Red State - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Red State Reviews

Page 1 of 118
½ January 22, 2017
This movie was complete failure with unlogicaly boring speaking and movie was boring to watch.
January 18, 2017
This is not a horror movie, although it was miscategorized as one on Comcast, so if you watch it hoping for "scares or thrills" check out a movie in that genre instead. This, however, is an incredibly poignant and engrossing film! Absolutely the best acting and best script I have seen in years! I am SO impressed by Kevin Smith and this entire cast! This is the tragic story of our generation, brutally honest as Kevin Smith shoves a mirror in the ugly and terrifying face of this depraved nation we call America. Bravo!
January 4, 2017
First and foremost, do not assume that because Kevin Smiths name is at the top of this movie that there will be dick and fart jokes strewn throughout the landscape, rest assured they do not (well, only for the first 15 minutes)
If you can move past the politics of this movie, it becomes this cinematic experience where Smith almost dares you to like Parks character.
I did like the weird spin on conventional thriller/drama themes, shot almost Dogma circa 96 style, this little low to no budget movie kept me gripped throughout.
Parks smashes it with long dialogue moments, cruel almost unhuman moments and even batshit crazy suicidal rightousness, Goodman is fantastic as always and nice to see Kevin Pollack crop up too.

If you watch this movie with no prior knowledge of Kevin Smith movies then you will pleasantly surprised at the action, dialogue and the overall Lynch-style gritty lens you're forced to watch this magnificent masterpiece through.

Not Smiths best, but still a monument to independent filmaking at its finest and also a way for Smith to show that deep down, beneath all the podcasts, publicity, tv shows and noise, he is and always will be an exceptional indie filmaker.
½ January 2, 2017
Another leftist hollywood attempt to mischaracterize conservatives and evangelicals as crazed fanatics with violent agendas. They don't realize that it doesn't work because Americans in most states identify with the people Hollywood is trying to smear
December 29, 2016
Starting with 1994s Clerks and ending with 2006s Clerks 2, writer/director Kevin Smith went full circle within his "View Askewniverse" establishing his voice as a filmmaker, creating a series of (loosely) connected films that centered on stoners, convenience stores, malls, platypuses, God and many other subjects all within a comedic blanket. Smith has shown limitations from time to time (2004s Jersey Girl as a primary example) but you could argue that the director has always strived to try different things and push himself (1999s Dogma). Since leaving his established comfort zone, Smith went into a completely different direction with 2011s Red State, a horror film with some nice ideas but never quite finds its own groove. Though this is a new genre for Smith, he shows an understanding of it-playing with tropes, expectations and archetypes-and manages to think up some very uncomfortable situations to watch. Thing is there is simply too much emptiness to it all (which is disappointing as the film is a measly 88 min). The famous Smith quick witted dialogue is on display (performed by the great Michael Parks and John Goodman) but even that becomes stale when there is not much pushing things forward. Too much lingering, too many monologues and trying too much (or little). It is when Smith does the unexpected where Red State truly stands out but even that turns out to be a letdown, very much like the rest of the picture.
December 18, 2016
Kevin Smith's finest achievement. Just when you think you know where its going he takes a sharp right turn.
December 11, 2016
This very well may be the worst film I've ever seen and that's even when considering you only have one handful's worth of characters to even think about rooting for. The film goes out of its way repeatedly to disturb the viewer with grotesque vile with unlikeable characters that were intended to be unlikeable who go out of their way to rear their bigotry and borderline terrorism in your face. John Goodman's character is the most rational character in the bunch despite being very flawed and even self centered. He is even commended his such by other characters at the end of the film. The film's antagonists, primary and secondary unlike, know their actions are corrupt yet want Kyle Gallner's character to help and empathize with them. This all makes for a jumbled mess of a plot that is filled with jarring and creepy storylines that make no sense. To summate everything, this is a film you'd watch only because you did what I did and stumbled upon it without knowing exactly what it is, other than ascertaining based on the "horror" label next to it. After seeing it, you'll know it's a film that is impossible to like because it's impossible to understand.
December 5, 2016
Not for everyone but I love this film. It keeps changing itself up through out the film which can be quite jarring but it's Horror and humor makes it a blast.
½ December 4, 2016
This movie has been called many things: comedy, drama, thriller, action, and horror movie. It is a bit of all of these things, and more.
Kevin Smith is nothing if not daring. After two artistically unsatisfying films back to back ("Cop Out" and "Zack and Miri Make A Porno") he decided to try something that's never been done before. The end result is this (the story of how he managed to get this unsellable film to the public is a fascinating adventure you're better off reading about somewhere else.)
Three horny teens looking for a good time. A sheriff with a secret. An ATF special agent who lets his better judgement be overtaken by orders from the head office and his own personal reasons. And a cult of LGBT hating lunatics who have few believers but a lotta guns all come together one fateful day in a way that will change (or end) their lives forever.
A lot of people like to add "horror" to the list of things this movie is, and others argue there's no "horror" in this at all. Let me tell you: as we are forced, as one of the main teen characters is, to listen in on crazy Pastor Cooper (played by Michael Parks, formerly the best kept secret in Hollywood) sermonizing about how gays aren't human and how "we" must destroy them all, while rationalizing and twisting his Biblical doctrine to suit his own misplaced mentality, is far scarier than some boogeyman jumping out of a shadow yelling "Boo." As for action...let's just say this has what "Cop Out" didn't. There's laughs. There's thrills. And there's stuff to make you think.
In the end, don't worry about what genre this belongs to. Just give it a try.
½ October 20, 2016
I re-watched Red State. The movie unfolds in a small town dominated by a fundamentalist preacher, Abin Cooper. It tells the story of three high school boys who, on their way to an internet arranged meeting with a woman, end up crossing paths with Cooper. The encounter sets into motion a series of events that causes all hell to break loose.
September 26, 2016
I was never really a fan of Kevin Smith. But I have to say both Red State and Tusk turned me around on that. Can't wait for Yoga Hosers.
June 9, 2016
A big break from what you expect from Kevin Smith... This delivers a shot to the front of your dome. A Satire of the far right fundamentalists, while giving equal measure to corruptible nature of a government without checks and balances.

