Friday the 13th - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Friday the 13th Reviews

Page 1 of 844
½ July 18, 2016
This movie bores the life out of me, I've watched it twice and fell asleep on both occasions, Michael Bay please stop producing classic characters in horror, transformers and teenage mutant ninja turtles are ruined as it is, the acting is awful, certain script points don't make sense, overall this film is boring as hell
July 15, 2016
Not the atrocities that the "Nightmare" and "Halloween" remakes were but it just wasn't entertaining, like a "Friday The 13th" film (remake or not) should be.
July 15, 2016
Friday the 13th remake is a pretty solid remake minus the lack of creative kills. I like how it sums up the first three movies in one, and puts them together pretty well.
July 10, 2016
The remake of Friday The 13th is your typical remake, especially for a classic horror film. You have graphic violence and nudity, drug use, and everything you should expect. Being a little bit more intense than the original, I gave it a half of a star more than the original. It's not perfect, and it's not that tension building like the original either, which is something you should expect. Again, not amazing, but perfectly watchable and enjoyable.
July 9, 2016
Friday the 13th is a good looking film, but is basically the same movie we've seen before. Our main character Clay is trying to find his sister, but Jason has kidnapped her because she looks like his mother. It seems very convenient that Jason wouldn't kill this girl so we could have a story. Overall, it's a pointless remake.
½ July 4, 2016
I like the good old fashioned chase that a slow killer gives goofy hot babes. Although this film pulls from the ideas of the classic horror films, it features a lot of torture and not fast killing right out the bat. I don't find the film scary or enjoyable.
July 3, 2016
Es wird wieder gemordet und gemetzelt in Crystal Lake. Denn Jason Voorhees ist zurück!
Lange war es eigentlich her, dass wir den Maskenmörder im Einsatz sahen. Lange galt er auch als ausgestorben. Bis sich Produzent Michael Bay und Regisseur Marcus Nispel sich zusammen taten, um eine Frischzellenkur an dieser Reihe, voranzutreiben. Das Resultat war nicht schlecht!
Sicherlich hat das Remake einige Abschnitte aus den Originalen wieder gegeben. Sonst bleibt das Genre und die Story gleich: Junge und hübsche Teenager verbringen ein Wochenende in Crystal Lake und der Maskenmörder Jason taucht auf, und holt sich einer nach dem anderen. Nur das es in diesem Remake, etwas freizügiger umhergeht. Es wird viel nackte Haut gezeigt, man zelebriert den Drogen- und Alkoholmissbrauch und es wird ohne grosse Vorwarnungen gemeuchelt. Was ich Cool fand, dass Jason diesmal unheimlicher aussieht. Er verfolgt auch seine Opfer schneller, was dabei gefürchteter aussieht.
Sonst ist es ein normaler Horrorfilm von der Stange. Es wird nichts Neues erzählt und man weiss schon Bescheid, wer das nächste Opfer sein soll.
Fazit: Ein gelungenes Remake eines Klassikers. Eigentlich schade, dass man in der Originalreihe, nicht so hätte filmen können. Denn diese Version hat Drive!
June 7, 2016
I particularly like this (just a little bit) better than the A Nightmare On Elm Street remake, and Friday The 13th is actually quite an entertaining horror flick, yet it still has few minor flaws.
½ June 1, 2016
Boring characters are extremely unlikely able directing is okay plots alright don't like the changes they made to Jason overall w pointless remake
May 15, 2016
One star for the beginning of the movie - it actually wasn't that bad. Funny and decent acting and some cool deaths. Then it all goes downhill. Fast. After the 1st 20 minutes, the remaining hour is boring & slow with all genuinely unlikeable characters (including Jason, who somehow manages to make it from the woods to the TOP of a house in 3 seconds flat, in one of the movies most laughable moments) and I just wanted it to end. The original was awful, this one's awful, put this series to sleep!!
May 9, 2016
This was the only way you could possibly make anymore Friday 13th movies (Not counting Freddy Vs Jason) And I don't know if it's just because it's more up to date but I enjoyed this more than any of the previous Friday 13th movies, The formula is the same Derek Mears plays a great Jason, He's more faster, More agile and a bigger threat because of them reasons, The film comes to a predictable ending but the it's entertaining enough to please old fans and maybe start up a new fanbase too.
May 8, 2016
When I first heard a Friday the 13th remake was in production it seemed like a grim prospect. Considering the streak of nearly unwatchable garbage New Line had already contributed to this franchise (and the news that the remake would be a Michael Bay production) I was certain this would be another misguided disappointment. Perhaps after watching all these movies my mind has finally snapped but, much to my surprise, I actually enjoyed it.

