Winter's Bone - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Winter's Bone Reviews

Page 1 of 230
October 23, 2017
Simply the best independent movie I have ever seen. It is stark and bleak but also beautiful in every aspect. The performances of all involved are first rate as no one tries to dominate the film although Jennifer Lawrence leaves an indelible mark with the finest breakout performance you're likely to see. Boasting no unlikely fight scenes or unrealistic set pieces this is possibly the most genuine portrayal of mountain folk that you are likely to see.
September 29, 2017
Movie was a straight napping movie. Something you turn in the background for noise.
August 6, 2017
I avoided this film due to its depressing nature..but eventually I dove in and got it watched. Overall...its a decent film. A bleak picture of middle America with Ree (Jennifer Lawrence) and and the rest of her poverty stricken family struggling to cope as their father disappears whilst out on bail.
I found that I enjoyed myself while watching this...but not I'm too sure why.
It is very well acted and you can see why it put Lawrence in the spotlight. John Hawkes also give a fantastic performance as Ree's uncle, the brother of the aforementioned missing dad. The Missouri setting reflects the film perfectly..with a real sense of loneliness in the sparse wilderness that is Ree's home. There is a tight knit local community at the centre, with both the good and the bad elements that this brings. The presence of drugs (presumably meth) also serves to further demoralise the community..but people do what they need to survive. Winter's bone is an intense, gritty and well observed piece of cinema.
May 24, 2017
Sad and bleak, but an interesting story nonetheless.
May 24, 2017
Jennifer Lawrence's Star-making role in Winter's Bone helps in this mystery crime drama
½ May 18, 2017
Time and again I come to a Jennifer Lawrence movie and am mesmerised by her performance. This is no exception, but boy oh boy, the flick itself was a hard slog at times. A truly sad and dark story that is lifted by the combination of quiet toughness and optimism that Lawrence instilled in the character Ree. Toughness isn't about how hard you can hit, it's about how much you can bear while still keeping your heart open to love for family. The relationship between Ree and her siblings kept this story from being a total and complete downer. A slow burn thriller/mystery with a young female lead worth checking out for sure
April 3, 2017
I was more excited to fall asleep then finish the movie
April 2, 2017
Grim and impressive.
March 31, 2017
Unnecessarily cryptic
March 15, 2017
This literally sat around for 3 years before I watched it but it's a pretty good movie. I can see why it was nominated for Oscars in 2011 even if the title sounds like Mother Nature's porn.
February 11, 2017
Great acting from a young Jennifer Laurence but not a particularly great watch
January 26, 2017
Una excelente historia, con una gran carga simbólica que te atrapa conforme se va desarrollando, acompañado de una increíble interpretación de Jennifer Lawrence
January 14, 2017
The acting is first rate in this cold, dark Western. Lawrence plays a bizarrely precocious but world weary 17 year old in an incredible performance. Rest of the cast are equally convincing and the haunting plot meanders to a shocking scene and a tidy ending. Clever work this.
Super Reviewer
½ December 27, 2016
With an excellent performance by Jennifer Lawrence, this is a haunting and extremely distressing drama whose downbeat atmosphere feels always suffocating and real as it drags us into this bleak universe filled with dreadful people living in so much misery and poverty.
½ December 13, 2016
75%
Saw this on 13/12/16
Lawrence gives an assured performance in this realistic drama that shows an overlooked face of America, about the rural west where neither technology nor green pastures have a footing. The film is well directed and the story is ok.
December 8, 2016
While it looks nice, it's around 5 minutes of plot stretched over 2 hours with bland characters, tons of useless exposition, lots of filler establishing shots that don;t further the plot at all. It's a drag to sit through.

The movie in a nutshell (spoilers):
I need to find my father or things will suck
Hey townspeople, can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
yes. Here he is, he was dead and in one spot the entire time.
Ok cool. My house is saved.

there. I saved you 2 hours.
November 13, 2016
I do not understand what everyone sees in this movie. The plot is super slow and nothing really happens. Not a fan.
November 7, 2016
This movie is a very slow burn, but that doesn't really mean it is all time wasted. A lot of time is given to trying to make this woman's, played by Jennifer Lawrence, plight feel direr. It is does do something not too many movies tap into, the fear of the country. Not in the chainsaw killer way, but the idea that there is a whole organized criminal underground just like in major metropolitan cities. It's not a sight you see a lot of movies. Over all, the fact that it takes a long time to build, does hold it back a bit, if you're fan of movies with this kind of plot thread, a woman having to do whatever it takes to keep her family together, I'm sure it will be worth a watch for you.
½ October 25, 2016
I really, really HATE this movie and everything that it stands for and show. Horrible Disgusting Movie.
September 19, 2016
Winter's Bone is the tale of a 17-year-old girl who is trying to take care of her family since her mother has gone crazy and her dad has gone missing. It is a very good character piece, and I can see why Jennifer Lawrence grabbed the attention of both the Academy and movie studios. Her portrayal of this girl with the entire world on her shoulders was superb, and she went through the full gamut of emotions in her performance. The style of the film is kind of tough to get into, because it is one of those independent films with almost zero exposition. So we, as an audience, have to piece together what is going on through a number of conversations between the different characters. Even with that, I sometimes struggled to understand exactly what was going on because there was clearly so much history between everyone, and since they all know what went on they don't feel the need to talk about it for our benefit. Once I deciphered it all, the story was a little flat and uninteresting. I think they were trying to add a bit of mystery to the plot, but I wasn't intrigued by it. There are a few scenes that shine above the rest, and those are the things that will stick in my memory, but the movie lacked something for me. I can see the craftsmanship that went into making it, and I appreciate why many people would love Winter's Bone. It might not work well for me, but it could for many others.
Page 1 of 230