My only understanding as to why this has been rated so low is because it offends the religious right and the liberal left at the same time.

The score is haunting and the entire film has a very dark tone, we've seen Kevin doing comedy, we've even seen some drama. But this I think was something completely new from him. If it didn't have his name all over it, I'd swear it was from Quentin Tarantino. The hyper-violent nature, the fact that everyone is corruptible, the fact that noone is safe... It was fucking beautiful.

And I just looked this up, it was number 8 on QT's list of films of 2011.

Been doing a bit of a Kevin Smith "Binge" and this certainly was jarring and different from his other works. Well done good sir, well done.
Super Reviewer
½ May 15, 2016
Disturbing, but predictable.
½ May 14, 2016
Damn, unpredictable and wild as hell. The best cult related movie I've ever seen.
½ May 6, 2016
This is not meant to be a 'horror' movie. Much deeper than that. In the current political climate this is especially good. By being especially horrible. Turn your brain on and watch this good flic.
½ April 30, 2016
This was pathetic. I made it about 15 minutes in. It just could not hold my interest. The writing and directing sucks.
April 23, 2016
Kevin Smith sort de sa zone de confort et livre un bon film!
April 8, 2016
Okay, let's get something straight. There are ways to write a metaphorical piece of art, and there are bad ways to. Animal Farm for example, is a metaphor for communism and it works. Why? Because it gives you interesting characters and most important, it never takes time to stop and say, "Hey guys this is just like communism." Red State does.

At one point in the movie a teacher references the Westboro Baptist Church, the obvious inspiration for this movie, and says in affect, "Yah those guys are bad, but not as bad as these guys." That's not how you do a metaphor. You can't compare the thing you're trying to write about with your fictional work and make it seem thought provoking and intriguing. It would be like making a movie where the plot was an allegory for the Holocaust and then having a person in the middle of it say, "Wow, this is just like the Holocaust only worse." That's bad script writing.

The movie does have some strong character acting in it, and the stuff with the government agents is a much better allegory for the government's bumbling of the Waco Texas disaster. That being said, it's not enough to save the film as a whole.
April 5, 2016
Deceptively Clever, Evocative, & Incredibly Radical. Wasn't Sure What To Expect From Kevin Smith Here, But It Certaintly Is Waaaay Way Off His Usual Tangent, & I Kinda Liked It. For Such A Low Budget (4-Million) It Still Carrys Some Big Name Headliners To Pack A Real Strong Punch. It Ain't Content Many Will Stomach, But Some Stories Ain't Real Pretty. It Is Cleverly Explored With Some Real Insights To Politics Vs Religion & Morality.
March 29, 2016
underrated great movie
Page 1 of 118