Airplane! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Airplane! Reviews

Page 1 of 624
½ September 20, 2017
One of the funniest movies ever, every joke, pun and gag is told so well that it doesn't overwhelm you.
½ September 2, 2017
Playing a gigantically fun spoof over disaster films, this parody benefits from a great selection of visual and narrative humor, taking itself seriously enough to feed upon its slapstick comedy and satirical elements, playing silly as long as it can to endure the audience entertainment, and never failing to deliver in both; dark humor, childish entertainment and the enough amount of laughs.
August 27, 2017
So stupidly funny it's actually clever
August 18, 2017
Literally the most unfunny movie I've ever seen in my life. Only positive is Leslie Nielsen who still cannot save this piece of shit dumpster fire.
½ August 13, 2017
Funniest comedy I've watched so far
½ August 9, 2017
Completely out of the ordinary, but really enjoyable and funny and fits its purpose as a parody!
August 7, 2017
Possibly the funniest movie of all time.
½ July 18, 2017
Filled with non-stop laughs, stereotypes and parodies, Airplane! is a comedy landmark.
July 16, 2017
AMAZING!! Full review to come....(in order to do it justice)
July 13, 2017
The film that started the parodying trend for generations
July 6, 2017
Though unabashedly juvenile and silly, Airplane! is nevertheless an uproarious spoof comedy
July 2, 2017
A film that is some 37 years old but unbelievably I have never seen. Why?
I have not enjoyed a 90 or so minute comedy genre film as much for years.
The plot is pretty simple (and inconsequential), it revolves around a US domestic flight to Chicago where several members of the crew and passengers are struck down with severe food poisoning. The crew includes the pilot and his co-pilots leaving the fate of the craft in the hands of an inflatable auto pilot and a drunken veteran passenger.
The film spoofs several films from the 1970s including Jaws in the introduction and Saturday Night Fever featuring a rip-roaring rendition of Staying Alive by The Bee Gees.
The jokes are very un-politically correct in many scenes broaching subject's that wouldn't dare to be touched in modern film and television including casual racusm, paedophilia, pornography and substance misuse. However none of these subjects are real before any Liberals get on their high horses.
The cast seems pretty unknown to me perhaps because of my age (I was only 3 when this film was made).
The only person I recognised was a pre Naked Gun trilogy Leslie Nielsen as a doctor aboard the aircraft.
To be honest Nielsen although he shows some nods and winks pkays his part more straight faced than his Naked Gun character.
Excellent film that dedpute its age is still funny.
June 27, 2017
This is not dated in places and some of the humour is not appropriate in the current time, but it is still full of amazingly funny one liners.
June 26, 2017
Consistently funny throughout, Airplane! gives you a ton of wide-ranging jokes in a short run time. While the jokes may not be bust a gut funny, the majority are chuckle-worthy.
June 8, 2017
A TOP TOP TOP film - an ALL TIME favourite!
May 28, 2017
Absolutely hilarious and suprisingly entertaining
April 22, 2017
I remember watching this on Pay per View TV a couple of years ago. It was free, and not expecting much, I watched it. I nearly busted a rib laughing, and I was amazed at how all of their jokes were on key, and how talented the writers and cast were! I never thought something this stupid or delinquent could be so hilarious!
April 21, 2017
Surely one of the best comedy movies ever.
And don't call me Shirley.
½ April 19, 2017
Airplane is about an airplane full of people who are in danger after the pilots have something happen to them. It is a spoof of disaster movies and it makes fun of them. This idea succeeded as it is now known as one of the greatest comedies of all time. It has just about everyone's type of humor. From slapstick to dark themes, Airplane has it all. This is the first film I've seen that made my throat hurt. Leslie Nielsen gives one of his best performances as a straight-faced, know-it-all doctor who says one-liner after one-liner after one-liner. This movie knows exactly what it is, and a film like this is good at being what it is. It is the best parody movie ever seen. It is hard to make anything like it really.
Over all, if you like movies about planes, spoof movies, or just good-old time watching a film. 4 1/2 out of 5 stars
February 25, 2017
one of the only comedies on the top 100 because it is truly funny
Page 1 of 624