Commando - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Commando Reviews

Page 1 of 303
½ April 4, 2017
One of the best so bad it's good action pictures of the 80s.
March 28, 2017
The definition of action cheese is commando watch this hysterical movie as soon as possible.
½ March 25, 2017
Arnold should be ashamed with this movie.
Super Reviewer
March 18, 2017
A typical Arnie film. It has everything, the cheesy one-liners, the over the top action and everything that showed to the world that Arnie was just getting started as an action star, before the Terminator 2 juggernaut came along.
March 5, 2017
3 out of 5, but a strong 3 at that. This is highly amusing and entertained me throughout, but I blatantly found enjoyment out of things that weren't intended to appeal. This is set out to be an action packed adventure where Arnie goes on a one man mission to rescue his daughter from the arms of a Latin American dictator, who's intent on blackmailing him to carry out an assassination. Naturally, it's mission impossible, unless you're former Mr Universe cast in a vast number of scenario's which push the boundaries of reality to a ridiculous level. I mean I lost count of the number of bullets that were fired at him from near enough point blank rage, yet never was any damage inflicted. These foot soldiers must be the worst ever. Everything was dramatized into several slow motion clips that see classic dives to avoid explosions, and last minute dodging of closely fought knife combat. It was such legendary 80's cheese, and hence it was a bit of a joke, but harmlessly done. You just have to look back and appreciate that special effects were limited back then, and what can now be perceived as humorous in modern day, was actually a quality production back then. You couldn't even take the villains seriously with their porn star moustaches and vest tops, but at least everything was consistent in the sense that it was major cringe. This film only vaguely rang bells before I came across it, so clearly not one of Arnie's more notable releases, but then again other than Terminator, what is? I'm glad I've seen it, and it would be wrong to slate it completely as I was gripped to it throughout, but just for all the wrong reasons.
February 4, 2017
Highly entertaining '80s shoot-'em-up action movie.
January 24, 2017
My love for Commando probably partly stems from nostalgia from my childhood love of all things Arnold. But I have watched the film twice now in the past three years and still enjoy it to no end. Super-violent, rather cheesy, and all bas-ass, Commando is a must for fans of 80s action films.
½ January 3, 2017
Commando is known as one of the best 80īs action flicks that will make you smile in the end. Shove popcorn in your face and have fun!!
November 21, 2016
even with some cliches commando is a good action movie that has perfectly over the top action scenes
November 15, 2016
deserves 3, most shoot em up films can be stupid but this is a good schwarzenegger entry and one of his best and good story line. In some circumstances it stands out from other typical shoot em up films. the battle scenes or when people get shot may look cheesy but this is not a terrible film, it is memorable.
October 7, 2016
A retired Special Forces officer, Colonel John Matrix (played by Arnold Schwarzenegger), is living the quiet life. He is happily spending his time in a remote country house where he dotes on his daughter, Jenny (Alyssa Milano). However, some mercenaries, former colleagues of his, have other plans. They kidnap Jenny and give Matrix an ultimatum - assassinate a central American leader or they will kill Jenny. Matrix has other ideas.

Incredibly weak and one-dimensional, i.e. your typical Arnie movie. Lame plot: every scene is just a set up for another action sequence. Any character depth or development is token - the scenes where Matrix interacts with his daughter are cringingly lame and superficial.

Then, of course, there's the acting, especially Arnie's. He's not there for his acting ability, and it shows. Alyssa Milano, only 12/13 years old at the time, puts in an okayish performance though. Dan Hedaya is badly miscast as the head villain - the role was beneath him and he really deserves better.

Only worth watching if you've never seen an explosion or a fight before.
½ September 18, 2016
This movie is amazingly fucking corny, loaded with all the bad one-liners that we associate with the action genre, but I really enjoyed this on a recent re-watch to break in a Blu-ray Steelbook.

