Pearl Harbor - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pearl Harbor Reviews

Page 1 of 1543
December 7, 2016
Amazing true story of courage and survival especially when it comes to war!
½ December 7, 2016
Since its Pearl Harbor day, this film is meh. The action is GREAT!! but the romance is awkward and boring, the dialogue is laughable, and is not a good war film. WE NEED BETTER PEARL HARBOR FILMS like Tora! Tora! Tora!
December 1, 2016
Michael Bay was tasked with directing this shameless attempt to replicate Titanic's successful equation of grafting a lengthy romantic melodrama to a famous historical event. Mr. Bay is adept at using the Pearl Harbor attack as a showcase for his trademark craft of frenetically-edited explosion marathons, but everything else lands with a groan. The dialogue is lame, the acting makes the dialogue sound even worse, none of the characterization connects, the pacing is awful, and the whole movie blends into a mush of tacky, tasteless, and borderline-insulting hackwork. If nothing else, Pearl Harbor proves that Titanic deserves more credit than some critics are willing to give it.
November 20, 2016
70%
With the exception of 'Dark of the moon', this could be the only Michael Bay movie that I really didn't enjoy that well. First of all, Bay' direction and action sequences are good, so is some fine acting from Affleck and Hartnett. The film suffers from a prolonged running time and a poor love story.
Beckinsale looks good here, but doesn't act that well. The love story is good till the first half, but when it gets to the climax, Evelyn tells Rafe that she is pregnant and is gonna give her love to Danny for the rest of her life. Its also understandable, but when Danny dies, Evelyn weeps, gives birth and then marries Rafe. What sort of love is that?, what happened to this giving love till her death? And also friends don't do as Rafe did, do they?, Don't tell me that it was for the child cause this is America where there are more single parent raised children than the normal stuff......
November 11, 2016
This is no titanic but it still has its moments.
½ October 17, 2016
The love story surrounding The Big Event is so sappy and ridiculously corny that by the time you're an hour into this odyssey you're almost begging for the zeroes to start sinking American ships. Apart from the attack scene itself this is pure dreck by a film-maker who has never demonstrated any interest or ability in telling an actual story. It's bad. Real bad. Skip to the explosions - that's all Director Michael Bay knows how to do and it appears to be all he cares about. That and money of course - yours turned into his.
October 2, 2016
The problem with Pearl Harbor isn't inherently the fact that Michael Bay demotes the Pearl Harbor bombing to the background of a love story: in fact, it's nice to see the director try something a bit more personal rather than a big action movie. The problem with Pearl Harbor is the way this love story, and eventual love triangle, is handled. This is a story that is so needlessly rushed: the main relationship is established in the first ten minutes of the film, not stopping to give enough time for any significant character development outside of very basic relationships. In this, the lead trio of Ben Affleck, Josh Hartnett, and Kate Beckinsale are given no chances to give any hints of personality to their characters, resulting in three boring performances.

Funnily enough, the one time Michael Bay makes a movie that focuses primarily on characters and relationships rather than visual effects is the one time that his visual effects are truly the saving grace of the movie. The titular attack sequence is beautifully captured, with visual effects that never feel like computer generated images and mostly smooth camerawork that keeps everything in check. Perhaps it falls close to sensory overload, with the amount of explosions you expect from a Bay setpiece and then some, but it's a visceral moment where Bay proves that he can direct a pretty compelling dramatic scene. It's no Saving Private Ryan or anything, but it's nearly enough to push this one to the brim of being an ok movie. Nearly, but not quite.
½ September 18, 2016
Not sure what people's problem with this movie is. It is sad, exciting and funny when it needs to be. It is one of the better Bay films
½ September 10, 2016
Pearl Harbor(2001)
Starring:Ben Affleck,Josh Hartnett,Kate Beckinsale,Cuba-gooding-Jr,Tom Sizemore,Jon Voight,Colm Feore,Mako,Alec Baldwin,and William Lee Scott
Directed By:Michael Bay
Review
Many years ago a disaster fell apart in this nation a horrible tragedy that left good people and their families scared for life and while may weren't there to witness it this attack on the public left several poor souls confused and afraid and it is a bombing hold deep within our hearts so I ask, Why Does Michael Bay get to keep on making movies,cause Pearl Harbor sucked and it's the most boring action romance movie that you will ever see.
Set during the 1940's Pearl Harbort tells the story of two young pilots, Rafe and Danny who become air-cop pilots for the navy and meet Evelyn who is a nurse for the Navy then eventually Rafe falls head over heels for her and of course the two fall in love however during a mission Rafe is pronounced dead and Danny becomes Evelyn's new interest. However later on during the famous attack Rafe returns from the dead and as such a feud between the two best friends begin set during the attack on pearl harbor by the Japanese empire.
The acting in this is terrible, not to bad from Ben Affleck and Kate Beckinsale they do try with the horrible script that they've been given but by far the worst out of our three main leads is Josh Hartnett who's eyes look like the eyes of Brock from Pokemon which is really distracting and stupid when he's on screen.
The special effects are kind of good still but there beginning to show age since this movie was released in 2001 and was directed by a man who can't make a good movie to save his life.
You know this movie is one of disaster romance movies that have fictional characters that are suppose to have an impact on this but they don't. At least with Titanic you see the fictional characters interact with the real life characters so when the tragedy happens you know who they are and can build emotional connections with them. Which is what this movie needed and what all movies need. This movie could have had that but no it didn't so case in point it sucks. I give Pearl Harbor one and a half stars out of five.
August 19, 2016
BOOM!! Bay comes back with an amazing film which will make you poo yourself with excitment. While watching this urine trickled down my trouser leg, the love story was so ummy nummy I wanted to run into the street and grab a stranger to put in my basement to act out all the lovely love scenes in this masterpeice.
½ July 6, 2016
Not a bad movie as critics say. Actually a very valid piece of art its just extremely long.
June 11, 2016
Amazing film that had me crying at the end. Doesn't deserve the bad reviews it gets.
June 1, 2016
This movie is a freaking tragedy. Unbelievable how Bay got away with such a piece of junk portraying history like its a propaganda piece.
½ May 19, 2016
Pearl Harbor (2001) ? 1/2
D: Michael Bay. Ben Affleck, Josh Hartnett, Kate Beckinsale, Ewen Bremner, Jon Voight, William Lee Scott. Unambitious war movie unsuccessfully captures attack on Pearl Harbor during WWII, undermined by clichéd script, cornball romantics. More stupid than offensive, but that doesn't mean it's any less dull. Overlong, to state the obvious, and probably more distressing than the actually tragedy on Hawaii. Oscar for Best Sound Editing.
½ May 17, 2016
dazzling action way outweighs the silly romance
½ May 16, 2016
The bombing scene was awesome!
May 6, 2016
That chick is a lying, women! WHY DANNY?! WHY?!!!??? I HAVE GIVEN UP ON MICHAEL BAY'S FILMS AND WHOEVER WROTE THE SCRIPT'S TALENT!
½ May 1, 2016
This movie can fuck right off. I think the love triangle story would have been okay by itself. This is a movie trying to do way too much and it ends up not accomplishing a fucking thing in 3 hours. Affleck has to be one of the worst heroes I have ever seen. Also, how did writing letters on his hand fix his issue of dyslexia? Ah who even remembers that shit at this point.

Way too much shit happening. This movie can go fuck right off.
April 23, 2016
I'm not gonna lie.
Even though I really LOVE Michael Bay movies, This movie was pretty much a letdown.
Page 1 of 1543