Westworld: Season 1 Episode 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Westworld: Season 1 Episode 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Genevieve Valentine
Vice
July 3, 2018

The trick is that Westworld recognizes the implications of its choices and makes sure we don't understand enough to tune out the trauma.

William Evans
Black Nerd Problems
June 25, 2018

Maeve still trying to make sense of her blending realities and s***. Her Dolby Surround Sound messing up and she seeing the past or some s***, some memory when a bunch of them got murked out.

Matt Singer
ScreenCrush
June 19, 2018

After last week's somewhat sluggish installment, "Dissonance Theory" felt to me like a step in the right direction. I love when the show digs into its subtext about storytelling and spirituality.

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Tara Bennett
Syfy Wire
June 5, 2018

This episode was a worthy follow-up to last week's satisfying storytelling.

James White
Empire Magazine
November 7, 2017

More depth and discussion to be had, and despite all the complex issues being revealed, the show is still managing to tread the line between philosophical forum and entertaining story.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Emma Dibdin
Harper's Bazaar
September 29, 2017

Thandie Newton steals the show again.

Lili Loofbourow
The Week
August 28, 2017

From the high-contrast scenes in the jail to Ford's telepathically controlled plantation to the giant machine coming to chew the scene up, everything was especially beautiful.

Garret Castleberry
PopMatters
December 6, 2016

"Dissonance Theory" performs a bricolage of narrative duties that both conceal and reveal the show's unfolding purpose.

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Scott Tobias
New York Times
Top Critic
October 24, 2016

Or maybe the philosophical inquiries of Westworld simply interest me more than speculating about its mythology. This week's episode goes deeper into the Gunslinger's quest to understand the inner workings of the park by finding the center of the maze.

Alissa Wilkinson
Vox
October 24, 2016

The truth is, we have no idea what it's about yet. And maybe we shouldn't expect to know. It could be that Westworld is more like a painting than a photograph, and the show is just applying strokes to the canvas right now.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
October 24, 2016

Still not in love, but this was easily the strongest of the four episodes HBO showed critics before the premiere, and it's always promising to see a young show improve as it goes along.

Laura Hudson
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
October 24, 2016

We've spent the first four episodes of the show viewing the Man in Black as the misogynistic villain of the story, the scourge of hosts like Dolores. What if he's their savior instead? What would it mean if he were both?

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Liz Shannon Miller
indieWire
Top Critic
October 24, 2016

Westworld is in large part a show about people in search of answers, and "Dissonance Theory" found the show's characters taking a multitude of intriguing approaches to finding them.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Drew Grant
Observer
Top Critic
October 24, 2016

We get the first hint that maybe the Man in Black isn't the monster that he seems to be.

Jacob Stolworthy
Independent (UK)
Top Critic
October 24, 2016

This episode does an effective job at interconnecting plot lines together into one taut whole - it's just going to require patience to decipher it all. But if you're in, you're in and quite a journey it promises to be.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
October 24, 2016

We're finally getting a more well-rounded view of The Man in Black. Not only did we get our first hint to who he might be in the outside world on Westworld Season 1 Episode 4, but he also shared while he was so interested in the maze.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.6/5
David Crow
Den of Geek
October 24, 2016

This is the first episode since the premiere that we've spent a lot of time with Harris' Gunslinger, and we learned a lot more about him than we previously realized.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Paul MacInnes
Guardian
Top Critic
October 24, 2016

I enjoyed this week's episode. I have decided to give up on trying to hold the show to a coherent plot or dramatic world -- life's too short -- but I appreciated the introduction of some snappy dialogue and satisfying interaction between characters.

Kimberly Roots
TV Line
October 24, 2016

[Ford]'s aware of [Theresa's] sheet-rumpling with Bernard, but I'm less concerned with that than I am with the hair-raising stillness of all of the hosts in that section of the park suddenly brought to a standstill, seemingly by Ford's mere will

Robert Ham
Paste Magazine
October 24, 2016

Things are starting to feel more certain within the universe of Westworld.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.9/10
Page 1 of 2