On Tour (Tournée) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

On Tour (Tournée) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Super Reviewer
½ January 6, 2016
Amalric proves that he is not only a great actor but also an extremely talented director, displaying a lot of confidence and maturity with this hugely involving film that doesn't need any effort to make us empathize with its characters and want to know more about them.
May 20, 2015
On Tour screened in competition at Cannes in 2010and winning best director for
Mathieu Amalric. Even though the film was entertaining and fun to watch this film should have screened out of competition, the film did not offer much of a story to make it more interesting the film is pale compared to all the other films in the competition. The film has charm the female cast were a joy to watch but that was about it just fun and charming but lacks meaning and could have used more interesting characters to make more meaningful.
December 28, 2013
This is nice slow burner but doesnt really go anywhere. BUT the old burlesque stars are an entertaining bunch and the venues are totally sleezy. File under interesting
December 22, 2013
Should you, one day, encounter the opportunity to watch this, don't miss it. And I don't mean only to watch Mathieu Amalric...
September 21, 2013
hm, not so good that I had hoped - loose ends here and there, some nice ideas
May 14, 2013
An interesting story about a show enterpreneur (Joaquim Zand) but more than that a typical loser.
½ October 12, 2012
Véritable ode à la vie, très beau
½ June 4, 2012
Divertida, la recomiendo.
June 1, 2012
Sinänsä kiinnostava asetelma, henkilöt ja tarinakin, mutta jotain teennäistä ja toimimatonta tähän jää kaikesta hyvästä yrityksestä huolimatta.
February 24, 2012
Imagine if Sophia Coppola directed Short Bus, with Mathieu Amalric thrown in for good measure. THAT's why this sparse, ambiguous road movie is so incredibly cold and sexy.
February 1, 2012
"Tournée", des gazettes du dimanche après-midi à la presse spécialisée, tout le monde s'est accordé pour en faire une des oeuvres incontournables de l'année 2011. Et pour moi, "Tournée", c'est juste un truc qui m'avait suffisamment intrigué pour que j'y jette un oeil curieux et qui, au final, m'a gentiment emmerdé. Mais qu'est ce qui me manque, intrinsèquement, pour que je fasse preuve d'une telle indifférence à l'égard de ce soi-disant "coup de génie" de Matthieu Amalric ? Je n'ai rien compris au film ? J'ai la sensibilité d'un galet peint ? Bon, ce n'est pas que ça m'empêche vraiment de dormir mais j'aimerais tout de même savoir à quel endroit la greffe n'a pas prise. Ce n'est en tout cas pas après le Burlesque que j'en ai, bien au contraire : les quelques bouts de numéros présentés sont aussi excentriques et clinquants qu'on pouvait l'espérer et les performeuses (qui forment une véritable troupe au civil) sont sympathiques, attachantes et hyper naturelles, dans tous les sens du terme. Ce décorum bariolé ne fait pourtant que se greffer sur l'objet principal du film, le cheminement de Joachim Zand, joué par Matthieu Amalric, personnage trouble mi-manager mi-margoulin, malhonnête, autodestructeur et fragile tout à la fois, qui semble ne revenir avec sa troupe de showgirls que pour prendre une revanche sur l'existence. Comme il s'agit bien d'une tournée, la voie du road-movie initiatique était toute indiquée et à travers une France qui ne sera que suggérée aux spectateurs comme aux les filles de la troupe, ce sera l'occasion pour le manager de se confronter à une ex, à ses gosses, à son frère ou encore à d'anciens contacts du show-bizz qui n'ont pour point commun que le mépris qu'il leur inspire. Et aussi de tomber amoureux, tiens, ça marche toujours bien dans les parcours initiatiques, ça. Bref, "Tournée" est une histoire classique et un brin conformiste, néanmoins traversée à rebours par quelques moments de grâce, qui tente tant bien que mal de générer une atmosphère interlope de pagaille affective et de flou artistique, de contraintes logistiques et de vie de bohème, afin de plonger le spectateur dans les coulisses bouillonnantes du monde du spectacle. La seule chose dont je sois certain, c'est que je n'y ai pas cru une seule seconde. Et maintenant, amis cinéphiles, que celui qui n'a jamais craché sur un "chef d'oeuvre" me jette la première caillasse.
½ December 21, 2011
superbe film, un énorme hommage à la féminité
October 30, 2011
Amalric really delivers with his first film. This character of the tour's producer is tinged with melancholia and the audience can sense that Amalric, as director, felt a lot of sympathy for him -- and for his girls. These members of a burlesque troupe are very funny, refreshing and wonderfully proud of their body.
The films rambles at times, but this apparent lack of coherence is, indeed, what enables the film to reach a sense of poetry and ephemeral beauty, much like a walkabout on a sea-front under the rain, as it explores the fringes of our society by these modern-day carnivalers and entertainers.
The ending is breathtakingly dynamic, full of despair and joy at the same time.
½ October 3, 2011
Ãtrange objet que ce premier film de Mathieu Amalric. Très intà (C)ressant portrait de père et directeur de tournà (C)e sans lieux communs.
½ October 3, 2011
I'm giving "On Tour" the dreaded 'split grade'. Director/Actor Mathieu Amalric ("Diving Bell and the Butterfly" and "Quantum of Solace") is fantastic, both in front and behind the camera. He fleshes out the only interesting character of the film, and reigns in good performances from his cast. I just wish that the characters they were playing were interesting. When the focus is not on Amalric, and instead falls on his burlesque dancer troupe, the fill falls because the script does nothing to make us care about them. Much like its 'male counterpart' of professional wrestling, unless you care about the behind-the-scenes world of burlesque chances are "On Tour" will do nothing for you. It's billed as a dramedy, but the laughs are few and far between. The drama... it's a bit stale. Still, Amalric's troubles can be interesting at times, and is this films saving grace.
August 6, 2011
Too early to judge, as the film isn't over yet, but I'm worried if it lasts much longer I'll have trouble giving it even the one star...
½ July 30, 2011
Breezy look at an American burlesque troupe and their ex-pat French manager returning to France for a tour, has an almost documentary feel and convincing performances.
½ July 2, 2011
Almaric might deserve some praise for his mise-en-scène, but that's about it. He's not the first guy to discover something sublime in a tacky hotel room. And burlesque is much better live.
½ June 9, 2011
A wonderful road movie with a great cast and some of the coolest cinematography I've seen. Thanks Matt.
Page 1 of 3