Wonderland - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Wonderland Reviews

Page 1 of 41
May 29, 2016
A good film but way too complex for me to follow with my concentration the way it is since the accident :((
April 15, 2016
The folks that diss this movie haven't seen the "other-side" up-close and
personal......it gave me chills with it's authenticity......bad people living bad
lives on the bad side of town.....this is for-real! Josh Lucas' performance
should have netted him an Oscar.....bad hairy gritty stuff......a must see!
November 18, 2015
I downloaded this app just so I can give this masterpiece the 5 stars if deserves.
August 1, 2015
Tangled and lacking rhythm story. Not that interesting and already told in other movies even being based in true facts.
March 1, 2015
exciting, beautifully acted, wild, crazy and entertaining. one of the best films of 2000's. The film is about porn legend John Holmes on the down side of his career as he watches his career lose momentum and in his second divorce and doing coke with new teenage girlfriend ends up becoming friends with a few junkies who decide to rio off a drug kin pin. Then things get out if control.

The soundtrack is awesome. The actors like Val Kilmer. Timothy olyphant. Dylan McDermott. Josh Lucas. Kate bosworth and Eric bogosian deliver amazing performances. The film is orrery crazy, raw and powerful.

Caution contains string violence. String language and nudity.
½ February 21, 2015
still one of the craziest true stories into the life and demise of a porn star involved in murder.
½ February 7, 2015
Fairly true to the real-life version of John Holmes after porn. The movie has cinematography and an even greater soundtrack...also a little violence here and there (particularly towards the end), but mostly all dialog leading up to that climax we all knew about before the movie even started. I guess you just need to know what you're getting into to enjoy this one.
November 30, 2014
As much as I enjoy historical films, especially when they are set in LA, and especially when they involve the entertainment industry, this film doesn't have much story to examine here and is a stretch by any means
½ October 2, 2014
Great friggin script.....looked like a high school play.....one of the goriest 10 minutes I've seen in years in the flashback of the crime.Really love period pieces but not this 'kids playing dress up ' like this flick
½ June 26, 2014
Extremely powerful and well ?? written docudrama. The casting directors dirt deserve a ti of credit for the success of this movie, since they cast a lot of big ?? name actors in roles that you would never expect them to be in. Lisa Kudrow, Christina Applegate, Dylan McDermott and Kate Bosworth all give great off ?? type performances, while Val Kilmer ?? love him or hate him ?? gives a virtuoso performance as the much ?? troubled and incredibly insecure John Holmes. The movie keeps you hooked with an extremely dark tone, and the incredibly disturbing ending will stay with me for a long, long time. Not for the faint of heart, but a very good movie nonetheless.
May 19, 2014
not bad some over acting but overall a pretty good flick....
Super Reviewer
March 10, 2014
Dark tale is told in too abstract a fashion too be very involving and the whole picture is so dark it's frequently impossible to tell what's going on. Kudrow is good as Holmes estranged wife.
February 2, 2014
A "true story" look at the slayings of a group of losers who deal drugs and rob for a living. Porn star John Holmes, known for the extraordinary length of his appendage, falls in with them to continue his cocaine habit after his career comes to an end. Gruesome murders. This is one of Val Kilmer's finest performances. Kate Bosworth is impressive as well.
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2014
Wonderland has some great performances from it's cast, especially Val Kilmer as John Holmes the famous and troubled porn star. That's about the only good thing I can find in the film though as nearly everything else is convoluted and sloppy. The script is based on a real life murdercase involving the star, but there is little artistic value or connection on the part of the viewer with any of the characters. There is literally no one in the film you care for or want to root for and then circumstances don't allow for any real happy ending for any of them either. The story is overly-violent, overly-stylized and overly sleazy in it's world of drugs, debauchery, and violence in which it's characters live and die in.
½ January 4, 2014
I was bored, it took me an hour to get into the film and by then I felt like I was wasting my time so I sat through the rest of it so that I could say I watched it, providing that it had brutal moments that took me by surprise. But in the end it was very disappointing.
January 2, 2014
Telling a chapter of the life story of john Holmes, the biggest porn star ever, this film benefits from a great cast, a solid script and great moments of film making from the talented director James Cox.
½ December 30, 2013
Val Kilmer good as always. It's just that life writes sometimes moderatly interesting screenplays which are moderatly successfully adapted for screen.
December 23, 2013
Very under-rated this movie was awesome. Val Kilmer carried his role of John Holmes perfect.
½ November 19, 2013
Quite a bizarre, unsubstantial film, with a random cast and ordinary script and direction.

David Lind could well be "the edge" on a killing spree. Fab soundtrack though, just a shame the rest of the film doesn't follow suit.
November 1, 2013
great movie! Val kilmer is great in portraying john Holmes. special features include the actual crime scene footage which turns your stomach. definitely worth checking out.
Page 1 of 41