The Hunger Games - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hunger Games Reviews

Page 2 of 15
May 22, 2012
The first genuine can't miss film of the year that you'll want to go back to the theater to see over and over again.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
May 2, 2012
Katniss embodies all that's better than her Hunger Games opponents, being aptly appalled at what she sees while also learning to manipulate her audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
April 30, 2012
The Hunger Games stomps the Twilight saga flat, and though I found those films somewhat amusing, this one is the real deal...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 27, 2012
... Does a more-than-adequate job of introducing a future world and characters I won't mind revisiting. And it gives you a little to think about while you're waiting.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 26, 2012
A blockbuster that has something to say about the world we could be living in. Unlike Twilight, this film actually has a deeper and more important philosophical meaning.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 26, 2012
The phenomenal cast with great chemistry and sincere authentic performances from the older actors empowers the material.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 21, 2012
Here's the movie for which millions of fans have been starving.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 16, 2012
If 'The Hunger Games' represents the latest book-turned-film blockbuster franchise built on the backs of fanatical adolescents then this is progress indeed.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 14, 2012
[Ross'] version of The Hunger Games, while not perfect, is probably as magnificent I ever my wildest dreams could have hoped for it to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 13, 2012
For those unacquainted with the novel, it's a narratively unsatisfying - not to mention visually static - affair, regardless of how much Jennifer Lawrence holds her own.
April 13, 2012
What works on the page may not translate to the screen. That's always been the challenge of bringing a writer's vision to the movies. It all comes back to "suspension of disbelief."
Full Review | Original Score: C-
April 9, 2012
Whatever rough patches and shortcomings this first film has, that by the end I was indeed interested in seeing what happens next speaks to how Ross got it mostly right.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 5, 2012
If you've never read Collins' novels, the odds that you'll enjoy the film are not in your favor.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
April 4, 2012
This movie rules.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2012
If the setup behind 'The Hunger Games' upsets you, that's a good thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2012
Lawrence is a strong role model for young girls with her character's sacrifice, courage, moral grounding in a world that's lost its own, and will to fight for what's right, even if it means sacrificing her own life or sparking a revolution.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 1, 2012
I didn't read the book. While the film is entertaining enough, I never felt drawn in to this new world.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
March 31, 2012
An entertaining adventure, but while director Gary Ross gets terrific performances from Tucci, Banks, Harrelson, and Lawrence, he drags it out far longer than the story requires.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 31, 2012
Lawrence is terrific in the lead role and gives us someone to root for to survive this horrible ordeal. The supporting players carve out memorable characters. The musical score, costumes and makeup are the other strengths.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 30, 2012
I found the sardonic satire of the movie's first half in the Capitol (a city that suggests a meeting of L. Frank Baum and Albert Speer) more intriguing than the insufficiently suspenseful depiction of the Hunger Games competition itself...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 15