Outlander: Season 4 Episode 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Outlander: Season 4 Episode 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Jonita Davis
Black Girl Nerds
January 14, 2019

No, I am not saying that Hollywood should sugarcoat the history. What I am saying is that there are plenty of ways to depict slavery without the visceral reminders that Outlander delved into here.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Neela Debnath
Daily Express (UK)
November 12, 2018

Make no mistake, Do No Harm is the darkest hour of Outlander to date.

Alicia Gilstorf
Tell-Tale TV
November 12, 2018

Outlander is at its best when it is tackling these issues with historical accuracy and topical poignancy - which is especially true for this episode.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Maggie Fremont
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
November 12, 2018

Oh, but there is a new character who isn't wholly detestable!

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kayti Burt
Den of Geek
November 12, 2018

Outlander never feels more like the adaptation of a 15-year-old book series than it does in episodes like this one...

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jennifer Still
Decider
November 12, 2018

While I hate to say it, Claire does sometimes reek of white savior complex.

Rachel Montpelier
Culturess
November 12, 2018

Despite my initial misgivings, I think it handled its slavery plot the best way it could've in "Do No Harm."

Kayla Kumari Upadhyaya
AV Club
Top Critic
November 12, 2018

There's still something off in the way Outlander handles this story, continuing to place Claire and Jamie on pedestals as it introduces Black characters solely for the purpose of peddling this plot.

Full Review | Original Score: C
Genevieve Valentine
New York Times
Top Critic
November 12, 2018

It feels sometimes as if the slaves's tribulations are there merely to unsettle our heroes, calling to mind the season's overarching question.

Maureen Lee Lenker
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
November 12, 2018

For Claire, Jamie, and audiences, "Do No Harm" took pains to demonstrate that we're not in Scotland anymore.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Keri Lumm
Paste Magazine
November 12, 2018

When you choose to tackle something serious, sometimes it requires more than the usual approach.

Carly Lane
Syfy Wire
November 12, 2018

[Maria Doyle Kennedy's] addition to the cast this season as Jamie's aunt Jocasta is more than a welcome one, as she brings both the warmth and the shrewdness needed for the character that makes her one you look forward to having in any scene.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
November 12, 2018

There is a brightness to come. Unfortunately, Outlander Season 4 Episode 2 offered another dark look at America.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 1