Winter's Bone - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Winter's Bone Reviews

Page 1 of 230
March 15, 2017
This literally sat around for 3 years before I watched it but it's a pretty good movie. I can see why it was nominated for Oscars in 2011 even if the title sounds like Mother Nature's porn.
½ March 3, 2017
I was more excited to fall asleep then finish the movie
February 11, 2017
Great acting from a young Jennifer Laurence but not a particularly great watch
January 26, 2017
Una excelente historia, con una gran carga simbólica que te atrapa conforme se va desarrollando, acompañado de una increíble interpretación de Jennifer Lawrence
January 14, 2017
The acting is first rate in this cold, dark Western. Lawrence plays a bizarrely precocious but world weary 17 year old in an incredible performance. Rest of the cast are equally convincing and the haunting plot meanders to a shocking scene and a tidy ending. Clever work this.
Super Reviewer
½ December 27, 2016
With an excellent performance by Jennifer Lawrence, this is a haunting and extremely distressing drama whose downbeat atmosphere feels always suffocating and real as it drags us into this bleak universe filled with dreadful people living in so much misery and poverty.
½ December 13, 2016
75%
Saw this on 13/12/16
Lawrence gives an assured performance in this realistic drama that shows an overlooked face of America, about the rural west where neither technology nor green pastures have a footing. The film is well directed and the story is ok.
December 8, 2016
While it looks nice, it's around 5 minutes of plot stretched over 2 hours with bland characters, tons of useless exposition, lots of filler establishing shots that don;t further the plot at all. It's a drag to sit through.

The movie in a nutshell (spoilers):
I need to find my father or things will suck
Hey townspeople, can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
no.
can you help me?
yes. Here he is, he was dead and in one spot the entire time.
Ok cool. My house is saved.

there. I saved you 2 hours.
November 13, 2016
I do not understand what everyone sees in this movie. The plot is super slow and nothing really happens. Not a fan.
November 7, 2016
This movie is a very slow burn, but that doesn't really mean it is all time wasted. A lot of time is given to trying to make this woman's, played by Jennifer Lawrence, plight feel direr. It is does do something not too many movies tap into, the fear of the country. Not in the chainsaw killer way, but the idea that there is a whole organized criminal underground just like in major metropolitan cities. It's not a sight you see a lot of movies. Over all, the fact that it takes a long time to build, does hold it back a bit, if you're fan of movies with this kind of plot thread, a woman having to do whatever it takes to keep her family together, I'm sure it will be worth a watch for you.
½ October 25, 2016
I really, really HATE this movie and everything that it stands for and show. Horrible Disgusting Movie.
September 19, 2016
Winter's Bone is the tale of a 17-year-old girl who is trying to take care of her family since her mother has gone crazy and her dad has gone missing. It is a very good character piece, and I can see why Jennifer Lawrence grabbed the attention of both the Academy and movie studios. Her portrayal of this girl with the entire world on her shoulders was superb, and she went through the full gamut of emotions in her performance. The style of the film is kind of tough to get into, because it is one of those independent films with almost zero exposition. So we, as an audience, have to piece together what is going on through a number of conversations between the different characters. Even with that, I sometimes struggled to understand exactly what was going on because there was clearly so much history between everyone, and since they all know what went on they don't feel the need to talk about it for our benefit. Once I deciphered it all, the story was a little flat and uninteresting. I think they were trying to add a bit of mystery to the plot, but I wasn't intrigued by it. There are a few scenes that shine above the rest, and those are the things that will stick in my memory, but the movie lacked something for me. I can see the craftsmanship that went into making it, and I appreciate why many people would love Winter's Bone. It might not work well for me, but it could for many others.
September 6, 2016
very good film with Oscars written all over it! not a fan of the ending though
½ August 10, 2016
Lawrence's breakthrough performance in this drugged-up, exquisite drama is something to be expected of her being filled with independent determination that her typically strong-willed character displayed through decently-written life complexions. A harsh, but an ordinary indie at a realistic approach of heat and calm with the thematic materials and characterization being well-directed. (B)

(Full review TBD)
July 24, 2016
The cast and crew nail the atmosphere, and J-Law is really good in this movie. I found the plot underwhelming however, as it wasn't as smart nor thrilling as I had expected or hoped.
½ June 19, 2016
hmm... i don't know that i'd say it was a thriller. or one of the year's best films. but it wasn't bad. nothing really happens besides her gallivanting about while people refuse to help her, so that's kind of aggravating. seems as though everyone would rather keep a meth head hidden than help a family of 4 (who's being taken care of by a 17 year old, mind you) from losing all they have (due to said meth head). other thoughts i couldn't help but think is that probably the majority of our generation's 17 year olds would never be able to handle the responsibilities this one had. and the fact that she had to have the 6 year old watch her cook and learn how to shoot guns just in case something happened. i feel like maybe that happened more often in our grandparent's generation, but not anymore. i can't tell you how many times i run in to people who don't know how to cook. like, how do people not know how to cook? you literally need to eat to survive. anyways. it's a slow moving movie, but if you're in to dramas and unhelpful people, then you'll like it.
May 30, 2016
Wow, that was an intense film. Lawrence did a great job of acting in this one. It's definitely a very good film for it's type but some may think it's too bleak and depressing. They do a good job of making you feel the setting. 8/10
May 23, 2016
It became repetitive
May 22, 2016
Almost a 9/10 in my book
Page 1 of 230