Machete - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Machete Reviews

Page 1 of 440
July 15, 2017
This film is ridiculous. After showing us how to have fun with Grindhouse in Planet Terror..this was a mess. The action was suitably gory and stylistic...as we come to expect from Rodriguez.. but the dialogue is painful. For some reason Rodriguez felt the need to get every character to explain the plot as it moves along...just in case we didn't get it.. Some great bits of silliness (swinging through a window on a guy's intestines was hilarious..) but I just couldn't get into this. This is possibly because it takes itself a little to seriously, unfortunately tipping the scale in the wrong direction.
July 7, 2017
Stupid but enjoyable :) Great cast btw.
½ June 24, 2017
Machete boasts an excellent cast, which does a great job capturing the extremely corny delivery and awful timing that was reminiscent of older action films. In the films effort to recreate the older grindhouse feel, the acting is the one thing that definitely hit that note, but on a gloriously self aware level that worked tremendously. The rest of the film struggles to distance itself from the quality of these older films unintentionally. The camera effects to give off the visual appeal of films of a 20-30 years ago is present in the first 10 minutes, but then quickly evaporates. About 40% of the jokes landed for me, which isn't bad, but certainly not great. The plot feels very stretched and almost muddled at times. Machete is a film that is trying to be so bad it's good, and it almost makes that level, but unfortunately it shoots itself in the foot several times, and the end product is less than what I hoped for
June 23, 2017
This was a fun movie, I really liked it.
½ May 16, 2017
Ok film but it`s very forgettable.
April 25, 2017
Machete may be tasteless but it is also pretty funny with Robert Rodriguez's style slapped on for additional flavor.
April 10, 2017
I loved this movie for the gratuitously violent exploitation gore fest that it was. This is a revenge driven movie that allows Danny Trejo lead the way through this star studded B movie gore fest complete with political commentary and a whole lot of violent fun
½ April 4, 2017
Machete (Danny Trejo) is a federal officer who is betrayed by a drug dealer (Steven Seagal) who also murders his family. This sends Machete knife-first into an elaborate conspiracy involving a xenophobic US state senator (Robert DeNiro), a conflicted ICE agent (Jessica Alba), a vigilante who kills illegal immigrants (Don Johnson), a "reformed" priest (Cheech Marin), an amateur porn star (Lindsey Lohan), a scummy concierge (Jeff Fahey), and an underground rebel with a heart of gold (Michelle Rodriguez). Co-writer/director Robert Rodriguez stuffs all 109 minutes of Machete with over-the-top violence and ham-fisted political satire. This film is a hot mess, but it's still a damn fun exploitation movie.
March 30, 2017
Machete. Do not mess with! Hahaha! Great stuff.
February 4, 2017
Somehow entertaining... not sure yet why.
January 16, 2017
Love everything about this. An instant classic.
½ January 13, 2017
Machete rocked harder than I ever thought it would. I went in excited and came out fufilled. The plot was really good with the illegal "aliens" into the United States, and the connected crime that were doing everything in their power to keep them out. this movie is flat out Rodriguez, silly, funny and lots of guns but no one ever cover fires. The characters are really used well, except for jessica alba shes a bit annoying. Just go in expecting a good time, not too serious and you'll love it.
December 25, 2016
This was a fun action movie. It literally is a entertaining. Sure there are some plot holes and problems, but it doesn't get in the way of the overall story. I view it as a parody of old action films. Definitely worth a watch in my opinion.
½ November 6, 2016
Machete es un ex agente federal con grandes habilidades para el combate usando, precisamente, un machete. Decide esconderse entre migrantes ilegales para escapar de la traición de un senador corrupto. Una de las creaciones de Robet Rodríguez que juega mucho con este género que mezcla misterio, acción y aventura, con algo de comicidad.,
September 7, 2016
I enjoyed this throwback to grindhouse movies. It's fun, funny, action packed, and worth checking out! I really enjoyed seeing this in the theater, and I enjoy seeing it on blu-ray. It's a cult classic in the making. I wish the sequel could have been as good as this one. Thanks for reading and or viewing, and I hope you have an amazing day as always. :)
½ August 27, 2016
Good action packed movie
August 21, 2016
Damit that's gonna be Good!
½ August 17, 2016
With a lot of talent on display, it's a shame that no one seems to be having as much fun as a machete-laden ball and chain would suggest.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
July 30, 2016
Loved it, It's got everything for a man in this film and it doesn't take it self to serious which is always good, Some good gory action scenes, Worth a watch.
June 18, 2016
Fun and blood and cartoon-ish characters, what's not to like? I have to say I was a little freaked out, with De Niro's character turning out to what Donald Trump is becoming ... #politicalcomment
Page 1 of 440