Liar: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 2, 2020
It's a bad sign when you find yourself yearning for them to show more of these, because the present-day action is lacking.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 17, 2019
Liar is the sort of psychological thriller that will leave you lying awake in bed, turning over the evidence in your mind and trying to get at the truth - even though the answer remains elusive.
April 17, 2019
Instead, it becomes a cat and mouse game of often boneheaded moves that become more baffling and outrageous as the series continues, with little sense of motivation or development of its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 25, 2019
I could forgive their simplified storytelling if the effect was as dazzling as their previous work. Instead, Liar was disappointing in its lack of nuance and unbelievable lines.
January 21, 2019
Liar's depiction of rape wasn't just insensitive, it was reckless.
January 14, 2019
The conditions are ripe to force the audience to question the motives of everyone involved, and even themselves for indulging in this odd, queasy genre of 'rape thriller'.
August 28, 2018
This is such an interesting show.
July 10, 2018
The drama knows it is exploiting rape for entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 27, 2018
But there's plenty of set up of he's so-and-so-who-knows-so-and-so to be done in an opening episode, and we are compensated with enough hints that things will get suitably fiery in episode two to stick with it.
February 2, 2018
It's a challenge to put your faith in a show that calls a woman's credibility into account, when we live in a world that already does this every single day.
November 8, 2017
So who do you think is lying? My first impression is that neither of them is; they're both telling their own version of what happened based on their different perspectives, like The Affair with accents.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 6, 2017
It's on track to become the best ITV drama since Broadchurch.
September 28, 2017
In the end, Liar isn't the show we were hoping it would be. As is so often the case, lies might make for the better narrative, and the truth is an unpleasant one.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 28, 2017
... every fresh twist forces us to question our own allegiances.
September 28, 2017
It certainly sets up enough questions to make the viewer want to tune into the next episode to see what unfolds.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 27, 2017
About four hours into this six-episode series I just wanted to know how it all turned out so that I could be free of these mostly-unpleasant people.
September 26, 2017
How many ways can a crime procedural go wrong? The counting gets distracting with Sundance TV's Liar, a Scottish-set miniseries about sexual assault whose good intentions are sunk by ludicrous reveals and ultimately self-diminishing storytelling.
September 26, 2017
It was slick, layered and, in being centred on two people's wildly different recollections of sexual intercourse, did a deft job in keeping us stumped as to whose version is correct.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 26, 2017
All very laudable, but it makes you worry for the piece as pure drama, as opposed to public-service announcement.
September 26, 2017
There's one good reason to stick with it: Ms. Froggatt, who is resolutely believable and committed regardless of where the increasingly looney-tunes plot takes Laura.
Page 1 of 2