Inside (└ l'intÚrieur) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Inside (└ l'intÚrieur) Reviews

Page 1 of 82
August 16, 2016
This is the kind of movie that mixes horrifying with good art . I loved.
August 5, 2016
The crown jewel in the French new wave horror scene. Dripping in puss and blood as well as emotional gravitas, 'Inside' plays out as a grande opera of depravity, if you make it to the gloriously gory climax I'd be impressed if it doesn't make you hide all the scissors in your house, you know...just in case.
July 23, 2016
Nice to see that "ROTTEN TOMATOES" FINALLY GOT IT RIGHT, Rating wise, although this film deserves alot more then 83%!!!! It's like they rate films that the MEDIA wants you to like really ridiculisly high, and somthing the media wants to poo poo, or it isnt up to their anal intentive standards they crap all over!!!!
July 19, 2016
Definitely not a "First Date" film!!! Nor one you would watch with Mom and Pop!! But if you like gore and a terror that gets in your head, this is definitely it!!!
½ June 17, 2016
Disgusting and plain dumb.
May 29, 2016
Inside is a snooze-fest from start to finish. The premise was interesting, in its own right, but the tedious execution, the lack of tension and some uninspired cliches ruined this one forever.
April 9, 2016
Unabashedly gruesome and terrifyingly realistic.
½ February 21, 2016
Um pequeno conto de horror que traz BÚatrice Dalle, mais Betty Blue do que nunca. :o Contra-indicado durante a gravidez.
½ February 9, 2016
Nasty, brutish and short, "Inside" is another unrelenting nightmare scenario from the French extremist movement.
January 22, 2016
Overall, this is a good film (Though I honestly wasn't all that impressed by it). It certainly is tense, and bloody, and brutal (and even surprisingly fun at odd intervals) but this film resembles more of your typical thriller than anything else. That said, it's your typical thriller done well, and elevated by a real squirmish premise and gnarly choice of weapon (scissors?! YIKES!!!). Most tend to compare this to Martyrs, not a wise choice, because if done so, Inside is bound to come up short.
December 29, 2015
This movie almost made me lose hope in human kind.
October 30, 2015
Part of the cinematic movement 'New French Extremity', a subgenre defined by transgressive displays of extreme bodily violence, the French horror film Inside is very very violent and far more extreme and explicit in its gore than the standard of Western cinema. However, what makes Inside a fantastic horror experience is that it's violence, whilst shockingly extreme, is implemented within the framework of an incredibly well crafted and executed film.
With a running time of only 82 minutes, Inside unfolds at a breakneck speed, taking place over the course of one harrowing night. With one primary location and a very small group of actors, the story and plot are very simple (some would argue too simple). However, the smooth and confident direction keeps the film focused and engaging, and is definitely the film's most striking quality.
Inside is extremely well acted, shot and edited; full of unnerving visuals and captivating action sequences that truly leave you on the edge of your seat.
Rather than being gratuitous and self-indulgent, Inside's extreme violence compliments the film and brings intensity to the events, rather than being distracting and needlessly over-the-top. This ultimately works to elevate Inside above the countless entries of modern horror films grounded in hyper violent spectacle. With moments of pure tension, adrenaline, and even heartbreak, Inside is a devastatingly brutal yet unforgettable experience.
October 27, 2015
A good blood bath thriller about a pregnant widow on christmas eve that a gets a violent visitor.Baby cg images are used when the lead gets tensions and it didn't look very good for a 2007 movie and there is a lot chichÚs.The twist may divide people but overall i would recomend for people who are not faint of heart.
August 3, 2015
this film is batshit crazy, and a MUST SEE, for any horror fan! it is insane, and puts films like Saw or Hostel in their own spot, in the corner of the room, as this takes center stage. A real great piece of horror film, truly hard to watch many of the moments, but a staple in my collection of favorite "scary movies". If you don't like reading subtitles, no worries, because their are few to read. My only issue, was the twist at the end, and that it could've been played out a bit longer... other than that, solid casting, good performances, good makeup effects, lighting, pd, it all worked well... but the simplistic storyline is what pushed the film ahead. Most of it, in one location, centered over just a few characters, and I literally watched the final 15min through my fingers. Really incredible, what they had the balls to put on film!
A horror masterpiece!
July 24, 2015
Brutally realistic and intensely violent. Love this film.
July 24, 2015
Fantastic lighting and solid atmosphere contribute greatly to this film's success as a gory, intense home invasion film. However, even genre buffs may have a hard time handling the extreme and explicit violence. [B+]
½ June 24, 2015
Such an important film. One that we needed, especially in the wake of the American Horror genre being so poor. Go into this film blind if you've never seen it before. It's so rewarding for fans of the genre. And so insane!
June 7, 2015
Brutal, concise and engaging, despite an irritating series of CGI unborn baby POV sequences which feel incongruous in an otherwise practical / prosthetic effect driven horror film. Excellent performances and very tastefully scored, with the film often building tension and terror without the impediment of music. This is how it's done.
May 25, 2015
Alexandre Bustill and Julien Maurys' entry into The French Extreme is so brutally violent and graphic that it far exceeds what could be considered "appropriate" -- but the intensity and the suspense is tight most will find it impossible not to watch through to the bitter end. It may go way too far for many, but for those who can stomach it. This is scary and haunting cinematic ride. Beatrice Dalle and Alysson Paradis are both outstanding in their respective roles. This is one film that is not easily forgotten.
May 6, 2015
The only thing more horrific than the gore, were the gaping plotholes and incompetent characters. I have no problem with the gore and found it scarily entertaining. I also have no problem with the less than believable foetus (after all CGI is hideously expensive) but I just can't deal with the plotholes. Everyone seemed to be a bit slow on the uptake, and they weren't exactly portrayed as idiots, so I kind of expected better decisions.
Page 1 of 82