Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 3 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 3 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 10, 2019

The show continues to impress, and while the dense machinations are sometimes difficult to follow, it maintains its solid pacing and strong performances.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 14, 2019

I like that Game of Thrones allows us some room to doubt how much of these magical tales are true.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 13, 2019

I've talked before about how heavy on exposition this show is, and "Lord Snow" is particularly big on that. For the most part, though, it works this week, because the stories are being told with such passion.

Tom Chivers
Daily Telegraph (UK)
Top Critic
March 13, 2019

The plot is not so much thickening as entangling like weeds around itself. And none of the many strands feel as though they are going to end well.

Ti Singh
Den of Geek
March 13, 2019

Episode 3 of Game Of Thrones requires you to take your concentration level to the next level, as a host of potential heroes and villains are introduced.

Blair Marnell
CraveOnline
March 23, 2016

This was more of a setup episode than anything else, and yet I still found it very entertaining. There's not enough ambitious TV series anymore, but Game of Thrones has already filled that void for me.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
March 22, 2016

I adore the way Sean Bean portrays Lord Eddard Stark, Hand of the King, and Ned Stark, father to Sansa, Arya and others. So much humanity is infused into the role.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Margaret Lyons
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

(1) I still find parts of the show deeply, deeply boring. Please, don't show me sword fighting - give me more of that national debt conversation! How riveting. (2) I need a little more development from the characters who are changing.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 22, 2016

I think I liked the looser, more rambling quality of "Lord Snow," an episode largely about transitions, fish out of water, and old ghosts.

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

Few actors do weaselly as well as Gillen - and his Baelish, all surface charm and furiously conniving brain, was a pleasure to watch.

Emily VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Game of Thrones, as far as I can tell, is the closest television has ever come to just reading a novel right at you and making that experience fun.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Douglas Wolk
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

A lot of this episode, in fact, is about royalty's ability to define consensus reality -- and the limits of that ability.

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Welcome back to Westeros, where last night everyone got good and spooked, and we learned a lot more about this country, especially its weather.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

How you felt about the third hour likely hinges on whether you like scenes where folks just hang out and drink and get to know each other.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 21, 2016

"Lord Snow," as an episode, was dense and filled with tons of exposition and backstory which may or may not have interested those new to this story - but I found myself hanging on every precious word.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Page 1 of 1