Going in Style - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Going in Style Reviews

Page 1 of 22
April 7, 2018
Nothing spectacular, and not the best work of these three genius, but when they are involved, it is difficult it is not worth it. Funny.
March 27, 2018
I've watched this twice..and i'm telling you..i laugh harder every time...you gotta see this..you'll appreciate it too...love love love...
March 25, 2018
What an amazing movie. Comedy was 10/10.
And overall I really enjoyed it , would recomed
March 15, 2018
The overflowing mehness.
March 1, 2018
I had fun with this movie and it delivers the laugh and showing what these three Oscar winning actors are capable of
½ February 27, 2018
Going in Style is a funny film. It is about three lifelong buddies who decide to buck retirement and step off the straight-and-narrow for the first time in their lives when their pension fund becomes a corporate casualty. Morgan Freeman, Michael Caine, and Alan Arkin give excellent performances. The screenplay is well written. Zach Braff did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the humor. Going in Style is a must see.
February 6, 2018
En partes tediosa, aburrida y en partes divertidas. No mantiene un nivel constante. Y una historia muy pobre y poco creible
January 31, 2018
Três velhos falidos resolvem roubar um banco, porém não tem experiencia alguma e logo o FBI desconfia deles, porém não tem como provar o crime, e os velhinhos saem de boa com a grana!!!!
January 27, 2018
Quando ouvi dizer que Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman e Alan Arkin iam fazer parte do mesmo elenco de um filme, automaticamente pensei que seria um sério pretendente para um ou dois prémios. No entanto, rapidamente me apercebi que afinal o filme era uma recriação da comédia Going in Style (1979), com o mesmo nome, e fiz acertadamente uma gestão das minhas expetativas, mas a curiosidade permaneceu.

Zach Braff entra em ação por trás da câmara para realizar a sua terceira longa-metragem, após o premiado Garden State (2004) e o mal amado Wish I Was Here (2014). Com um elenco emblemático, Braff deixa para trás os elementos mais dramáticos dos seus filmes antecessores e concentra-se em contar uma história simples, com leves momentos de comédia e com o intuito de entreter a população mais idosa.

Três amigos de longa data, recém-desempregados e a viver de uma mísera contribuição da segurança social, decidem assaltar o banco que lhes virou as costas para viverem confortavelmente a reforma. A dignidade também está em causa. No original de 1979, os três amigos decidiram assaltar o banco simplesmente porque eram pobres. Em 2017, um comentário social é exigido e, como tal, este filme reflete uma realidade vivida um pouco por todo o mundo onde não é reconhecido o devido valor ao trabalhador mais velho ou ao reformado. Mas não se foca nessa questão, é apenas a alavanca que o enredo utiliza para colocar o filme em movimento.

Enquanto comédia funciona, essencialmente, devido à tremenda química que estes experientes atores têm no ecrã, parecem e soam como amigos de sempre e foi um prazer assistir às conversas e leves piadas que iam fazendo. Algum humor não resultou tão bem porque insistia um pouco na troça da condição de idosos em vez de brincar com as circunstâncias da história. A boa edição entre cenas e o dinamismo das sequências de montagem proporcionaram um toque moderno e energético ao filme, que resultou em entretenimento. Apesar de este ser orientado para uma população mais velha acredito que qualquer pessoa pode encontrar algum valor de diversão ou distração neste filme.

Infelizmente, quer Zach Braff quer o argumentista Theodore Melfi jogaram excessivamente pelo seguro o que resultou num filme que, apesar de entreter, é imensamente esquecível e vulgar. Conta quase exclusivamente com o elenco, que também é brindado com boas performances secundárias, para o carregar às costas. É previsível e não pede mais à sua audiência além de breves risos e que simpatize com as personagens, pois o filme é, essencialmente, sobre amizade e solidariedade.

Going in Style é uma comédia que transmite vibrações positivas mas declara-se sem ambição ou perseverança. São 96 minutos bem aproveitados se simplesmente pretender relaxar e admirar as atuações. Possivelmente, vai lembrá-lo de um grande filme em que um destes atores esteja presente e lhe dê aquela vontade de o voltar a ver. Aqui, foram carinhosas crianças a brincar num parque de diversões, e tiveram o seu charme.

6,2/10
January 24, 2018
This is a slight movie, a facile and pale version of the brilliant original that starred George Burns. It's a New Hollywood movie, cutesy and snowflake. Watch the original instead.
½ January 20, 2018
Yeah this didn't work at all. There were a few chuckles but mostly bellyflops, and the story just kept getting hokier as it went along. Felt embarrassed for Christopher Lloyd. 3.4 out of 10.
January 11, 2018
I was caught off guard by how hard this film made me laugh. It was quite entertaining and I was impressed.
December 23, 2017
Extremely predictable and over-rationalized in order to justify robbing a bank and making the commission of a felony look cute.
½ December 23, 2017
Remake of the 1979 film. Worth a watch, but you won't find anything spectacular with this movie. Nice performances by the 3 lead actors. Christopher Lloyd is pretty funny in a small role.
December 16, 2017
I thought it was good light hearted movie it kept to it's main story line a couple of good guys finally getting what they deserve. I was surprised to see that Zack directed the movie I never really cared for him as an actor but behind the camera he has done well. You won't waste your time watching this movie it's a good time.
December 5, 2017
Don't listen to the Rotten Score on this one. This movie made me laugh until I cried, its heart warming, no bs with the story. The plot is something most of can relate too very easily now a days. The casting is brilliant. 5 stars, 10 out of 10 to me.
November 27, 2017
(5.0 out of 6)
When we might see the end of something's, looking forward to other things but see it too come to an end, we see that we take matters into our own hands to see our time is not up too soon and have plenty to look forward too when we extend one another's health longer. When what others see to take what is there's we take right back when others don't see whom they hurt in the end when many depend on what others see to give. When what others don't see what's coming they enjoy while it lasts, when it's always good to see something's before they are gone.
November 24, 2017
this is funny and warm hearted. just because you are old doesnt mean you cant cause problems and are useless to society.
November 22, 2017
worst movie I seen Morgan Freeman parcticipate in lol
½ November 20, 2017
very enjoyable film. not all the jokes landed but enough did to make this a genuinely funny film. there also some very heart warming moments that give the film structure. Michael Caine's performance was great and so was the majority of the cast. very happy to have received tickets to this, would recommend
Page 1 of 22