Red State - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Red State Reviews

Page 1 of 119
October 18, 2017
would have given it 5 stars if the ending was better.
September 17, 2017
These stars are specifically for Michael Parks. As much as I want to like Kevin Smith (Like I did as a teenager) I just don't see that he's grown as a filmmaker, it still feels like everything he does should be a student film, and in a way they are.
½ August 17, 2017
I like the concept of the movie but execution wasnt there.
½ August 8, 2017
Action? Not really, not much around
Terror? Yep, I was terrified to waste this time of my life watching this movie
If you are thinking about watching it, stop now and go do something more entertaining, like cleaning the bathroom
It bugs me to see such high rates for a movie this bad (+50%)
July 15, 2017
An interesting film and a nice change of pace from Kevin Smith. While there are definitely some genuine comic moments, they are few and far between. Instead there is a mix of genres that somehow seems to work. The film is at first a horror/thriller and totally drew me in. It is dark, frantic and tense.
It soon molds into a siege film, a bit of decent gun play with a little escape excitement thrown in. The film does get a little confused in its delivery but not in its message.
In this world, there are ridiculous reasons which people use to condone evil actions (particularly within religion), and the extent to which they follow these beliefs into actions of violence and terrorism continues to astound me. Kevin Smith does well to endue hatred for the Cooper 'family' early on in the film and Michael Parks, as the head of this group of nutters, is charismatic and passionate, even if it is absolute nonsense that he is preaching. There are loads of recognisable faces in this, taken from pools of talent from both film and TV (Breaking Bad, True Blood). John Goodman is probably the most recognisable of these and does a believable turn as the federal agent charged with taking the Coopers down. It's important to note that the Government are not the good guys here either. They have their share of dark decisions and idiotic actions.
I enjoyed this film....but this level of fanaticism in the name of God is guaranteed to make me angry and so I found this fairly uncomfortable watching.
May 21, 2017
The acting isn't the problem with this liberal wet dream of a fantasy. The writer can't seem to decide whether it's more important to bash make-believe Christians or the Government. It incoherently bounces between the two, creating a mock sense of duality because neither side is protrayed realistically. The cognitive dissoance is deafening. POS so bad that the gratuitous scenes only heighten the inanity.
May 1, 2017
Very good movie! Can't understand why it was overlooked?! John G. best in 10 years.!
April 3, 2017
From director Kevin Smith, more known for his comedies and playing the loveable stoner "silent bob" this was way out of style for him. Red state follows a hate preacher and his parish (loosely based on the west boro baptist church) hunting down "sinners" such as adulterers and gays. This film was a great first horror for kevin smith as it has suspense, action, plenty of gore and was a thrilling rush. A great, crazy film with a simple plot. Promising stuff.
March 29, 2017
not as good as I thought I would be but still enjoyable! Michael Parks was amazing!
March 25, 2017
This is a horrible, horrible movie. I think one star is being generous. I gave it that star only because of the movie's unintentional humor. A plot so preposterous that even the most committed conspiracy theorist would be incredulous; characters so shallowly drawn that they would not serve to hold interest in a comic book.
½ January 22, 2017
This movie was complete failure with unlogicaly boring speaking and movie was boring to watch.
January 18, 2017
This is not a horror movie, although it was miscategorized as one on Comcast, so if you watch it hoping for "scares or thrills" check out a movie in that genre instead. This, however, is an incredibly poignant and engrossing film! Absolutely the best acting and best script I have seen in years! I am SO impressed by Kevin Smith and this entire cast! This is the tragic story of our generation, brutally honest as Kevin Smith shoves a mirror in the ugly and terrifying face of this depraved nation we call America. Bravo!
January 4, 2017
First and foremost, do not assume that because Kevin Smiths name is at the top of this movie that there will be dick and fart jokes strewn throughout the landscape, rest assured they do not (well, only for the first 15 minutes)
If you can move past the politics of this movie, it becomes this cinematic experience where Smith almost dares you to like Parks character.
I did like the weird spin on conventional thriller/drama themes, shot almost Dogma circa 96 style, this little low to no budget movie kept me gripped throughout.
Parks smashes it with long dialogue moments, cruel almost unhuman moments and even batshit crazy suicidal rightousness, Goodman is fantastic as always and nice to see Kevin Pollack crop up too.

If you watch this movie with no prior knowledge of Kevin Smith movies then you will pleasantly surprised at the action, dialogue and the overall Lynch-style gritty lens you're forced to watch this magnificent masterpiece through.

