44 Inch Chest - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

44 Inch Chest Reviews

Page 1 of 35
½ September 19, 2016
Very good dialogue, but a very unfulfilling, anticlimactic ending.
½ February 28, 2015
Not much of a story going on and it's boringly repetitive.
February 28, 2015
44 inch chest, really funny comedy drama. That had me burst out laughing because there are alot of scenes that made me laugh. One is that Ray Winstone saying to the french waiter that I bet she's never farted in front of you and second that had me laughing in tears is that he said 'And you're smiling like fxxx, because you know it's gonna please her'. Now I know what you thinking, it's not like somebody's cutting someone's ear off, just like in Resivour Dogs.
½ January 31, 2015
(48%)
What maybe could have been the British equivalent of "Reservoir dogs" with its almost single location, tough guy crooks, and talky script sadly just doesn't have the depth to warrant a full length feature length film. The performances on the other hand are really very good from the strong cast, but the lack of any real substance hampers throughout resulting in by the end a somewhat pointless watch. Combine that with a script that for long periods amounts to little more than almost constant cockney based foul mouthed swearing that makes this only a half recommendation mainly for the acting and sadly not a lot whole lot else.
January 17, 2015
disappointing, very thin script all been done before not a patch on reservoir dogs......
½ September 14, 2014
Great actors, but bad film. I presume it was given an 18 certificate only for the bad language ? Give it a miss !
July 12, 2014
A powerful catharsis for anyone whose experienced the pain of being cheated on. Winstone gives a performance that is furious, exhausting, exhilarating and heartbreaking all at the same time, but it's not enough to push 'Chest' (as a whole) into a high caliber tale such as 'Sexy Beast'. The story is better suited for the stage.
April 12, 2014
best film ever its the bollocks.
February 27, 2014
It's unique. Hurt's looking like a proper piece of dirt is pure comedy-genious, and the banter of the great cast makes one want to be part of it. Winston's chuckling - whilst suicidal - at others' misfortunes is a real gem!
January 8, 2014
94 minutes of my life wasted!!!!
½ August 7, 2013
Nothing special! Worth a watch just for the cast but more a kin to a stage production
Super Reviewer
½ May 6, 2013
If there's anything good I can say about this film is that it's a good showcase for its immensely talented cast, with the highlight being Ian McShane. The problem is that the story absolutely goes nowhere. I think the script is entertaining enough, there's some funny lines here and there but I don't really feel like I was given much of a reason to keep watching this movie. The story progression simply isn't as strong as it should be considering the fact that the film, really, is all talk. Not that they should've built to a "violent" climax, but parts of the film end up feeling like self-indulgence from the screenwriters. Not to mention, near the end, where the film, for some reason or another, becomes surreal in trying to show Colin's weakening state of mind. It's a good idea in theory, but in execution, the transition to the more surreal shit is very jarring and not particularly effective. Especially since you already know that Colin has been greatly affected by his wife cheating on him, so it felt unnecessary to have the surreal scenes be a part of Colin's personality. Problem with the story is that, as far as tone, it feels exactly the same at the end as it did at the beginning. Ironically, since Meredith makes mention of it in one of his stories, this film shoots its wad way too early. Five minutes after the movie begins, they've already captured the adulterer. Of course the film doesn't build to anything when you rush through at least 30 minutes of storytelling in the first 5 minutes of it. It begins at a certain level tonally, for lack of a better term, and stays there for the entirety of it. It doesn't really build to anything all that satisfying. The film pretty much consists of a bunch of old guys talking in a room about what to do with the adulterer. And while the performances are more than solid, and some of the stories are very entertaining, I just don't think the main story the movie is trying to tell is really that interesting. Still, at least the acting is so strong because I don't know how I would've reacted to the film if the acting had suck. Great acting and some good comedy, the rest of the film leaves a lot to be desired though.
½ April 30, 2013
79%

Much to act about nothing.
½ April 14, 2013
Powerful stuff. The brilliant cast get to show off all their acting skills to the max. Perhaps not the best of films to watch directly after experiencing the effects of infidelity though.
April 5, 2013
it's mostly old gangsters, including stannis baratheon and swearengen, holed up in a room calling each other cunts. it's also a pretty commendable send-up of machismo and gangster genre tropes. winstone's pretty fucking amazing as usual. good companion piece to sexy beast.
March 4, 2013
Absolute Masterpiece!!!
½ February 1, 2013
Shitty movie. The stars are for the acting. Should have been a short one act play.
½ January 7, 2013
i didnt really care for it
December 8, 2012
Exceptional film. great cast, brilliant dialogs. Must see.
½ September 6, 2012
Written by Louis Mellis and David Scinto (Sexy Beast (2000)), this is a script they'd had stockpiled with it's star in mind for years, but it took forever to get it funded. Despite it having a very theatrical look and feel, it is after all at the end of the day, just another British gangster film, and it doesn't really add anything new to the well worn and now tired genre, it tries to be clever, but it ends up being another Revolver (2005), if only partially better. Colin Diamond (Ray Winstone) discovers that his wife Liz (Joanne Whalley) is having an affair, and she feels the spark has gone out of their marriage, Colin gets his friends homosexual gambler Meredith (Ian McShane), racist Old Man Peanut (John Hurt), down to earth Archie (Tom Wilkinson) and destructive Mal (Stephen Dillane) to find Liz's new lover and kidnap him. They find 'Loverboy' (Melvil Poupaud), and lock him up in a cupboard in a derelict house, while they wait for Colin to come round and sort him out, but it's not as simple as it seems, and Colin seems to be losing his mind as he tries to sort 'Loverboy' out. It's a well made film, but that's not enough, it's like a chamber piece for most of the film, used to show off the talents of the actors on display, but it doesn't really go anywhere, despite good intentions. It's a lot less clever than it thinks it really is, and it ends up being more dull than provocative.
Page 1 of 35