Airplane! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Airplane! Reviews

Page 1 of 624
½ July 18, 2017
Filled with non-stop laughs, stereotypes and parodies, Airplane! is a comedy landmark.
July 16, 2017
AMAZING!! Full review to come....(in order to do it justice)
July 13, 2017
The film that started the parodying trend for generations
July 6, 2017
Though unabashedly juvenile and silly, Airplane! is nevertheless an uproarious spoof comedy
July 2, 2017
A film that is some 37 years old but unbelievably I have never seen. Why?
I have not enjoyed a 90 or so minute comedy genre film as much for years.
The plot is pretty simple (and inconsequential), it revolves around a US domestic flight to Chicago where several members of the crew and passengers are struck down with severe food poisoning. The crew includes the pilot and his co-pilots leaving the fate of the craft in the hands of an inflatable auto pilot and a drunken veteran passenger.
The film spoofs several films from the 1970s including Jaws in the introduction and Saturday Night Fever featuring a rip-roaring rendition of Staying Alive by The Bee Gees.
The jokes are very un-politically correct in many scenes broaching subject's that wouldn't dare to be touched in modern film and television including casual racusm, paedophilia, pornography and substance misuse. However none of these subjects are real before any Liberals get on their high horses.
The cast seems pretty unknown to me perhaps because of my age (I was only 3 when this film was made).
The only person I recognised was a pre Naked Gun trilogy Leslie Nielsen as a doctor aboard the aircraft.
To be honest Nielsen although he shows some nods and winks pkays his part more straight faced than his Naked Gun character.
Excellent film that dedpute its age is still funny.
June 27, 2017
This is not dated in places and some of the humour is not appropriate in the current time, but it is still full of amazingly funny one liners.
June 26, 2017
Consistently funny throughout, Airplane! gives you a ton of wide-ranging jokes in a short run time. While the jokes may not be bust a gut funny, the majority are chuckle-worthy.
June 8, 2017
A TOP TOP TOP film - an ALL TIME favourite!
May 28, 2017
Absolutely hilarious and suprisingly entertaining
April 22, 2017
I remember watching this on Pay per View TV a couple of years ago. It was free, and not expecting much, I watched it. I nearly busted a rib laughing, and I was amazed at how all of their jokes were on key, and how talented the writers and cast were! I never thought something this stupid or delinquent could be so hilarious!
April 21, 2017
Surely one of the best comedy movies ever.
And don't call me Shirley.
½ April 19, 2017
Airplane is about an airplane full of people who are in danger after the pilots have something happen to them. It is a spoof of disaster movies and it makes fun of them. This idea succeeded as it is now known as one of the greatest comedies of all time. It has just about everyone's type of humor. From slapstick to dark themes, Airplane has it all. This is the first film I've seen that made my throat hurt. Leslie Nielsen gives one of his best performances as a straight-faced, know-it-all doctor who says one-liner after one-liner after one-liner. This movie knows exactly what it is, and a film like this is good at being what it is. It is the best parody movie ever seen. It is hard to make anything like it really.
Over all, if you like movies about planes, spoof movies, or just good-old time watching a film. 4 1/2 out of 5 stars
February 25, 2017
one of the only comedies on the top 100 because it is truly funny
February 20, 2017
"I just want to tell u both good luck. We're all counting on you". Lol. Just a silly and fun movie to watch with many memorable quotes. And Air Israel...lol!
February 18, 2017
A awesome genre defining comedy...
½ February 16, 2017
This movie is awesome I'm serious and don't call me sherly
January 26, 2017
Airplane doesn't dare give you a break in its meticulous and ridiculous spoof of contemporary disaster movies. It may be sharp, but you know what it has that most other spoofs have not? Jokes. Hundreds, if not thousands, of jokes. The Zucker brothers and its B-star cast demand your attention to detail, lest anything fly over your head. I promise you that was unintentional. And yet, Airplane! also allows you to tune in and out at any time. If you do not find a joke you like, such a joke will find you. We have puns, slapstick, reimagined stereotypes, unexpected forays into the explicit, exaggerations of typically marginal details in the airport / airplane, plain remakes of scenes from contemporary cinema, and (another one that most spoof films miss) a script so well threaded that, if you have been paying attention, you are rewarded with occurrences that slowly reveal themselves as jokes and in-movie references. Airplane! has only love to give; as do I.
½ January 26, 2017
Undeniably one of the best spoof comedies in history.
January 25, 2017
"And don't call me Shirley"
½ January 21, 2017
Puntaje Original: 7.5

Una gran comedia, que trascenderá por generaciones. Risas garantizadas de inicio a fin con irreverentes secuencias de parodia de lo concerniente al género y singulares personajes.
Page 1 of 624