Breaking Bad: Season 5 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 30, 2013
We get the neatness and the uncertainty, which shows a Heisenberg level of mastery.
September 30, 2013
Take a bow, Vince Gilligan.
September 30, 2013
Because Breaking Bad is great art, the drama invites many different interpretations.
September 30, 2013
Breaking Bad did what any show would hope to do: bring its narrative to a natural, organic conclusion while also leaving us wishing the story could just go on and on.
September 17, 2013
Breaking Bad is more than science. It's intelligent design.
August 12, 2013
If there is a single unsatisfying element in Breaking Bad's continuing brilliance, it's the absence of any intimate sense of Walt, any feeling for what goes on in his head or heart.
August 12, 2013
[Vince] Gilligan said that a crucial part of his job was to keep people watching. That's the tricky challenge of the best serial television, and it's one that Breaking Bad has fulfilled, up to this moment, with unusual daring.
August 12, 2013
The episode is riveting, as is the quiet power of Dean Norris's performance as Hank.
August 12, 2013
Breaking Bad is the quintessential series of our binge-watching TV era.
August 8, 2013
Everything's in place in this one episode. We just have to bite our fingernails down to nothing while we ride it out.
August 8, 2013
No matter what happens, the end of Bad should be very good.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 5, 2013
Such awfulness begs for punishment, and Breaking Bad has never carried itself as a show that would deny the audience such a thing.
August 1, 2013
What I will say about the first new episode-besides that it jams the accelerator on the plot as it steers toward the brick wall of its end date-is that it continues that investigation, with a new twist suggested by last year's midseason finale.
July 15, 2012
Breaking Bad continues to demonstrate that it both is and is not different from the serious dramas to which it is often compared.
July 15, 2012
The creeping sense of dread has been part of what has made Breaking Bad so engrossing.
July 15, 2012
It might be 16 of the best upcoming hours on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 15, 2012
The season five pre miere "Live Free or Die", more than maintains the series' record of excellence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 15, 2012
Taut, chilling and measuredly paced for maximum impact. Gilligan and company keep on pushing Breaking Bad to new highs.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 15, 2012
Bad is too complex a series and too brilliantly distinctive a creation to be reduced to a simple "Crime does not pay" motto.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 15, 2012
There are so many reasons the show stands out from virtually any other series on TV: the performances, the writing, the direction and, most of all, the creative vision of Vince Gilligan.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 2