Lenox Hill: Season 1 Reviews

July 13, 2020
There are clearly many, many things wrong with the US health system. But there's no question that country is also home to some remarkable health professionals and this deceptively simple documentary provides a terrific showcase for four of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 29, 2020
... probably the most engrossing and affecting long-form documentary I've seen in a while.
June 16, 2020
We get the human side here. How they feel about patients and their diagnoses or treatments.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 12, 2020
The storytelling is clean and fleet, Barash and Shatz presenting everyone who enters the frame as fully dimensional human beings, flawed but striving.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 12, 2020
Emotionally gripping, sweet and scary, it shows everything from childbirth to brain surgery.
June 11, 2020
The show isn't as comprehensive in its scope as it might be intending at points, but there's still plenty of fertile storytelling ground where it does focus its attention.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 10, 2020
I'm not normally a huge fan of medical shows but this one sucked me in.
June 9, 2020
Not everything has a happy outcome, but the series is startlingly candid, especially about procedures and choices. Not everyone makes the decision you expect.
June 9, 2020
Without denying flaws in the American medical system, Lenox Hill aims to inspire, and the eight-episode first season ends up more emotionally nourishing than intellectually satisfying - not that there's anything necessarily wrong with that.
June 8, 2020
With an openhearted curiosity about its subjects and a patient, clear eye, the series comes to no conclusions about the way we administer medical care now, but leaves its viewer with ample information to draw his or her own.
June 5, 2020
Lenox Hill would have been a remarkable achievement regardless of timing, but the preoccupations of the coronavirus era are bound to afford the show more attention than it would have otherwise garnered.
Top Critic
June 5, 2020
While a deeply moving tribute to those we have lately come to call "heroes," this proves they've been heroes all along. (It was filmed before the pandemic.) A can't-miss beauty.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4