Commando - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Commando Reviews

Page 1 of 303
September 3, 2017
A classic 80s Arnie "leave-to-to-me-&-I'll-kill-the-baddies" action. Not sure there's more plot than that... It's fast, doesn't waste much time and has gun battles & explosions a plenty. Perfect for Schwarznegger.
August 7, 2017
This is probably one of my favorite Arnold Schwarzenegger movies. Even though in most categories it's just stupid logic, it's really stupid in a FUN and even GOOD way.
July 19, 2017
Lot of action. Lot of people shot. Interesting but on the lame side.
July 18, 2017
A true 80's action classic that doesnt go out of style. Is this a groundbreaking, soul drenching motion picture masterpiece? NO!
This is a straight up 80's action movie, full of the cheesiest one liners that cracks me up everytime I watch it...and I LOVE it!
Arnold is fantastic in this over the top action film that you can feel is trying to be somewhat serious but just can't get there due to the one liners and the directors use of making Arnold seem like a real live ''HE MAN''.
Everything our hero does and says in this movie is so funny as Arnold delivers it with such deadpan humour that you as the viewer can tell is really unintentional.
This really is such a classic in the action genre that I feel to this day has not been replicated. It's the sort of movie where your hero has 1000 bullets flying at him and not one hits. And because it's Arnold it just makes sense. It truly is an action masterpiece and I feel worhty of a top 3 spot in the 80's action genre.
½ July 6, 2017
I consider this the most Arnold of all Arnold Schwarzenegger action films, meaning it's a wildly cartoony 1980s style action film. However, if you actually take a close look at Arnold's filmography, he really did not make very many of these types of these overblown actions films that Stallone seemed to endlessly make. Arnold was just coming off his massive success with "The Terminator" (this film does have Arnold say "F- you, a-hole." and "I'll be back.") and he no longer had to swing a sword and wear a loincloth to earn his paycheck. In this film he plays John Matrix, a retired special forces commando who's daughter (Alyssa Milano) is kidnapped by South American despot, the great (and badly miscast), Dan Hedaya, so he can blackmail Arnold into working for him. Also working for Hedaya is the terrifically smarmy David Patrick Kelly and Vernon "The Road Warrior" Wells as a former commando buddy of Arnold's who's now changed sides. The film was written by Steven E. de Souza, who's 80s action films were always complete comic book fantasies and never made any attempt at realism. He also was probably the worst offender of cheesy one liners after someone is killed or injured by the film's hero. One line from this film, "Let off some steam." is probably my all-time favorite bad one-liner in an action film. Another action film cliche is mis-matched partners, which in this film is Arnold being helped by airline stewardess Rae Dawn Chong, who actually does a very good job of being funny and charming and more of a real person trapped in an overblown action film. You also get Bill Duke as a thug, and very small early role for Chelsea Field and Bill Paxton. Produced by Joel Silver ("Lethal Weapon," "Die Hard," "The Matrix," etc.), photographed by Matthew F. Leonetti ("Red Heat," "Strange Days," "Dawn of the Dead"), and edited by Mark Goldblatt ("Rambo: First Blood Park II," "The Terminator 1 & 2," "The Last Boy Scout"), this film has quite an action film pedigree that's hard to beat. You also get a classic muscular 80s style score from composer James Horner, who first cut his teeth in the business composing scores for action, horror, and sci-fi films, and later went on to work on more prestige of projects like "Field of Dreams," "Titanic," "Braveheart," "Apollo 13," and "Glory." If I'm not mistaken, I think I've heard this score re-used in a number of Hong Kong action films. I think my main complaint about this film is that director Mark L. Lester does not really bring a lot to the picture. The action is lacking any kind of excitement or suspense. There are some good hand-to-hand fight sequences, but I think that's more to the credit of the fight choreographers than Lester. I will give Lester credit for some ironic laughs, such as Arnold's initial reveal, which is done by a close-up shot of big boots, a close-up of a big chainsaw, a close-up of a big bicep, back to the boots again, and then the other big bicep, and finally Arnold's big head carrying a big log on his shoulder. I was also amused by a charmingly dated pre-cell phone scene where a David Patrick Kelly has to steal a quarter and race to a phone booth to make a call before before Arnold can stop him. Overall, this is a complete cheesy action film, but Arnold is good in the lead and outside of bland direction is a well crafted action film.