Not Smiths best, but still a monument to independent filmaking at its finest and also a way for Smith to show that deep down, beneath all the podcasts, publicity, tv shows and noise, he is and always will be an exceptional indie filmaker.
½ January 2, 2017
Another leftist hollywood attempt to mischaracterize conservatives and evangelicals as crazed fanatics with violent agendas. They don't realize that it doesn't work because Americans in most states identify with the people Hollywood is trying to smear
December 29, 2016
Starting with 1994s Clerks and ending with 2006s Clerks 2, writer/director Kevin Smith went full circle within his "View Askewniverse" establishing his voice as a filmmaker, creating a series of (loosely) connected films that centered on stoners, convenience stores, malls, platypuses, God and many other subjects all within a comedic blanket. Smith has shown limitations from time to time (2004s Jersey Girl as a primary example) but you could argue that the director has always strived to try different things and push himself (1999s Dogma). Since leaving his established comfort zone, Smith went into a completely different direction with 2011s Red State, a horror film with some nice ideas but never quite finds its own groove. Though this is a new genre for Smith, he shows an understanding of it-playing with tropes, expectations and archetypes-and manages to think up some very uncomfortable situations to watch. Thing is there is simply too much emptiness to it all (which is disappointing as the film is a measly 88 min). The famous Smith quick witted dialogue is on display (performed by the great Michael Parks and John Goodman) but even that becomes stale when there is not much pushing things forward. Too much lingering, too many monologues and trying too much (or little). It is when Smith does the unexpected where Red State truly stands out but even that turns out to be a letdown, very much like the rest of the picture.
December 18, 2016
Kevin Smith's finest achievement. Just when you think you know where its going he takes a sharp right turn.
December 11, 2016
This very well may be the worst film I've ever seen and that's even when considering you only have one handful's worth of characters to even think about rooting for. The film goes out of its way repeatedly to disturb the viewer with grotesque vile with unlikeable characters that were intended to be unlikeable who go out of their way to rear their bigotry and borderline terrorism in your face. John Goodman's character is the most rational character in the bunch despite being very flawed and even self centered. He is even commended his such by other characters at the end of the film. The film's antagonists, primary and secondary unlike, know their actions are corrupt yet want Kyle Gallner's character to help and empathize with them. This all makes for a jumbled mess of a plot that is filled with jarring and creepy storylines that make no sense. To summate everything, this is a film you'd watch only because you did what I did and stumbled upon it without knowing exactly what it is, other than ascertaining based on the "horror" label next to it. After seeing it, you'll know it's a film that is impossible to like because it's impossible to understand.
December 5, 2016
Not for everyone but I love this film. It keeps changing itself up through out the film which can be quite jarring but it's Horror and humor makes it a blast.
½ December 4, 2016
This movie has been called many things: comedy, drama, thriller, action, and horror movie. It is a bit of all of these things, and more.
Kevin Smith is nothing if not daring. After two artistically unsatisfying films back to back ("Cop Out" and "Zack and Miri Make A Porno") he decided to try something that's never been done before. The end result is this (the story of how he managed to get this unsellable film to the public is a fascinating adventure you're better off reading about somewhere else.)
Three horny teens looking for a good time. A sheriff with a secret. An ATF special agent who lets his better judgement be overtaken by orders from the head office and his own personal reasons. And a cult of LGBT hating lunatics who have few believers but a lotta guns all come together one fateful day in a way that will change (or end) their lives forever.
A lot of people like to add "horror" to the list of things this movie is, and others argue there's no "horror" in this at all. Let me tell you: as we are forced, as one of the main teen characters is, to listen in on crazy Pastor Cooper (played by Michael Parks, formerly the best kept secret in Hollywood) sermonizing about how gays aren't human and how "we" must destroy them all, while rationalizing and twisting his Biblical doctrine to suit his own misplaced mentality, is far scarier than some boogeyman jumping out of a shadow yelling "Boo." As for action...let's just say this has what "Cop Out" didn't. There's laughs. There's thrills. And there's stuff to make you think.
In the end, don't worry about what genre this belongs to. Just give it a try.
½ October 20, 2016
I re-watched Red State. The movie unfolds in a small town dominated by a fundamentalist preacher, Abin Cooper. It tells the story of three high school boys who, on their way to an internet arranged meeting with a woman, end up crossing paths with Cooper. The encounter sets into motion a series of events that causes all hell to break loose.
Page 1 of 119