Son of Rambow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Son of Rambow Reviews

Page 1 of 221
July 12, 2016
Warm, witty and nostalgic coming of age movie set in the 80s. Doesn't exactly paint the Plymouth Brethren in the best of lights however...
March 9, 2016
Good, silly, British fun. Not exactly a side-splitter but has enough nice touches to lift the spirits.
½ September 27, 2015
Sorry, but I really didn't get the attraction towards this. It seemed childish, amateur and almost over the top, tongue in cheek.
September 12, 2015
I didn't really want to see this but I ended up having to with people I knew. I was expecting a naff, forgettable movie but was surprised by how good it actually is. It's a coming-of-age movie and... well I'm not really sure how to review it. My credits go to the things it does well in the story which I'm obviously not going to give away. So, just watch it if you're looking for a subtle movie with good messages to appreciate.
March 10, 2015
Not as comical as I suspected. Its actually a coming of age story about a couple kids making a movie.

The film can get off track at times but when those moments come along, they are great.

Not perfect, but worth a watch
February 15, 2015
A lovable, heartwarming film about two boys, wonderfully portrayed by Milner and Poulter, who share a dream of making a film, with Rambo as their inspiration.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A well made english flick about some kids making their own movie. The young audience will love it but adults will find some value in this movie aswell. Great acting from the kids along with some fun scenes and dangerous stunts. A good family movie overall.
December 30, 2014
As a nostalgia piece, SON OF RAMBOW hits on all cylinders. As a coming-of-age story, it's cute but predictable. Director Garth Jennings has created an homage to growing up in the 80's, replete with neon clothing, an effeminately hip exchange student, and more frizzy do's than you can shake a hair crimper at. Joshua (Neil Dudgeon) and Will (Bill Milner) form the story's adolescent Odd Couple; like most child actors, their performances were uneven, but they do occasionally grab you with little moments of brilliance.
½ September 7, 2014
If you grew up in the 80's and loved Rambo you will love this film. Its doesn't all work but it has charm and its endearing and it makes you want to see Rambo again.
½ August 29, 2014
This is a great movie to watch with kids, much better than the typical hollywood movies for boys/teens. It was funny, enjoyable, and with a lot of interesting and important themes to discuss with tweens.
July 13, 2014
Saw this looooonngg time ago. I remember liking it
½ May 31, 2014
I didn't expect to like this movie but it was actually quite decent. A really simple idea for a storyline but worked so well.
May 7, 2014
Endearing if flawed, but a charming movie.
April 15, 2014
Adorable and wonderful.
½ April 11, 2014
Awesome, funny, creative, intense, raw honest coming of age movie
½ March 4, 2014
Great story about two boys who make a homemade rambo movie. The middle gets quite slow but the ending makes it all worth it. Will Poulter is great in this movie
February 20, 2014
Will Poulter is AMAZING xxxâ(TM)¡â(TM)¡â(TM)¡â(TM)¥â(TM)¥â(TM)¥â(TM)¥
January 26, 2014
Enjoyable and memorable movie :D
January 3, 2014
this looks pretty cute!
December 28, 2013
When a tough kid who gets in trouble all the time forces a shy kid from the Bretheren to watch Rambo, the two become friends and work on filming an unofficial sequel which the title Son of Rambow, for a competition. A half hearted love letter to movies and childish imagination, there are perhaps too many themes tackled in the film that the screenplay frustratingly does not take enough time to explore. In the end, it's really an average feel good film and a waste of a good idea.
Page 1 of 221