Moonraker - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Moonraker Reviews

Page 1 of 112
January 4, 2017
140110: 11th Bond Film. This one is a little corny but enjoyable nonetheless. Always good to see Jaws and having his loyalties tested was a nice touch. American agent Holly Goodhead is another unconvincing female second to Bond. Goodhead reminded me of Major Anya Amasova in The Spy Who Loved Me. She's just too weak.
½ December 1, 2016
If this review was based purely on entertainment value and cinematography it would be 5 stars all the way for sure. However, there's the small matter of suspension of disbelief. The action is often cartoonish which takes you out of the movie. Nevertheless it has great pace, is very inventive and there's some wonderfully cool gadgets. It's not a bad movie by any means - in fact it's a very good movie taken on its own terms. However it's a million miles away from the very early bonds.
October 31, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: 'Moonraker' is not only a classic because of it's extravagance, but also because it's one of the funnest films in the series. It might be ridiculous, but hey, watching James kick the hell out of bad guys and jet into space will make you smile from ear to ear.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's really nothing more than that though as in it's spectacle, this film sometimes forgets what makes these movies great. Overall it goes back to the standard of 'The Man With the Golden Gun' and doesn't come near the excellence of 'The Spy Who Loved Me.'
VERDICT: Moonraker is nothing more than amusing, but at least it entertains. Moore's Bonds are on and off - and this is definitely a mixed bag.
½ October 22, 2016
One of the very few blips in the beloved franchise, Moonraker gives a new meaning to the word 'absurd,' with a ludicrous plot and slightly dodgy script. Even certainly seen better days from 007... but then again, we have seen a few worse. All is certainly not lost with this one.
Verdict: C-
½ September 22, 2016
Moonraker is a very mediocre Bond outing with some memorable locations, but ludicrous plot and villain, frenetic pacing, a silly and just stupid second half and this was such an obvious move to cash in on the success of Star Wars at the time with all this space nonsense that the entire affair becomes meaningless and lazy.
September 7, 2016
It was like watching Star Wars, but a really horrible Star Wars !!!
August 28, 2016
This is the 11th James bound movie. It is better then the first 10. For your eyes only is better, But still this movie has a great story line. It also has great acting. See it.
August 12, 2016
A large drop from TSWLM and a film in which nobody seemed to want to be in, boring, lackluster performances all around. The space theme was just overall very out of place and made the whole thing kinda silly.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
July 28, 2016
Just an average Moore era Bond film, Same old plot, Cheesey one liners only a couple of scenes that were good, Then all of a sudden were in space and there's a space war with lazers and a Jaws love story, Very OTT sillieness, Very poor, Dragged most of the time and most of the gadgets were silly, One of the worst Bonds out there.
July 25, 2016
2.5 out of 10:

What a mess of a Bond film. Sure it has some good action and good effects, but it's not enough to make up for a beyond generic story and tons of ridiculous moments.
½ July 24, 2016
The cheesiness actually works well in this film for me. Somehow. Roger Moore does a great job, and Jaws is at his best here. The Venice boat chase was nice as well.
July 23, 2016
Moonraker is over-the-top, but a serviceable Bond flick.
July 21, 2016
James Bond goes completely awol with a sci-fi movie that is completely outrageous. Moonraker is THE definition of the Roger Moore-era with the absurd plots that ultimately don't work.
July 20, 2016
A pretty fun movie to watch. Jaws is back and hilarious. I love all the ways he almost died. Drax reminds me of Riker from Star Trek. This is one of my favorites so far.
½ July 16, 2016
7/16/2016: Not a good movie. Poor storyline and action. Moore plays a good bond though.
½ July 7, 2016
Bond meets Star Wars. 60 out of 100
½ April 28, 2016
Average entertainment.
½ March 29, 2016
After splashing about under the sea in The Spy Who Loved Me, Cubby Broccoli launched 007 into outer space in a thinly veiled attempt to cash-in on the late 1970s sic-fi craze. This is a rather lazy Bond movie where the cast and crew seem to largely be rehashing old ideas and making a plot up as they go along. Glamorous locations are used without any logical need, outlandishly high-tech gadgets get produced at the slightest provocation and there are far too many verbal and visual gags meaning that the action often descends into slapstick. Even that stalwart of the British comedy show, Alfie Bass gets to make a cameo appearance. Hugo Drax as played by Michael Lonsdale is one of the more forgettable Bond villains and his dastardly plot one of the daftest that the franchise has dreamed up. Using a toxin somehow extracted from an orchid, Drax plans to wipe out humanity and then repopulate the planet using a bevy of blondes he has secreted in a giant space station. In order to defeat him, our hero teams up with an undercover American agent who has been planted on the inside of the evil genius' organisation. Bond is put onto the case when Drax nicks one of his own space shuttles from the government in order to replace one that is damaged. There's some shameless product placement and very silly situations, notably when Bond is pursued through the canals of Venice in a gondola that initially becomes a speedboat and then a hovercraft. All this having been said, Bond is great fun and in this era, it was very much aimed at the escapist end of the market. There are some great scenes. I do love the sight of the space shuttles blasting off from the Brazilian jungle and Drax is at least given a proper Bond villain base thanks to set designer Kenneth Adam. The special effects showing a fleet of shuttles docking with the gigantic space station are impressive and John Barry provides a suitable, fully orchestrated score and a great theme for Shirley Bassey to get her tonsils into. Moonraker is very definitely a "Roger Moored" Bond. None of the other lead actors who have tackled the role could have pulled this one off. It is glamorous, silly and fun and doesn't try to be anything other than that. They certainly don't make em like this any more and maybe that's a shame but then again maybe it is just as well.
½ March 25, 2016
Hilariously stupid yet wildly entertaining. Moonraker never asks us to take it seriously so why should we? It's a fun, ridiculous Bond adventure through and through.
½ March 21, 2016
One of my favourite Bond missions where between dodging Jaws and fighting men in yellow jump suits, he travels into space to have a laser fight.
One of the more iconic Bonds..
Page 1 of 112