Deep Blue Sea - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Deep Blue Sea Reviews

Page 1 of 589
Super Reviewer
June 12, 2017
This is one of my favorite bad movies. It's full of action and ridiculous situations to delicious to ignore. Speaking of ridiculousness -- that Samuel L. Jackson death scene has got to be my favorite death on film of all time!
June 7, 2017
This film is so cheesy and bad - but i have a thing about sharks,and the two together makes it good in my eyes!!!!! ha ha ha!!!!
½ June 4, 2017
3 1/2 ud af 5 intelligente hajer. Nostalgisk gensyn med fed monster/action-film, hvor suspensen mest går på, hvem der bliver den næste, som ryger i dødens gab.
May 28, 2017
At Aquatica, a former submarine refueling facility converted into a laboratory, a team of scientists searches for a cure for Alzheimer's disease. Fluids from the brain tissue of three Mako sharks are harvested. Unknown to the other scientists, Drs. Susan McAlester (Saffron Burrows) and Jim Whitlock (Stellan Skarsgård) have violated the code of ethics and have genetically engineered the sharks to increase their brain size; this has the side effect of making the sharks smarter and more dangerous. After one of the sharks escapes and attacks a boat full of teenagers, Aquatica's financial backers send corporate executive Russell Franklin (Samuel L. Jackson) to investigate the facility. To prove that the research is working, the team removes fluid from the brain tissue of the largest shark. While examining it, Jim is attacked by the shark and his arm is bitten off. Brenda Kerns (Aida Turturro), the tower's operator, calls a helicopter to evacuate Jim, but as he is being lifted, the stormy condition cause the cable winch to jam, and Jim falls into the shark pen. The shark grabs the gurney and pulls the chopper into the tower, killing Brenda and the pilots. As the others try to figure out what caused the explosion, one of the sharks uses Jim's gurney, with him still strapped to it, as a battering ram to smash an underwater window, drowning him, flooding the facility and freeing the other sharks. Upon being confronted, Susan confesses to the others that she and Jim genetically altered the sharks. Susan, Russell, wrangler Carter Blake (Thomas Jane), marine biologist Janice Higgins (Jacqueline McKenzie), engineer Tom Scoggins (Michael Rapaport) and the cook Sherman "Preacher" Dudley (LL Cool J) needs to figure out how to break out of Aquatica and make for the open sea...

The film received mixed reviews from critics. Rotten Tomatoes consensus states "Aside from a few thrills, Deep Blue Sea is unoriginal and unintelligent." Empire magazine gave the film three out of five stars, saying "It was never going to crash any parties come Oscar night, or usurp previous nature-fights-back epics (Jurassic et al), but Deep Blue Sea remains defiant. It's about giant sharks eating people. And that's exactly what you get." Roger Ebert went further, saying of the film "In a genre where a lot of movies are retreads of the predictable, 'Deep Blue Sea' keeps you guessing." Writing in People, horror novelist Stephen King described his recovery from a near-fatal accident: "My first trip after being smacked by a van and almost killed was to the movies (Deep Blue Sea, as a matter of fact; I went in my wheelchair and loved every minute of it)."

Renny Harlin´s "Deep Blue Sea" is trying to bring in the frightness of "Jaws" into a more modern setting with a script based on social political research for the cure of Alzheimer's disease while mixing it with a classic Frankenstein sort of set up were the sharks have been genetically engineered and have become smarter than the humans. I reckon the general idea is there for an ok horror film (if you do believe that you can genetically engineer a sharks brain...), but despite some known names in the leads it ends up as a b-movie in general with pretty stupid and flat characters. Even if the script tries to flesh out the characters, it still becomes one-dimensional from most angles. The dialogue and the CGI are the pillars that don´t really work. In the extra material on the DVD Renny Harlin dares anyone to try to pick out the CGI sharks. Maybe that was difficult in 1999, not in 2017... Yes, we do get some sudden moments of shock that works, but this is not a keeper and mostly a mediocre film. I did however enjoy the lovely Saffron Burrows participation.

Trivia: Shot in the same Fox Studios Baha complex where Titanic (1997) was filmed. Having made Cutthroat Island (1995) at sea, Renny Harlin was determined to make this movie under the most controlled circumstances possible.
April 15, 2017
Decent effects and acting make Deep Blue Sea a cult classic, but does nothing more.
March 20, 2017
Notice how all the sharks' deaths are similar to those in the 'Jaws' films.
½ March 1, 2017
A long lost 80's Alien knockoff given a huge budget. The CGI is horribly dated and the plot/writing really isn't anything above a popcorn flick but it's still monstrously entertaining (no pun intended) and gets bonus points for breaking from a few common creature feature cliches.
February 2, 2017
It's good movie to watch
January 4, 2017
So bad it's good, and a fair amount of jump scares to add to the screenplay. LL Cool J, unfortunately, was annoying at times when the film tried to lighten the mood.
December 22, 2016
It will not be the heir to Jigsaw, but has its own charm, especially the new digital technology on sharks.
December 10, 2016
12/9/2016: An ok movie with a good cast. The shark attacks were good, but the story wasn't too deep.
November 27, 2016
Alright. Use to love this film as a kid but when I watch it now it just has to many flaws and it is frustrating. Also very slow kicking off but it is ok when shit kicks off as long as you can switch your brain off
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ July 30, 2016
Ok but nothing we haven't seen before, Any movie about a killer shark only gets compared to Jaws and bone can stand up to it.
July 10, 2016
A thrilling action movie and definitely the best shark film since "Jaws". However, it still falls short and can't compete with Spielberg's 1975 classic.
½ July 6, 2016
I think I may have seen it..
May 25, 2016
While it may not be Jaws, Deep Blue Sea still is a fun little shark thriller thanks to it's realistic animatronic sharks, creepy score, and a few good thrills and surprises.
May 3, 2016
Funny and brutally awesome!!!
½ April 30, 2016
Deep Blue Sea has some good effects, a studded cast, and lots of cool sharks, but otherwise it's dim and confusing. A couple of cool moments, but everything else seems like it's already been done. It's not fun enough to enjoy, or bad enough to hate- just bland.
February 6, 2016
When LL is the standout actor maybe you need to rethink casting.
January 12, 2016
This is an HDTGM classic for a reason!!!
Page 1 of 589