July 2, 2017
Don't make them like this anymore!
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ June 30, 2017
Classic Arnold here, Full of Awful but great cheesy lines, Strong bloody violence and the whole save my daughter from the bad guy plot, It's so predictable we are waiting for Arnie to kill the bad guy so we can hear the next one liner, Yes the acting was pretty bad but you got to love that the plot was so simply explained we had time to enjoy the mindless action without wondering what's happening, Any action fan should watch this as it's a must see for every growing boy.
June 18, 2017
I've said it before and I will say again.
Sometimes you want to watch a movie with very little thought required and simply be 'blown' away.
Well this film delivers for both attributes and damn is it good!
Plenty of cheesy 1980s action here. Plenty of bone crunching, arm decapitation, explosive, ammunition required action.
It basically and I say that in the most loosest term follows the story of a retired U.S. army Colonel Matrix (Arnold Schwarzenegger) living peacefully with his 10 year old daughter vowing never to return to his old army life.
However the peace is broken one day when Matrix is warned that a Latin American dictator is killing members of Matrix unit one by one and Matrix could be next! Hence the requirement for two quite frankly useless armed gaurds.
Literally two minutes after the warning terrorists arrive on the scene to hunt down Matrix however not to kill him..yet.
They want to capture him and use his special army skills whilst using the kidnapping of his beloved daughter as security.
Here is where all hell breaks loose as Matrix uses his skills to escape capture and rescue his daughter using the help of some random woman on the way.
The action scenes are surprisingly well executed.
Schwarzenegger is at his mid 80s muscle bound prime before his foray into politics and man boobs.
The obligatory line 'I'll be back' is sneaked into the script.
All in all a great film.
½ June 2, 2017
arnie at his action best
May 31, 2017
Best Movie of all time!
½ April 4, 2017
One of the best so bad it's good action pictures of the 80s.
March 28, 2017
The definition of action cheese is commando watch this hysterical movie as soon as possible.
½ March 25, 2017
Arnold should be ashamed with this movie.
Super Reviewer
March 18, 2017
A typical Arnie film. It has everything, the cheesy one-liners, the over the top action and everything that showed to the world that Arnie was just getting started as an action star, before the Terminator 2 juggernaut came along.
March 5, 2017
3 out of 5, but a strong 3 at that. This is highly amusing and entertained me throughout, but I blatantly found enjoyment out of things that weren't intended to appeal. This is set out to be an action packed adventure where Arnie goes on a one man mission to rescue his daughter from the arms of a Latin American dictator, who's intent on blackmailing him to carry out an assassination. Naturally, it's mission impossible, unless you're former Mr Universe cast in a vast number of scenario's which push the boundaries of reality to a ridiculous level. I mean I lost count of the number of bullets that were fired at him from near enough point blank rage, yet never was any damage inflicted. These foot soldiers must be the worst ever. Everything was dramatized into several slow motion clips that see classic dives to avoid explosions, and last minute dodging of closely fought knife combat. It was such legendary 80's cheese, and hence it was a bit of a joke, but harmlessly done. You just have to look back and appreciate that special effects were limited back then, and what can now be perceived as humorous in modern day, was actually a quality production back then. You couldn't even take the villains seriously with their porn star moustaches and vest tops, but at least everything was consistent in the sense that it was major cringe. This film only vaguely rang bells before I came across it, so clearly not one of Arnie's more notable releases, but then again other than Terminator, what is? I'm glad I've seen it, and it would be wrong to slate it completely as I was gripped to it throughout, but just for all the wrong reasons.
February 4, 2017
Highly entertaining '80s shoot-'em-up action movie.
January 24, 2017
My love for Commando probably partly stems from nostalgia from my childhood love of all things Arnold. But I have watched the film twice now in the past three years and still enjoy it to no end. Super-violent, rather cheesy, and all bas-ass, Commando is a must for fans of 80s action films.
½ January 3, 2017
Commando is known as one of the best 80īs action flicks that will make you smile in the end. Shove popcorn in your face and have fun!!
November 21, 2016
even with some cliches commando is a good action movie that has perfectly over the top action scenes
November 15, 2016
deserves 3, most shoot em up films can be stupid but this is a good schwarzenegger entry and one of his best and good story line. In some circumstances it stands out from other typical shoot em up films. the battle scenes or when people get shot may look cheesy but this is not a terrible film, it is memorable.
Page 1 of 303