Sirens - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sirens Reviews

Page 1 of 9
June 11, 2016
Good film, good story, a little pointless at times but generally uplifting
½ October 20, 2015
An old movie but a good one. I would recommend visiting Norman Lindsay house in the Blue Mountains, if you ever get a chance.
April 30, 2015
I kinda just wanted to check out the movie that was basically my pornography when I was 10 years old, last seen on a tiny portable black and white TV with utterly horrendous reception. I can't say exactly that it's held up (though I don't think I even appreciated back then how amazing Elle Macpherson's boobs were), but it does have its modest charms, most prominent of which is Portia's adorable performance. And at least Elle's only a bad actor; Kate Fischer commits the cardinal sin of also seeming uncomfortable with what she's doing.
½ February 21, 2015
An enjoyable, magical mix of comedy Australian wildlife cameos, Hugh Grant in his element playing a character rather out of his own, and with mythology and sensual temptation thrown in. Norman Lindsay's part is rather obviously underdeveloped though.
October 29, 2014
I am going to skip this one.
August 19, 2014
Wow, I'm so surprised that the audience rating is so low...! I saw "Sirens" at the Lumiere Theatres in San Francisco when it first came out back in '94. (Damn, I can't believe it was that long ago!) I'll never forget that particular evening: When I walked out of the cinema onto California Street, it was such a beautiful, starry night, and I swear I felt like I was floating out of that movie house...! "Sirens" left me on such an elated high!! What a beautiful, sophisticated and enriching experience it was. I must've seen this film a dozen times; however, it's been a good decade since I last viewed it. The acting by the entire cast was sheer joy! Naturally, the surprise had to be Elle Macpherson: Who'd've thunk??? I hope to revisit this one very soon.... It'll be interesting to see if 20 years have changed my point of view....
April 28, 2014
Written and directed by John Duigan, (The Leading Man (1996), Lawn Dogs (1997) and The Parole Officer (2001)), this comedy-drama is a film of the puritanical vs. the liberals, but all done in the Australian outback, where morals were looser, but all in the name of art. It has a very good cast to it's name, and it shows that just because a film has nudity in it, it doesn't automatically mean sex. Sometime in Australia in the 1930's, Anglican priest Tony Campion (Hugh Grant) comes from England to Sydney, and reports to the Bishop of Sydney (Vincent Ball) regarding some questionable paintings by controversial Australian artist Norman Lindsay (Sam Neill). Tony and his wife Estella (Tara Fitzgerald) travel to the Blue Mountains in New South Wales to express their concerns to Lindsay. But, when they get to his house, they're taken in by Lindsay and his family, including wife Rose (Pamela Rabe), and 3 models Sheela (Elle Macpherson), Pru (Kate Fischer) and Giddy (Portia de Rossi), all of whom manage to win over their visitors. It's a film about culture clashes, the old guard of the world, slowly crumbling by the liberal ways the 20th Century would entice people with. Duigan takes the real-life Lindsay, and paints a fictional scenario, which may or may not have happened in his life, but judging by this film, it may very well have happened
October 20, 2013
Don't have a clue what the actual message was but worth watching for Ella Fitzgerald's nude scenes.
½ October 20, 2013
Strange, Naughty, Erotic and Nude......... Yet, Appealing and interesting....
October 17, 2013
wow ummmn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch.....its nothing special 2 watch but its an enjoyable movie 2 watch......its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie......i think that hugh grant, tara fitzgerald, sam neill, elle macpherson, kate fischer, pamela rabe, julia stone, john poison, peter campbell, play good roles/parts throughout this movie.......i think that the director of this drama/art house/international/comedy movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect thorughout this movie......i think that this is a beautifully directed movie, is nothing special 2 watch but its an entertaining movie 2 watch.......i think that hugh grant was good throughout this movie......i think that its quite a funny movie 2 watch in some scenes,......its got a good soundtrack throughout this movie......i think that this is a really well acted/directed/written movie 2 watch its really funny in some scenes throughout this movie.....i think that this is an enjoyable movie 2 watch its got a good cast thorughout this movie......its got a good soundtrack throughout this movie.....i think that tara fitzgerald was good throughout this movie......i think that this is a really enjoyable movie 2 watch its got a good cast throughout this movie.....i think that this is a really powerful drama movie 2 watch its got a good cast throughout this movie.....i think that this is a really well acted movie 2 watch its got a good cast throughout this movie i think that this is an enjoyable 1990's movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie its so really well directed its funny in some scenes as well its such an enjoyable movie 2 watch
½ April 11, 2013
Okay, this movie is very watchable, but I will say it's very light on plot.

Let's call the film what it really is: a great way to get five very sexy women fully naked. Yep, I kid you not the film even ends with some crazy five naked full frontal women posing on the top of a mountain. And ladies, the one NON famous dude is pretty much hanging it out the whole time as well.

To call this an erotic flick is not far fetched. There is kind of a story of Tara Fitzgerald being a prude and this little visit to Sam Neill painting all these women naked every other scene opens her up. But that is basically the plot.

I will say it isn't in your face sex or anything, but it's like watching a nude painting for 90 minutes.

I will say that Portia De Rossi is very good here, playing the girl that is kind of afraid of going nude at first and wanting said naked guy. She really also has the only character development going on here.

And while Elle MacPherson isn't awful, she does always have this smirk on her face...

But who am I kidding. She was a huge favorite Supermodel of mine when I was growing up and wow...what a body. :)

The rating actually says rated R for ABUNDANT NUDITY...I have never seen that before and it made me laugh writing this!
½ April 10, 2013
Not really long on plot and not really funny-more just boring soft porn that wastes the talents of Sam Neill and Tara Fitzgerald while showing some beautiful scenes of Australia.
½ January 22, 2013
This is a movie that's just about bad acting and nudity!!!
December 30, 2012
Great movie, truly art house at its best. Sam Neil plays a great pan always the subtle instigator.
December 7, 2012
Could be worth a viewing, would like to see it sometime in the future.
½ August 1, 2012
Absolutely horrible! I am surprised that the critics like this film so much. Maybe it's the nudity? On the surface, it seemed like an interesting premise but within the first few minutes, you can tell that this going to be a cheaply made film trying to be something it isn't. Definitely worth a skip.
July 29, 2012
A film that's probably going to be known forever as The One Where Elle Shows Off Her Boobies than anything else. Not that remarkable otherwise.
July 10, 2012
Lush and sensual, and I like the message. Lighten up and enjoy the body nature gave you.
March 4, 2012
My rating- 8 out of 10
½ March 3, 2012
Almost every woman in the movie naked it was grrrreeeaaaatttt!!!
Page 1 of 9