Friday the 13th is principally a reimagining of Part 2 that incorporates elements of the first four films. In this way it's a best-of-both-worlds remake taking us from the death of Mrs. Voorhees (Part 1) to the discovery of the hockey mask (Part 3) in a few easy steps. It begins with two prelude sequences setting up the main action of the film, one of Mrs. Voorhees being decapitated and the other of the hooded adult Jason (a la Part 2) being introduced. These intros successfully establish the Jason character but are tainted by raunchy, forced dialogue and unappealing characters. It's odd that these sequences feature such bad writing while the main film is pretty well constructed.

The main section of the film begins, as many do, with a group of well-meaning youths heading towards the camp. These are a typically unremarkable bunch gearing up for a stimulating weekend of partying at a nearby lake house. While gassing up their Escalade (they deserve to die already) they run into Clay, an homage to the Rob character from The Final Chapter, who is looking for his missing sister. This scene reveals how very archetypal our new shipment of teen veal are; blonde party girls, potheads, nerds, cocky assholes - collect the whole set! Despite the cliched characters I'm pleased that the dialogue and performances of the cast are both considerable upgrades over past films.

One of my favorite things about Friday the 13th is that the audience never sees Camp Crystal Lake open for business. We first encounter it during the second prelude and find that the camp has been closed for years and is now a dilapidated labyrinth occupied by our favorite recluse. Another huge improvement is Derek Mears as Jason who returns a degree of patient menace to the character. Serious kudos are due to the filmmakers for making Jason scary again, it's the first time since 1988 that he inspired any sort of dread for the viewer.

In addition to commending Friday the 13th for its many improvements I must also say that it's more of the same. Again, you know what to expect with a Friday film so these sequels must be judged by their particular nuances and execution. This one scores points with me for integrating several Classic Era film elements and returning the series to Camp Crystal Lake where it belongs. Regardless of its imperfections Friday the 13th feels like a project written by people who understood the roots of the franchise and producers who executed it with some level of care. This makes me more than willing to overlook the film's lesser points.

As a lifelong fan of these movies all I'm looking for in a sequel is something that doesn't take itself too seriously but still attempts to generate suspense and scares. Most of the later films made the mistake of reinventing the rules every time out and that's not what fans are looking for. A quick tip for future Friday writers and directors: please keep Jason away from Freddy Krueger, New York City, and outer space. The lights need to stay on at Camp Crystal Lake and a steady stream of energetic, inadequately compensated young actors should be pouring onto the grounds at all times. Just keep things simple, have some fun and, above all else, respect your audience. I promise you we'll keep coming back if you do.
April 16, 2016
It was not original, yet it managed to be an imaginative vision of an unsettling story of a classic slasher-film. It happened to be extremely intense, and had a few scares up it's sleeve. I would give it five stars, but it involved a little too much private parts. And yes, I regard those scenes as demerits.
April 15, 2016
The opening 25-minute sequence feels like the Friday the 13th formula perfected. If only the main story were as good... Regardless, the F13 remake is great for fans of gruesome kills, gratuitous sex, and lots and lots of blood.
April 10, 2016
As a long standing fan of the franchise, I really enjoyed the reboot and I'm bummed out that another reboot is on its way...while I can't comment on what's coming, it's too bad that this story won't continue.
March 25, 2016
Seems like throughout the movie anytime anyone winds up around the marijuana plants Jason kills them. I'm guessing he is really a drug dealer with a bad face.
Super Reviewer
March 19, 2016
After all the BS with the original "classic" series now we get a remake with Jason that runs (a bit better than walking) after hapless boring campers? Ugh! No thanks. Enough with it already.
½ March 5, 2016
The only good parts were the ending and the kill other then that bad remake
February 28, 2016
Fear is a part of human nature. People naturally crave the exhilarating adrenalin rush that only sheer terror can produce. Spiders, heights, space, insects, fire, death and fear itself are few of the thousands of phobias that cripple people's otherwise normal lives.