Definitely worth another look if you have even a passing interest in the action fare of the 80's.
September 8, 2016
Retired Delta Force operator Colonel John Matrix (Arnold Schwarzenegger) is informed by his former superior Major General Franklin Kirby (James Olson) that all the other members of his former unit have been killed by unknown mercenaries. The mercenaries, among them Bennett (Vernon Wells), an Australian ex-member of Matrix's team fired for overt brutality in service, attack Matrix's secluded mountain home and kidnap Matrix's young daughter Jenny (Alyssa Milano). While trying to intercept them, Matrix is also overpowered and abducted by the mercenaries. He is taken before their leader, Arius (Dan Hedaya), a South American former dictator who needs Matrix to carry out a political assassination in his home country of Val Verde, where Arius wishes to lead a military coup. Matrix previously led a United States-backed revolution that deposed Arius, who has chosen Matrix because the new US-puppet president trusts him implicitly. With Jenny's life on the line, Matrix reluctantly accepts the demand...

Mark L. Lester's "Commando" has everything what an 80īs macho action movie should contain of. Gun battles, fist fights, offensive structure, one-liners ("Remember when I said I'd kill you last? I lied,"), a wishy washy plot and a high body count. "Commando" was produced just when Arnold Schwarzenegger was beginning to get that actionhero status and when he could pull of one liners and get away with it. I like the 80īs vibe, the latinamerican soundtrack that is played throughout the movie, the mindless and non-realistic action, the sometimes poor action sequences when you see model buildings explode and the great casting of Arnold Schwarzenegger, Vernon Wells, Dan Hedaya, the lovely Rae Dawn Chong, David Patrick Kelly, Bill Duke and the cute Alyssa Milano. "Commando" is pure nostalgia for us who were teenagers in the 80īs and yes thereīs plenty of flaws and logic holes in the film, but you sort of expect it and embrace it. Trivia: In 1986, a sequel was written by Steven E. de Souza, and revised by Frank Darabont, with an eye to having John McTiernan direct. The script was based on the book 'Nothing Lasts Forever' (1979) by Roderick Thorp, but Schwarzenegger wasn't interested in reprising the role. The script was then reworked with a new central character, eventually played by Bruce Willis, and became Die Hard (1988). The plot of the abandoned sequel would had seen Matrix being hired by a big corporation to oversee their security to protect their executives from being kidnapped. To stop people breaking into their building and to make sure their computers are secure. So he sets it up and hires the most dangerous people to be guards in the building and then lo and behold - he discovers the people he's working for are in the illegal arms business and the big corporation is a simply a front. The end of the movie would see Jenny and Cindy, who is now a lawyer, trapped in the building and Matrix now has to defeat all the people he hired - all the meanest, toughest guards - as well as the security systems, the guard dogs, everything.
½ August 30, 2016
A very tongue in cheek film. It's ridiculous and over-the-top. I understand it was made for action junkies, but couldn't it added more substance into its story? Arnold Schwarzenegger's character, John Matrix, is too overpowered which makes me feel less worried about him getting killed. I give "Commando" props for some of its funny one-liners, but other than that, just another less than generic action flick.
August 17, 2016
great perfect in every way,


there is a scene wear he kills people with random stuff he finds in a shed


great movie
August 17, 2016
The icon of 80s gun porn action flicks.
August 3, 2016
In many ways, it is the perfect action flick. It is a race against time. It has an excellent homoerotic villian in Bennett and superb henchmen like Sully. It has memorable one-liners "let off some steam". The body count is higher than WWII.
½ June 28, 2016
Schwarzenegger's version of Rambo. During the height of the Schwarzenegger/Stallone rivalry, Arnold made Commando, an in your face assault on Rambo. Who is more rip, bigger guns, (both arms and weapons) over the top action, and pure muscle pushes each actor to out do the other, which results in the making of Commando, which is so bad it's good. Cheesy story, with non awarding winning acting is mixed with insane action, muscles, and Dark Humor makes Commando fun to watch. Funny with one liners like " I eat Green Berets for breakfast and I'm hungry" , "He's dead tired", "Let off some steam Bennet" are classics for anyone who has seen Commando. Watch it, live it and love it..... 3 and half stars!
½ June 27, 2016
Retired colonel's daughter is kidnapped and he goes to save her. Great action with cheesy dialogue.
May 30, 2016
Schwarzenegger, while not the greatest actor, is such a lovable on screen presence, making him the perfect person to heroically shoot, punch, and blow up his way through this popcorn flick.
Page 1 of 303