Jungle Fever - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jungle Fever Reviews

Page 1 of 24
½ July 21, 2016
Very powerful film. Not an easy watch. Nothing but real life from beginning to end...well, besides a couple strawmen here and there, but otherwise the tight dialogue and perfectly resonate story make this film a classic.
½ July 16, 2016
I watched this a few years ago for the first time. It's not just about interracial dating. There is a young woman subjugated by her domineering and abusive father. There is substance abuse. There are complex family dynamics. A lot of interesting food for thought. But, for me it wasn't a feel good movie.

With more analysis, I think that Jungle Fever was intended by director Spike Lee as a cautionary tale, especially for black men. What happens when you do drugs? Nothing good. What happens when a successful working class black man cheats on his wife with his white secretary? He loses his wife, his home, and his kids.

What happens when the successful black white collar employee thinks he is secure enough he can tell his boss he quits, without a new job in place?

A successful married black man in Jungle Fever has a lot to lose.

In spite of this seeming to be a cautionary tale, the response was possibly not as intended. Instead of discouraging interracial dating this may have encouraged it.

Maybe I'm wrong, but I think society in general is more accepting of interracial relationships than it was when Spike Lee was growing up. There are a lot of places in America where you no longer have to worry about your family and friends going crazy because you are dating someone of a different race or ethnicity. There is definitely more of a live and let live attitude, although racial prejudice is probably not going to completely die out anytime soon.
½ April 26, 2016
Spike Lee is the black people's Albert Brooks if you will and to some extent Woody Allen. He takes on social drama quite superbly except for when his subject matter is viewed as controversial. Here, Lee stumbles with his characters liability. This story about the obstacles of interracial relationships is flat and at times seems argumentative even when the audience is accepting.
½ January 12, 2016
Good Soundtrack and Acting, but the story seems too familiar.
January 5, 2016
Very VERY interesting for the firs hour than you get to the end and your like what the hell did I just watch. He ends the movie so abruptly it almost ruins the movie I was very upset. The potential of how great this movie could have been was limited to spike lee's political agenda.
November 5, 2015
Another fantastic Spike Lee joint. And what a cast!
September 27, 2015
Star studded cast! Samuel L. and Turturro especially shine! And boy do I love Annabella's accent! But Spike Lee is terrible, as always, and I think he is one of the all time worst actors, like Keanu and Nicolas Cage!
Bad sound mix too - the scenes with music and dialogue suffer, as the dialogue is almost inaudible!
½ June 1, 2015
the acting makes the movie convincing. interesting premise. but horrible direction by spike "the race-baiting" lee. one of the worst most random endings in movie history that defeats the purpose of the whole film
½ April 1, 2015
Remember when Lee used to make subject interacting and finely crafted movies like this.Seems like a lifetime ago.
½ November 15, 2014
The ending could have been better, but it was still an amazing film.
½ October 12, 2014
Samuel L. Jackson gave a pretty electrifying performance. Outside of that, this is an excellent movie about interracial relationships and one of Spike Lee's most underrated films.
September 6, 2014
spike Lee is a horrible filmmaker in my opinion but this was actually good the story is about a black man from Harlem married with a daughter falls for a Italian woman the 2 do it one night and try to kindle a relationship despite the racist and stereotypical community they both live. the mans brother a crack addict constantly asking for money is hated by his supposed religious dad and loved by his mom but he can never get clean. and a heartbroken Italian dude falls for a older black woman the movie works at showing racial struggles and how color plays a huge role even in the 80s and it shows a clear message of not letting someone get away from you if could haunt you forever however by a hour and 40 minutes into the movie the ending begins to be half assed and the movies horrible disappointing ending defeated the purpose of the whole movie regardless pretty good
August 20, 2014
My favorite Spike movie so far. Wesley Snipes is really good.
½ July 3, 2014
Focused on a forbidden interracial relationship between the two main characters, Jungle fever still remains as one of the most controversial movies of all time and perhaps the first film about a multi-cultural relationship onscreen.
April 23, 2014
well filmed and great performances with a story I found to be less clever than I think it set out to be but some of it was really poignant,interesting,and entertaining.
½ January 26, 2014
Enjoyable for most of its run time but the ending just feels insubstantial.
cigaretteburns
Super Reviewer
December 13, 2013
not porn. DISAPPOINTED.
November 24, 2013
The most powerful, saddest film I have ever seen.
November 17, 2013
I'll have to admit this movie is why I get jungle fever in the first place
October 12, 2013
Even though I outgrew that stupid stereotype (as Julia Stiles put it), I still say Jungle Fever is one of the best Spike Lee movies ever made. Provocative, erotic, powerful, humorous, controversial, and unforgettable. Definitely well-made.
Page 1 of 24