The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 Episode 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 Episode 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Kelechi Ehenulo
Set the Tape
July 17, 2020

Emotionally, 'Other Women' brings June's (Elisabeth Moss) escape from Gilead full circle in a shocking and jaw-dropping conclusion.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Alex Casey
The Spinoff
January 14, 2019

It's a testament to the show that they can make melodramatic affair confrontations land with as much of a wallop as someone cutting their own ear off.

Izetta Nicole
Black Nerd Problems
June 25, 2018

June is gone. The other woman, Offred is here to stay.

Julia Raeside
Guardian
Top Critic
June 25, 2018

Although the violence is kept to a minimum, this week's episode is harrowing for a different reason as June loses the fight to keep her identity and appears to surrender to Offred.

Hoai-Tran Bui
Slashfilm
May 25, 2018

That separation between June and Offred is no longer a defense mechanism for June to hide her true feelings as a means of survival, it's full-on disassociation.

Andrea Thompson
The Young Folks
May 16, 2018

The Handmaid's Tale could never be called upbeat, but it goes to a truly dark place in the episode "Other Women."

Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Genevieve Valentine
New York Times
Top Critic
May 9, 2018

Aunt Lydia, the engine behind so much of their pain, is in her element this episode as June's self-appointed keeper.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
May 9, 2018

It's so agitating that being back in the world of Commanders and the overwhelming number of Praise Bes dribbling out of the lips of Gileadeans that it was enough to drive this sane woman halfway crazy herself.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.75/5
Amy Glynn
Paste Magazine
May 9, 2018

"Other Women" is a very, very complicated episode, though its beginning is straightforward. Here is where we get into the very heart of Margaret Atwood's sweet spot: power dynamics between women.

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
David Canfield
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
May 9, 2018

The Handmaid's Tale is rarely so content, to just push through the necessary plot points without any added artistry or complexity. Indeed, this week provides some vital character work.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Allison Shoemaker
AV Club
Top Critic
May 9, 2018

In this moment, it's impossible to imagine another hour of The Handmaid's Tale doing more to show how ruthlessly our most human instincts can be turned against us.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Constance Grady
Vox
Top Critic
May 9, 2018

The tone this episode hits makes me think that the show has found a sustainable aesthetic mode in which to figure out the rest of its issues. As long as it keeps landing the horror, I'll stick around for the ride.

Christopher Hooton
Independent (UK)
Top Critic
May 9, 2018

Serena's become a fascinating character and I'm desperate to know what makes her tick; hopefully we'll get some more flashbacks that flesh out her back-story this season.

Hillary Kelly
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
May 9, 2018

What worries me more is that this episode only feels so shallow because we've grown too used to the torture and gore. But where do we go from here?

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Elena Nicolaou
Refinery29
May 9, 2018

I wonder if aunts get a commission per successful baby delivered.

Page 1 of 1