Airport - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Airport Reviews

Page 1 of 16
½ January 5, 2016
Credit for spawning/popularizing the genre, few weaknesses but it's entertaining.
August 25, 2015
The film that birthed the 'disaster film' genre which permeated the 1970s.
A star-studded; bland and rambling mess, fraught with stock cliche characters, dialogue, and plot devices.
May 9, 2015
Starring Burt Lancaster, Dean Martin, Jean Seberg, Jacqueline Bissett, Helen Hayes and Van Heflin. Overblown but immensely entertaining story of the intertwined lives of the employees at a major urban airport as they each deal with emotional baggage -- the 'carry-ons' of their personal lives. Lancaster heads the all-star cast as an overworked airport manager dealing with the end of his marriage and a bad blizzard on the same evening. Martin is flying a plane on which a passenger is crazed bomber Van Heflin in his last film. Helen Hayes deservedly won an Oscar as a mischievous seventy-year-old stowaway. Based on Arthur Hailey's best-selling 1968 novel and directed by George Seaton.
½ April 20, 2015
The original disaster movie that you probably haven't seen! Yup, this is the one that started it all, before Earthquake, Airport '77, The Poseidon Adventure, and all those other 70's disaster films. Pretty engaging yet overly dramatic, interesting all-star cast keeps you interested & watching.
April 12, 2015
one of the best of the flock of disaster pics from the likes of Irwin allen.
March 5, 2015
Directionless, a cast and score that belong in 1940 more than 1970, structure's bad, probably the best thing about this movie is the dialogue, and that's just occasionally charming.
½ January 18, 2015
Una de las peores películas de desastres.
December 14, 2014
** (out of four)

One of my least favorite films to ever be nominated for the Best Picture Academy Awards. Based on the best selling book, "Airport" is one of the first of the disaster movies that started in the 1970's.

An all-star cast, including Burt Lancaster, Dean Martin, George Kennedy, and Oscar winning perforamnace for Helen Hayes, live through a disaster centering around a midwest airport.
December 6, 2014
Every five years or so, I seem to find myself rewatching the old star-filled disaster films of the 1970s and 1980s. Towering Inferno and Poseidon Adventure are always my two faves.

Burt Lancaster, Dean Martin, Jacqueline Bisset, Jean Seberg, George Kennedy and Gary Collins all star in the first Airport film, based on the novel by Arthur Haley (Roots).

It's about a aircraft held hostage by an unstable bomber. The movie is extremely dated but it did pave the way for 2 superior sequels and one not so much. 3 out of 5 So Says the Soothsayer.
½ September 20, 2014
Well folks, if you want to blame the disaster film genre on at least one film, then you kind of have to start with Airport. Not only did it jump start the genre, it also was the basis for what is considered to be one of the greatest comedies ever made: Airplane. Airport succeeds as its own entertainment with a fine cast, which includes Burt Lancaster, Dean Martin, Jacqueline Bisset, George Kennedy, Helen Hayes, and Maureen Stapleton. The movie is probably one of the best in the genre, and is actually kind of effective, but that effectiveness comes at a great cost because the film is entirely too long. Most of the film is spent with the characters before the flight actually takes place, and it goes on for a very long time, setting up too many things that never all entirely pay off or matter that much, really. I don't mind characters or the time it takes to set them up, but we're here to watch a disaster movie and it takes a long time before the disaster happens. That aside, it's still an entertaining movie, despite being very dated and overly long.
September 16, 2014
"Airport" es una cinta decente acerca de un inminente desastre aéreo, apoyada con un reparto decente de actores, entre los que se destacan Dean Martin, Burt Lancaster y Helen Hayes. Tuvo varias secuelas de calidad irregular.
½ February 8, 2014
Old fashion, alluring trashy flick and any film with Dean Martin as the pilot has got some guts.
Super Reviewer
½ February 5, 2014
A little hokey to be sure but eminently watchable, Helen Hayes IS endearing but her oscar was surely a sentimental one and really should have gone to Maureen Stapleton who gives a real and very touching portrayal of a woman in an impossible situation. The rest of the cast is fun, Burt Lancaster and Dana Wynter inject a touch of reality as they come to grips with the end of their marriage in a wonderfully played scene. Jacqueline Bissett is young and beautiful, the chicest stewardess to ever fly the friendly skies.
½ February 2, 2014
The film that kicked off the disaster genre of the 70's and is one of the better ones out of the bunch. With a good cast (Helen Hayes is brilliant), good score and is wholly grounded in reality with no excessive action scenes and all the procedural efforts laid out to bare.
½ February 1, 2014
Tepid thriller. Unlike the slam bang movies of today, this one takes time to build. You actually care about the characters. You even understand the bomber's desperation. Highly recommend it if you can watch a story and characters build. Great music score.
I own this DVD.
January 5, 2014
Airport is an excellent film. It is about a bomber on board an airplane, an airport almost closed by snow, and various personal problems of the people involved. Burt Lancaster and Dean Martin give remarkable performances. The screenplay is well written. George Seaton and Henry Hathaway did great jobs directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the drama. Airport is a must see.
½ December 23, 2013
Rather slow and stately for a "thriller". Incorporates some New Hollywood technique with Golden Age plotlines and ideology. Die Hard 2 owes its existence to this film, as do countless other star-laden disaster films.
November 25, 2013
The start of a genre or at least many sequels. I enjoyed it but I also like snow
November 4, 2013
The film that inspired the comedy spoof film Flying High & the countless plane disaster movies through out the 1970's

This one isn't a bad story but it takes a while to warm but once it's up in the air the film gets much better.

This boasts an all star cast & no film in the seventies is complete with George Kennedy he is a riot in this film so entertaining to watch.

Filled with some tense scenes & classic practical special effects it's a fun watch but a little dated.
½ October 27, 2013
Airport isn't such a disaster film, but rather a drama.
It attempts to create characters that you care about and drama for them that would matter to you, but it ends up causing Airport to run through 80 minutes of silly plot dynamics that are not important.
When the explosion happened, the drama surrounding that lasted about 5 minutes and nothing else in relation to that happened, so the disaster theme in Airport is minimal.
Airport isn't even as cheesy as it could have been, and the lack of exterior shots of the airplane isn't such a problem, but if they had some it would have been cool.
Airport isn't a film i officially hate, but its misleading to suggest that this is a disaster film because it's much more of an ensemble drama. The problem is though, it doesn't work neither as an ensemble drama nor a disaster film.
It's overly long, slow paced and boring. Even the explosion was mute and left nothing to the imagination. Maybe it was much more shocking 42 years ago. But right now it's unnecessarily long. It isn't specifically dislikeable, but it isn't very enjoyable.

I guess if there's any praise i could give, it would be to Helen Hayes as a convincing manipulative little old woman, and the hilarious George Kennedy in his great role as Joe Patroni. I really liked his character because of his hilarious dialogue and his take-charge attitude. Airport also had fairly good production values and was possible to sit through without getting massively bored, although I did get bored it wasn't to the extent that wanted to turn it off. Airport must have had a good influence on the disaster genre, though I fail to see why, but I'm glad it did. I wouldn't mind checking out the sequels sometime.
Page 1 of 16