handled sequences here and there, and Im always happy to see John Noble in anything, so its far from a total wash.
Feb 12, 2022
If The Conjuring were a television series, The Devil Made Me Do It would be a mediocre episode an obligatory watch that gets you to the next one.
Feb 12, 2022
The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It might not be the most horrifying edition in the Conjuring franchise, it still is a rather successful film taking a more personable and grounded approach that will suck audiences in for a fun yet thrilling adventure.
Feb 11, 2022
The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It possesses a divergent feeling. It falls rather short of its predecessors; however, its fascinating story, along with actors Vera Farmiga & Patrick Wilson returning as Lorraine & Ed, still charm and spook.
Oct 25, 2021
[It] realises that the union of Farmiga and Wilson is central to establishing the series as a domestic spousal drama making the heightened - and sometimes unsophisticated - horror tropes around them feel urgent even when they are familiar.
Oct 14, 2021
It's obvious that Michael Chaves has really tried to do something different in this third outing.
Oct 8, 2021
It tries to stuff itself with so much extra exposition. Combined with weak horror elements, the film just doesn't close the series in a strong place.
Sep 23, 2021
Fans of the franchise will enjoy this competent slice of modern horror but it's hard not to want more scares from these movies.
Sep 17, 2021
No longer interested in scares, we'll have to settle for a high-octane Amityville/Exorcist riff with shotguns in it. Sometimes this is effective. Mostly, it's dumb.
Sep 8, 2021
Eugenie Bondurant turns up as a mysterious occultist, and she's the big find. She has an Alice Krige demeanor and a stride like a stop-motion puppet.
Aug 30, 2021
The third installment in The Conjuring series, offers much of the same look and feel as the first two films while not necessarily being quite as scary.
Aug 28, 2021
I wish I could say that this film was as imaginative and unsettling as those Hell paintings by Hieronymus Bosch, but that would be a load of bosh.
Aug 27, 2021
One of the best of the conjuring movies, which is saying a lot because there are eight in this franchise.
Do you think we mischaracterized a critic's review?