Going in Style - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Going in Style Reviews

Page 1 of 19
½ August 23, 2017
Decent bit slow but funny loved all the actors
August 23, 2017
Certainly not a bad film - it's just a bland & unoffensive comedy. Not many laughs, but a few smirks, with most of the fun coming from watching three greats (Caine, Freeman & Arkin) interact, even if they're mostly phoning it in. They rob a bank to get back at their former company that stops paying their pension. The end.
½ August 20, 2017
i love this movie. just watching michael caine, morgan freeman and alan arkin together as aging old friend is the main reasob this film works. the story is simple. but it does put a smile on your face. matt dillon and anne margaret are wasted here though.

put this on your must see list.
Super Reviewer
August 20, 2017
I've noticed a few movies like this in recent years, you know, with a small tight-knit roster of aging A-list stars that might not be here for much longer or are simply getting too old. I know that sounds really horrible but we've all gotta face the truth about life. But its funny how these epic cast rosters only seem to happen when the stars become old, didn't see it too much back in the day. I guess that could be down to them wanting to be the only major star in their own vehicle when they were younger, hungry for fame. As they get older I guess they mellow out a bit. Just a theory.

So this is another remake of a movie I have not seen or heard of but seems like a justified update I suppose. The plot centres on three old geezers played by Morgan Freeman, Michael Caine and Alan Arkin who are all made redundant. Not only that but they all lose their pensions due to their company being bought out and the restructuring within. So what do these old blokes do? Well they decide to rob the bank that is carrying out the restructuring of their pension funds.

So you get the gist here, geriatric bank robbers equals hilarity...right? Well yes and no, its hardly a laugh riot that's for sure, but predictable and cliched? most definitely. To start with things move slowly as we meet the three characters and get to know their lives a bit. This is of course required to make us care about these guys and see their situations but it all moves slowly (just like old people). Each character has a different problem that is there to pull on your heartstrings. Joe (Caine) lives with his daughter and granddaughter but due to losing his job and pension they could all be evicted. Willie (Freeman) is becoming very ill due to kidney failure but also cannot afford to visit his family. Albert is the only one without anything overly disastrous happening, he's just a relatively poor old man. So, old men good, bank evil. Got it? good.

So to prep for their outrageous felony the guys first try to shoplift from a grocery store. This is one of the only truly funny sequences in the movie showcasing stereotypical geriatric tomfoolery and slapstick. The guys don't have a clue what to do and end up shoving all manner of things down their pants, inside jacket pockets or where ever. The getaway on the mobility scooter tops it off perfectly...if again a little too cliched. Because of course they escape on a mobility scooter, they're old farts. A security officer chases after Albert but it doesn't last too long because Albert is...well old! [i]'this isn't an admission of guilt, I'm just tired'[/i]. The follow up with the store manager (Kenan Thompson of [i]Kenan & Kel[/i]) is also quite amusing.

After this disappointing test run they seek help from an actual criminal to help them plan their heist. Cue training montage of old men getting fit and learning the tricks to becoming a top bank robber. Eventually we actually get to the actual bank robbing (are all American banks this splendid looking?) and being a family film its all very gentle and soppy. Old Willie almost keels over from overheating in his mask but is helped by a little girl in a vomit-inducing 'aww' moment. But then things take a slightly darker turn when the bank manager pulls a gun and tries to shoot the old men, but misses. Albert then strides over to the manager firing his blanks at him. This all felt very out of place in my opinion, especially when Albert starts firing his gun at the manager whilst saying he's gonna die. I realise he's letting out his frustration on the manager because of their financial situations and whatnot but Jesus!

Apparently the original movie has a more downbeat ending with the old guys getting caught, but this has been overturned here. In this heart-warming adventure the guys get away with it and give much of the money away to all their friends and family. Pretty stupid really, seeing all these people getting packages with huge wads of cash in them. I think most people would probably go to the police suspecting criminal activity, not wanting to get in trouble or dragged into anything.

Like I've said this is a [b]slow[/b] moving film, there are lots of typical family scenes with soppy dialog. You do get a good sense of each character for sure but all the while you sit there just wanting them to get on with it. Basically you're not really interested in all the lovey-dovey build up, you just wanna see these guys rob the bank. Its all about old age pensioners robbing a bank, that's amusing and that's all you wanna see. The rest is all very very safe, clean and formulaic; light-hearted being an understatement. So yeah its fine, but could of been much funnier I think.
August 20, 2017
Arkin, Caine, and Freeman are pretty good replacements for Burns, Carney, and Strasberg, but the script isn't nearly as much fun as it should be.
August 20, 2017
It has enough humour and charisma to be enjoyable.
August 20, 2017
It has enough humour and charisma to be enjoyable.
August 19, 2017
Loved this movie!! Great cast, hilarious, n nothing like most movies with similar plot. I recommend it n will be adding this to my home theater. This was much better than I thought it'd be. The critics got it wrong as usual!
½ August 19, 2017
This movie is pretty bad, there is not a lot to like in this movie besides some good chemistry between the leads, not worth checking out.
August 18, 2017
From the poster, I can't really tell what is the movie about, so i didn't see it earlier. But the film was indeed fun and nice, but the heist scene could be more developed with more interesting action sequences.
½ August 18, 2017
Alan Arkin was hysterical in this flick. Well written and well cast and well directed and yeah i liked it very much.
August 17, 2017
Enh. Why would they send so much money to the nursing home?
August 17, 2017
Going In Style: Oscar winners Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman and Alan Arkin team up in this remake of the 1979 film about three retirees who become unlikely bank robbers when each of their life savings dries up. Yes, the whole "look how cute old people are doing unlikely things" has been done so many times before, and the corny jokes in this version are more groan inducing than amusing. Still, it is a pleasant, cheerful movie that, like a hug from grandpa, will comfort fans of these stars. B-
August 17, 2017
8/17/17 Netflix DVD
A great cast in a fairly mediocre film. This has been done a thousand times, old guys pull a caper to beat the system. A few along with a happy ending makes the time spent watching worthwhile.
August 17, 2017
3 old masters at work
½ August 16, 2017
like its three leads, it's charming and fun. the movie moves at a brisk pace and provides bith laughs and entertainment
½ August 15, 2017
Great cast with good chemistry between them.

Some funny one-liners.

Overall pretty enjoyable.

[6.5/10]
August 15, 2017
I seen the movie couple times. Pretty good movie in my opinion
August 12, 2017
The heist part is not the reason I liked this movie. It's the three old leads that was fun to watch. They could have made a movie about three old dudes in the city and I would have enjoyed that.

Grade: B
August 12, 2017
It's really very not bad movie.
Page 1 of 19