Outlander: Season 1, Episode 8 Reviews

Roxane Gay
New York Magazine/Vulture
May 25, 2016

We are seeing a completely different side of Frank, and it's quite interesting.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jim Halterman
TV Fanatic
May 25, 2016

This episode takes a big step by giving us a lot of Frank Randall. Definitely more than we've gotten since the pilot and, I think it kind of works.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.6/5
Samantha Kaye
TV Equals
May 25, 2016

Major kudos again to Ron D Moore for taking a premise that could be adapted very poorly and making it shine.

Brittany Volk
Tampa Bay Times
May 25, 2016

I'm still spinning from all the plot movement! Most episodes have covered a chapter or two, but this episode followed six chapters, and yet they still managed to give Frank lots of story that's not in the book.

David Griffin
Screen Rant
May 25, 2016

Ronald D. Moore writes an engaging albeit abrupt hour of television likely to have you yearning for more.

Amy Ratcliffe
IGN Movies
May 25, 2016

Outlander's midseason finale was gripping and thankfully saw Claire achieve her goal of getting to Craigh na Dun.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Donna Dickens
HitFix
May 25, 2016

Wow. The show is pulling no punches here.

Amy Wilkinson
Entertainment Weekly
May 25, 2016

I'd like to believe that even the purest of source-material purists among us would agree that the small-screen adaptation of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander has benefited greatly from the increased presence of Claire's left-behind-love Frank.

Rebecca Jane Stokes
Den of Geek
May 20, 2016

This week's installment (and the last installment before April, kill me now) of Outlander managed to do the unthinkable: Convert me to team Claire and Frank.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kayla Kumari Upadhyaya
AV Club
May 20, 2016

It's powerful, heartbreaking stuff that leaves you wondering how anyone could still doubt the intelligence and weight of this show.

Full Review | Original Score: A-