Wild Things - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Wild Things Reviews

Page 1 of 140
December 4, 2016
What's most annoying about this movie is that it thinks it's clever, perhaps too clever for the audience, when, in fact, it's stupid and unbelievable. The shame is that without the we're-cleverer-than-you attitude, in other words, without the silly last third, and with a little brain power behind it, this could have been an interesting film that satisfies, rather than an intriguing first two thirds and a stupid last part.
½ December 4, 2016
Unconvincingly over the top from time to time, but most definitely quirky and entertaining. Quality camerawork makes it all extra enjoyable.
Super Reviewer
½ October 30, 2016
Wild Things is simply amazing. Inside the raunchy surface, there is a really complex story with lots of twists within. I don't think I've seen a film with more twists than Wild Things. Though the story was not as clever as, say, the Sixth Sense. It was fun and cheeky.

The acting was pretty great from everyone, especially loved Richards and Campbell playing bad girls. Normally I don't like a film to be too raunchy, but Wild Things needed that erotic push to make it truly great. No spoilers please!
½ October 25, 2016
I have to admit, I decided to watch this just because of Denise and Neve - what I was surprised by was the fact that this was a satisfying murder mystery and detective movie... it was worth watching,
October 17, 2016
A salacious piece of adult entertainment brewing with overplayed eroctism, far-fetched story machinations and an ostentatious menace.
½ July 22, 2016
A bizarre thriller with terrific twists, good plot and a talented cast.
April 2, 2016
It started out making the right moves. But then the moves became predictable
March 23, 2016
Just a wild, steamy 90's classic.
March 10, 2016
Great one , lots of changing plots at the ending ...the girls look exotic sexy ! Good story . Fine job Boys & Girls ! SOMDVD
½ March 6, 2016
The first few scenes were excruciating but, once accustomed to the pain, I enjoyed it immensely.
½ December 19, 2015
"Wild Things" is Southern melodrama with a taste for the soft core, a piece of fattening garbage fitted with whodunit twistings and film noir undercurrents. It is a steamy, diabolical exploitation movie with a lot in common with "Basic Instinct" and "Body Heat," sexually aggressive thrillers whose erotic characteristics seem to tie in with the more violent things in life.
"Wild Things" isn't high entertainment, no, but it has a way with drawing us into its potboiler world of deceit and carnal sweat - it's trash good enough to trick us into thinking that it isn't such. Without its many scenes of Vaseline-on-the-camera, slow-motion, sexy-time fuckery, I imagine it would be more highly regarded as something better than what they play on Showtime after hours. Because, skin flashes aside, this is a credible, involving neo-noir smarter than any middle schooler would have you believe.
Matt Dillon portrays Sam Lombardo, a high school guidance counselor living on the wealthier side of Florida. He's a recent winner of the area's "Teacher of the Year" award, with most of the female student body dramatizing their troubles in order to get closer to him; the staff sees him as one of their finest. But he's rather oblivious to the romantic attention that surrounds his persona. Hapless is he to his appeal.
Unexpected to him, though, is the downturn his career is about to take. After taking up the slinky Kelly Van Ryan's (Denise Richards) offer to wash his car for charity, he finds himself perplexed that the girl, the most attractive and rich in town, has told the police that he raped her, due to his rebuffing of her come-ons. So he finds himself in the middle of a high-profile lawsuit, only made worse when trailer trash Suzie (Neve Campbell) imitates Kelly's claims and lands him in even hotter water. Local cop Ray Duquette (Kevin Bacon) has an underlying feeling that something is afoot, and without giving away the film's many breathtaking plot twists, he's right.
The further I traveled into the dark depths of "Wild Things," the more I found myself frustrated that it has been billed as a sort of quasi-porno for the Skinemax crowd since its release, just for what comes down to about maybe five or six minutes of hot and heavy make out sessions, pre-sex interludes. What's been ignored in the last two decades or so, thanks to scummy man-children who handle sexuality in film like a dog acts around a hamburger, is an ingeniously plotted thriller that would make Brian De Palma proud.
I can partially blame the director, John McNaughton, for "Wild Things's" rampant reputation. The film certainly doesn't need to be so sexual, and there's a feeling that he knew simple minded audiences might have trouble staying with such a complicated plot - after all, it's more reliant on dialogue, on intrigue, than most thrillers. Unfortunately, sex sells, and "Wild Things" feels a lot cheaper than it actually is because it squeezes in gratuities for the sake of public attention.
But there's much to like here, and I found great enjoyment devouring the many tricks the film has up its sleeves. It's like "Peyton Place," just set in Florida and drowned in a lot more dirt. Dillon makes for an enigmatic anti-hero, and Bacon gets to chew a lot of scenery as the straight-laced cop. I particularly relished Richards and Campbell, who bring the film to deliriously outrageous levels with their lethal combination of wickedness and sultriness. Bill Murray stops by with a hilarious supporting turn as a slimy lawyer.
"Wild Things" pushes boundaries left and right, making it more intent on shocking than it is on being confident enough to let its storyline speak for itself. The sexual elements are problematic, but the knowing atmosphere, combined with the breathy punches of the plot, turns it into a special, scrumptious little B-movie treat.
December 14, 2015
Surprising at all times, you do not know what to believe or that moment to end. very good.
½ December 5, 2015
This movie is hard to follow and at most mildly entertaining.
November 20, 2015
This was a taut thriller that feature women in the starring roles so ahead of its time I smell remake
September 25, 2015
Bratty Denise Richards and trashy Neve Campbell accuse high school counsellor (and Blue Bay Educator of the Year) of rape in a complicated plot ultimately designed to defraud rich socialite. Excellent cast notable for Bill Murray's turn as the ambulance chasing lawyer and Richards' finest hour. Contains a slew of plot twists without destroying itself in the process.
September 16, 2015
Denise Richards sucks as an actress, even though she was hot! Still looks like it's a steamy erotic thriller with a decent cast.
August 9, 2015
The plot groes more convoluted and less credible as the movie goes along. The finale is one big "What the fuck?!"
August 3, 2015
78%
Saw this on 2/8/15
Wild Things has a lot of genuine unpredictable twists and a few enforced and misplaced ones, however, on the whole, I liked the finished product, especially the way in which they brought everything to light in the end. Director John McNaughton does a considerable job with what he is provided with and as far as the acting is concerned, only Bill Murray shines with his comic timing. Wild things remains better than most of the rest of the erotic thrillers.
½ July 23, 2015
loads of twists in this worth seeing.
½ July 11, 2015
It was a great movie to rent back in the day.
Page 1 of 140