The Platform (El Hoyo) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 28, 2020
It's anything but a balanced diet, but there's much to chew on regardless.
October 12, 2020
The best thing about this simple yet haunting psychological film is what it says about our worlds our status our choices and how it affects others.
September 16, 2020
Galder Gaztelu-Urrutia is so nihilistic he will undoubtedly make the leap to Hollywood, especially since his cynical banquet leaves room for religiosity as the last course.
August 23, 2020
Intense film with graphic and gruesome imagery, where solidarity and compassion get tested [full review in Spanish]
August 20, 2020
The concept of a film is not enough to make it. If you don't have a good story, it's probable that you won't have a good movie. [Full review in Spanish]
August 7, 2020
a Twilight Zone-level mind-bender mixed with a dark psychological horror film full of pointed social commentary.
August 3, 2020
I think it has an acceptable concept, executed with a minimalist staging that works to evoke metaphors about inequality, class struggle, and non-solidarity. But I find it abysmally redundant, boring. [Full review in Spanish]
July 29, 2020
But as the effortful stylizations and menacing tone give way to plot machinations...most of the puckish and brutal fun, like so many falling bodies, slips into the void.
July 13, 2020
This grim film may not fill us with hope, but it definitely will arm us with a meaningful postulation as we ponder over what the future holds for mankind.
July 8, 2020
The central allegory of the Spanish film, The Platform (2019) is about as subtle as a punch to the face.
June 30, 2020
Aránzazu Calleja's score manages to be an essential component in the rhythm, tone and atmosphere of the film. [Full review in Spanish]
June 24, 2020
The Platform is a strange movie. Its main attribute lies in its attractive premise (with echoes of Kafka, Buñuel, and Gilliam) and its ambiguity when it comes to portraying the universe where it develops. [Full review in Spanish]
June 8, 2020
It's savage, bleak and as endlessly nihilistic as the seemingly endless pit at the center of the narrative.
May 15, 2020
Disturbing violence and gore in brutal horror movie.
April 28, 2020
The Plattform is that kind of movie that gets an interesting enough idea going... up until the point when time starts running out and we realize clousure on this one is going to be impossible (and underwhelming).
April 21, 2020
Its political symbolism and economic commentary may be blunt (to put it mildly), but 'The Platform' is delightfully grim and intense.
April 14, 2020
No doubt an intriguing premise, with first-time feature director Galder Gaztelu-Urrutia clearly draws notable inspirations from like-minded high-concept sci-fi movies such as "Cube" (1997) and "Snowpiercer" (2013).
April 14, 2020
Narratively, nothing the protagonist ends up doing makes sense... Character development is not meant to be thrown away, but it is not resolved effectively. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 13, 2020
The film requires several viewings to fully appreciate all the details provided to us. [Full review in Spanish]
April 9, 2020
Instead of building on its ideas it simply hits the same ones over and over again, splattering plenty of blood but leaving little that stains your mind.
Page 1 of 5