Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 7 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 7 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 10, 2019

[This episode] sees the consequences of this "game" continue to reach their bloody fruition. If there's a theme for this week, betrayal is certainly one of the top contenders.

Rob Power
SFX Magazine
April 10, 2019

There was a real sense throughout the episode that things are being set up for an almighty showdown, and it's coming soon.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 14, 2019

What a terrific episode (probably my favorite so far), and especially in the way it turned the spotlight on the characters who are villains in Ned Stark's version of the story.

Natasha Simons
The Mary Sue
March 14, 2019

The action has been steadily climbing since eppy one, and we're finally getting some of the fruits of that labor.

Ti Singh
Den of Geek
March 14, 2019

So much happened in this episode... it wasn't until the credits rolled that I realized we hadn't seen Tyrion at all. And I didn't even mind.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 14, 2019

Now that it's in motion, its momentum gets more undeniable week by week. And "You Win or You Die" was the series' most thrilling and thematically rich hour to date.

Ed Cumming
Daily Telegraph (UK)
Top Critic
March 14, 2019

All in all another fine episode, let down only by the absence of the Imp Tyrion (Peter Dinklage).

Gwen Orel
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

Pluses: Khal Drogo called Dani "moon of my life." Aw. Direwolf appearance (Ghost). Hilarious woman-on-woman porno-coaching from Littlefinger.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
March 22, 2016

The hour went very quickly, and yet the landscape of Westeros and the Free Cities changed forever.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
Adam Pasick
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

The Littlefinger scene: So much to unpack! He is turning out to be one of my favorite characters.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 22, 2016

There's an interesting contrast throughout the episode between those who know exactly who they are (Cersei, Littlefinger, Khal Drogo) versus those who don't (Ned, Jon Snow, perhaps Jaime Lannister).

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

I loved this episode despite the absence of Tyrion and a couple of clunky moments. The plot is rolling unstoppably forward and it's hard not to spend most of the time on the edge of the sofa yelling "Noooo".

Emily VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

One of the biggest events in the whole series happens in this episode, and I'm impressed with how abruptly it happens.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

I'm amazed at the situation Westeros is in with three episodes to go.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Douglas Wolk
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

The standout scene this time is Ned's and Cersei's deceptively relaxed, sunny outdoor dialogue near the beginning of the episode, in which we finally hear both the title of the series and its tag line ("you win or you die"), spoken aloud.

Tim Surette
TV.com
March 21, 2016

I can't finish this article without talking a little more about that devious Littlefinger. I know we're all supposed to hate the guy, but I can't help but love him.

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Okay, raise you hand if you saw that coming. Really? 'Cause even with Baelish's little porn-assisted monologue, I didn't.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

If Thrones is a roller coaster, Episode 7 was the first (but not the last) hairpin turn, with the game board overturned and a new king taking the Iron Throne.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 21, 2016

"You Win or You Die" is an excellent, pivotal episode where Ned gets unfortunately thwarted by his own honorable intentions.

Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Ben Moore
ScreenRant
March 21, 2016

This episode of Game of Thrones - "You Win or You Die" - shows just how far the art of television has come, and how it's beginning to surpass mainstream movies by and large.

Page 1 of 1