Purposefully designed to tap into a person's deep seeded fears, horror movies must rip at that pit in your stomach. Attempting to pierce your rationality; make you jump from your skin, break a scream from your lungs, clench your fists and make you forget you are safely sitting in a darkened movie theatre.

Friday the 13th (part XII) not only won't make you jump, scream or clench but it will leave you wondering how it is capable of being the latest instalment of the most successful horror movie franchise is history.

Spread over three decades, grossing a combined total of over $462 million at the box office and having spawned eleven sequels (plus another due in 2011) and a crossover, these facts are the only scary thing left for this story.

Following the exact same formula as almost all of its predecessors (minus a couple of notable exceptions) the film lacks originality, creativity and any single scrap of a storyline. But who expects a storyline from old-fashioned slasher based horror movies? That's more for the new generation of shock and disgust 'Saw' style.

By using original footage from 1980's Part I (much the same as in the 2003 Texas Chainsaw Massacre revamp) the tone and conceptual back-story of the series is laid out. Mrs. Voorhess (Betsy Palmer) in the first murderous rampage at Camp Crystal Lake explains to her camp counsellor victim why she is hunting her down, "because you weren't paying attention... you let my son drown" but neither was she, and is soon decapitated.

Jason Voorhess (Derek Mears) after finding his mothers severed head embarks on a murder spree of his own. Crystal Lake is the setting for most of the films, there seems to be a never ending supply of teenage holiday goers who simply can't stay away from the area.

In Part XII, we begin with a carnage appetiser as an innocent quintet of frisky pot lovers are murdered after they come to the ruined Camp Crystal Lake when their GPS guides them to a plentiful crop of weed. (turn left in 300 metres, illicit drugs on your left; oh no wait, it's just a multiple murderer).

Six weeks later. We meet a new group of seven young people on a beer-booze and butts blast at the rich boy's daddy's cabin. After hearing Hunky biker Clay Miller's (Jared Padalecki) plight to search for his missing sister (one of the first five), Jenna (Danielle Panabaker) the rich boy's girlfriend, willingly leaves her sex, shots, skiing and bong-hitting friends to help him find her.

Needless to say, the rest of the film is just as predictable as expected. Jason pops out behind every tree, stares back through rainy window and hunts each person down methodically no matter how many times he gets injured.

But with each cheap scare, every curt three-toothed local or every random moment of unnecessary nudity (topless water skiing, there's a résumé skill!) "Friday the 13th" feels utterly conservative. With the desensitisation of late in "the hills have eyes and hostel" and their torture-porn cousins, the simple and classic "slasher" formula no longer cuts it.

Each instalment only ever had one generally recognisable face. Always opting to cast unknowns either a headliner wouldn't dream of taking the role or perhaps the studio isn't willing to share the exorbitant profit. Following the teen heartthrob trend form Part I (who could forget Kevin Bacon) Part XII has Jared Padalecki (supernatural). Come on Jared, your better than this at least you don't die.

The graphics and gore are pleasantly authentic. Luckily the SFX unit didn't feel the necessity to jump into the 21st century with an over abundance of blood and gusts, sticking simply to the situations as called for.

The Verdict: The once blood curdling score merely twitches at the old expectation of fear. After a run of truly disappointing sequels, I was hoping to bring better news but sadly the Friday the 13th series died many episodes ago and no matter how many times they bring Jason back; He's still dead! and so should this franchise.

Published: The Queanbeyan Age
Date of Publication: 27/03/2009
February 15, 2016
Though it'll provide sweetly nostalgic comfort food for fans of the franchise, Friday the 13th is an esoteric rehash that fails to offer the never-before-seen backstory of its iconic antagonist, instead delivering yet another tiresome continuation of the well known formula that relies too heavily on the enthusiasts to fill in the lapses in the storytelling.
Page 1 of 844